Bouncing has stopped but now too high....

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi dear friends,

After our trauma of last night Simmie seems to have gotten stuck in high numbers. You have his spreadsheet but the quick view is;

amps 325
+2 324
+5 297
+9 330

I feel lousy. So does Simmie - I know when he feels lousy. I think he picks up on my frustration because we are so close and he spends all his time with me, right by my side, with his ice. :lol: I feel like I am losing this battle. I know a lot has to do with the fact that we have had so many back to back mini-vacations recently so I can't seem to get him regulated. Because I have one last 4 day vacation starting next week everything seems to me like it will only get worse.

Here's a thought...I have to go on this vacation next week. But hubby is going to be home to take care of our doggie and Murphy and Princess Kitty Kat. He truly doesn't want for Simmie to go to the vet but he really doesn't like giving him insulin and he won't do the testing. Also, god forbid Simmie had a hypo event, I don't think he would be able to deal with it because it would require so much testing to get things controlled. Yet, I was thinking, since our vet really doesn't test regularly and they are not there 24/7, how different is it to have Simmie stay at home? I guess it would alleviate the guilt if something had gone wrong.

I want Simmie to get some stability with his sugar and I want my hubby to not worry. Simmie and my DH are two of the most wonderful boys in the world cat_pet_icon
and I love them dearly. Am I doing something wrong? Feel free to look at our ss...I see some consistencies but with our going away so often over the past 3.5 months seems to have really screwed up Simmie's health.

Love you guys,
Lyd :cry:
 
Hi Lydette - I think Simmie is still bouncing. Numbers can wobble up and down for a while when they are bouncing and that seems to be what is happening today. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to go away. I use bounces as an opportunity to get away and do something fun for me.

Since you did shoot through the bounce today, for safety's sake tonight you should go to his new dose, 2.75U, which he earned last night.

BTW, I don't think are doing anything wrong, other than not getting as many night time tests as the TR protocol requires. See Julie's post on your yesterday's condo. Cats are notoriously unpredictable and no two react the same here. It really is ECID, each cat is different. Bouncing is extremely common for relatively newly diagnoses, and even some not so newly diagnosed - such as a cat named Neko. :roll: Not much we can do about it but try to find a dose where they can safely spend as much time between 50 and 120 as possible.

If your DH will inject insulin, you could lower the dose and leave Simmie at home. Some people here have kitties that won't let anyone else test, and that's what their petsitters do. And DH has a week to practice injections. ;-)
 
Hi Wendy, all,

Thanks for all the kind words and great advice. I can't tell people enough as to what an amazing 'place' this is...I still find it to be one of the most comforting places to be for those with sugar babies I know that sounds like hyperbole but it really isn't. Beyond even the sugar baby issue. I have genuinely fallen in love with some of the people on this board. I get a little weepy when I talk about this site. It has helped me deal with our Simmie with the greatest degree of love and kindness while expecting nothing in return. I honestly believe that every veterinary practice should have information about this site along with contact info so when it becomes necessary frightened parents of sugar babes will immediately know what to do. What everyone does here is absolutely brilliant.

Simmie unfortunately was diagnosed over a year ago, probably around 2 years ago so he isn't a young-un to the diabetes game. I just didn't find this site until I was desperately searching for an answer to his increasing neuropathy problem. It was as if god sent me an angel. I finally felt that I had people standing by my side really wanting to help. Help in its sincerest form. With all of this said, he is fighting the good fight.

I think I have mentioned that I have some spinal illnesses and it really makes me angry. I try not to whine about it but to be frank, I am not always able to stay awake all night long. It's a weird situation...some days I can't sleep at all but then other days all I want to do is sleep. It depends on how bad the day has been and how well my meds are working - but everyone has their own issues to deal with, don't they? It's bizarre but sometimes I simply can't fight the sleepiness like last night. I had my tea and juice but by 3:00 pm I just passed out. I can tell you, I felt so guilty and worried that my baby Simmie could die during the night so I tried to keep awake, Actually, as I am chatting with you guys now I know I should be checking on him and testing. Since I slept very little last night I am completely burned out tonight so I have to go find my little baby boy and get things going!

Thank you, very much Wendy, for the recommendation on having my DH taking care of our beloved Simmie. It's funny. This was my DH's cat, in a sense. I had gone through a period of losing a number of my kids from a big group of 7 indoor kitties that I had when I just met my Hubby. I had gone on a biz trip and when I came home there was Simmie, in DH arms and I said "well no matter how cute he is, he is YOUR's and you will care for him!" (of course we both have but it has been a long running joke that me, for once, put my foot down concerning a cat! Sure!

I am very tired. I need to check on Simmie. I do apologize for this very long email with too much information but I can always blame my medications! Ha! Thank you for listening. I love you guys.

Good night from Simmie and Me!
 
Hi Lydette, thanks for you explanation. I hadn't realized Simmie was a longer term diabetic (longer than one year). The protocol has a slightly different method for earning reductions in that case:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Some people chose to wait for kitty to wait for 3 times under 50 as an alternative to once under 40 before doing the reduction. So, Simmie will still stick to his dose of 3.0U for tonight.

Even a before bed test at night is helpful - as early as a +2 or +3 will give a hint how the cycle will go.

Cute story of DH and Simmie. He sounds like a love (well, both of them do).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top