Bouncing numbers...Is it normal to have a blue AMPS BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
Good evening all!!
I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend so far! I just wanted some advice on my Loudogg's BG from this morning. It's been a rough week for our buddy Lou, as we've been getting ready for our wedding yesterday, so obviously he's picked up on the added stress in the house.

Anywhoo... On Friday night (6.30.17), he had the lowest PMPS I've ever recorded for him thus far: 205. We really weren't sure what to shoot since we were staying in a hotel that night and were unable to monitor (We haven't gotten a lot of +4 to +6 numbers in since we've changed the dose because of the stress of wedding week.), so we gave him a reduced dose and hoped for the best (he had YAZ out for grazing if he needed). Yesterday he had overly high numbers that were pretty obvious he was bouncing; likely from a low number the night before.

This morning; however, he had an AMPS BG of 148, which is shocking because I was expecting a high number from the bounce. Is this normal? In my (very limited) experience, when bouncing, the am and pm preshot numbers are generally higher than normal, not lower. When I checked him just now for his PMPS, he was at a normal preshot range for him, despite not having his insulin this morning. We've continued him on his normal dose tonight, and obviously it will take a bit for him to stabilize again, but I wanted y'all's opinion.

Thanks in advance!
Amanda
 
It's possible he clears bounces quickly, maybe 3 cycles. Just guessing without the mid cycle tests. Not judging for it! I see your reasoning and know you guys were anxious about the wedding :bighug:. Any chance of squeezing some before bed tests in this week? They're usually easier than day time tests :)

Was the wedding yesterday? I think it reads that way, lol. If so, Congrats!:woot:
 
I am certainly hoping that's the case, but we are so hopeful for remission that this low BG threw us (I know better than to get my hopes up, but it's hard not to). I've been beyond bummed at myself for not getting mid-cycle tests in this week, but it certainly wasn't for a lack of trying. Obviously the upcoming week will get us back on track, and we are also planning on doing a curve sometime this week as well. It was going to be Monday, but I'm guessing it will be Wednesday to give him so more time to "get back to normal."

Our wedding was yesterday!! I'm still wrapping my head around the fact that I am now a married woman, haha! Thank you!
 
Sounds good for a curve soon :). Maybe just try to get a test between +5 and +7 tomorrow? I am a little bias on getting before bed test. I don't think I could go to sleep without testing my boy :cat:. I think Lou is doing great in such a short time :smuggrin:
 
I am certainly hoping that's the case, but we are so hopeful for remission that this low BG threw us (I know better than to get my hopes up, but it's hard not to). I've been beyond bummed at myself for not getting mid-cycle tests in this week, but it certainly wasn't for a lack of trying. Obviously the upcoming week will get us back on track, and we are also planning on doing a curve sometime this week as well. It was going to be Monday, but I'm guessing it will be Wednesday to give him so more time to "get back to normal."

Our wedding was yesterday!! I'm still wrapping my head around the fact that I am now a married woman, haha! Thank you!
Congratulations!!!!!!
 
So this morning Lou's AMPS was in the green: 95!!! I gave him his usual dose last night (or at least attempted. Some may have gone into the fur), but we're in the green this morning. He seemed hungry this morning, but not insistently/urgently so like when he was hypo, and he's all cuddly. I'm not sure what all this means, as this is now the second morning in a row where he did not get his insulin shot. What should I be doing here? How do I know if this is some strange bouncing or something. :/
 
  • So this morning Lou's AMPS was in the green: 95!!! I gave him his usual dose last night (or at least attempted. Some may have gone into the fur), but we're in the green this morning. He seemed hungry this morning, but not insistently/urgently so like when he was hypo, and he's all cuddly. I'm not sure what all this means, as this is now the second morning in a row where he did not get his insulin shot. What should I be doing here? How do I know if this is some strange bouncing or something. :/
    No shoot today obviously and I would reduce the dose to 1 when over 250 and maybe 0.5 when 200-250. Looking good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top