Here's your
previous post with some background info
You need to add the fact that you're using Lantus (glargine) to your signature
@JohnnysMom ...it will save a lot of the same question being asked over and over again! Instead of saying "started on insulin", I'd just change it to "started Lantus"
Looks like 2 units may be too much for Johnny so I'm glad to see you reduced this morning. We usually ask new members to stall, DON'T feed and post for help the first few times they get a Pre-shot under 200 (that number will eventually come down until you're shooting lower and lower numbers, but only after you have more data on how Johnny responds)
Bouncing is frustrating, but it's also how their body reacts to having their blood glucose go too low, drop a lot quickly, or even just drop from a higher number that it's gotten used to living at (like if he'd been diabetic for awhile before diagnosis, his body may have gotten used to living in the 400's..so even a drop to 250 might trigger the liver to release stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up)
As they spend more time in "normal" numbers, the body will re-learn that it's OK to be there and the bounces should calm down some.
I think it's possible that Johnny went low overnight and this morning he was on his way up at AMPS and then came "the bounce"
If he were my cat, I'd probably just hold that 1 unit dose for at least 3 days and let's see how he does....if he needs more after his depot settles, we'd increase in .25 unit increments until we find his "best dose"