If she gets a green PMPS tonight, you should do a curve. If she starts bouncing you can end the curve early or get a mini curve.What dose should I give her tonight? AMPS=199 and PMPS=56
I gave her 1.5u this morning. It's now time for her PM shot and I don't know how much to give. She's been eating fine.
I'll do a curve tomorrow.If she gets a green PMPS tonight, you should do a curve. If she starts bouncing you can end the curve early or get a mini curve.
Get a test as soon as you get home today so you can see if she's lower than her PS or if she's surfing in those greens.
Green looks good on Chloe but extra tests are needed to make sure she's not getting too low.
That could be just enough time to start a bounce.I'll do a curve tomorrow.

No....she never contacted me but I have it available and can meet her somewhere.Sorry nobody was around at your shot time last night. You are MST zone, correct? What is your shot time?
Just wanted to put a couple things in your condo that you can absorb and reference later so rather someone is around or not, you have some info to guide your decisions.
Whenever faced with preshots like the ones you've been seeing recently (greens), it would generally not be advised to shoot if you are not able to monitor and keep her safe. You have to be data ready to shoot those numbers. If a caregiver is not able to monitor properly to keep their cat safe, it is often suggested to run that cat in higher numbers, but... On the other hand, Chloe is ketone prone and has a very recent DKA episode in her history, so it's also not advised to skip shots and keep numbers from being too high.Both DKA and symptomatic hypoglycemia can be extremely dangerous and fast acting. This is a rock and a hard place situation which requires extra vigilance on your part.
Shooting a reduced dose with Lantus doesn't work the same as what you're probably used to with Prozinc. Because of the depot (the insulin reserve tank that is always there), when you see a low number and shoot a reduced dose thinking less insulin will be used that cycle, it doesn't always work that way. I've shot reduced doses on lower preshot numbers and still Asia has gone under 50, the cycle looked the exact same as if I had given the full dose. That's the depot. Chloe has been filling up the depot for several cycles with the 1.5 dose, so even when you ask for a fat 1 unit, the depot can say "here is the insulin you ordered, 1.5 units".
It can take several cycles for the depot to adjust to different amounts, an increase could take several cycles to show what it is fully capable of, just as a decrease can take several cycles to show up as a smaller amount. What we do right now isn't always going to show an immediate result. This is also the reason it isn't advised here to change the dose frequently or shoot on a sliding scale with depot insulins like Lantus.
Weekly curves can give us a general idea of how a cat typically reacts on an active cycle, but it's not without exception either, because not all cycles are typical (such as a bounce breaking cycle can gain fast momentum and you can go from black to green in one cycle). The curves you have on Lantus so far have been on bounces, so we don't know if Chloe likes to surf or dive or what. We know she likes to bounce, though!I understand you can't do curves during the week, but as has been suggested before, any extra tests you can get outside of the preshots can fill in some of the blanks and help you help Chloe. This is important for every cat, but doubly so for Chloe because of her DKA history.
Do you have a hypo kit put together? I put mine in a recycled bright orange shoe box, clearly labeled. I keep it near my notebook and wrote important info in the lid of the box so that kids, husband, petsitter, whomever would have tools to keep Asia safe if I am not around. I keep a spare meter in there (in case of broken meter/battery dead), a lancing device, lancets, extra test strips, control solution, nitrile gloves, foods of different variety and carb value, and maple syrup (and I have Karo close at hand). It may seem like overkill, but it's for others who aren't me as well as for myself if I am ever faced with something horrible like an unconscious cat, that everything is in one place and in my panic I won't have to go gathering supplies around the house. I've attached photos below as well as the link to how to make your own.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/
Were you able to get the ketone meter from Marje?
View attachment 35182 View attachment 35183
I gave her my phone number... not sure where my phone is...Were you able to get the ketone meter from Marje?



The reason Chloe is so high this morning is because I gave her a different food last night which contained liver.
Hmmmm. There has to be more than that. Was the food HC? I feed Gracie food with liver in it, and it doesn’t spike her BG.
Did you check the carb amount? The food we feed is crucial to successfully managing FD.
No. She's usually very patient, knowing she's about to get her meal. I just don't like poking her so much. Her ear looks butchered. I got a ketone test yesterday.Do you find it hard to test her BG? Does she give you a hard time?
Why should I test more if I can't adjust the dose anyway? Damned if I do, damned if I don't. Plus, she grazes during the day, so I don't know how accurate the tests are. All I can say is, she seems much better since she started the Lantus. Sorry if I'm not the scientific type. I'm an artist and go by instinct.I worry for Chloe. I hope testing for ketones happens daily.
Do you find it hard to test her BG? Does she give you a hard time?
I’m a former ProZinc-er and Lantus/Levemir are completely different when it comes to dosing. Took me a little while to re-learn everything. All I can offer is to read the stickies over and over which is what I did along with reading about other kitties journeys. Everyone has given you sound advise. I hope you are able to test more and keep Chloe safe. She loves and needs you. Our furry friends at least in my house mean more to me than most of my crazy family members
They depend on us and in return they give us unconditional love![]()
Have you read TR or SLGS? Both allow dose adjustments based on BG test numbers.Why should I test more if I can't adjust the dose anyway?
Accurate enough to tell you how she's responding to a dose within her normal daily routine.Plus, she grazes during the day, so I don't know how accurate the tests are.
Why should I test more if I can't adjust the dose anyway? Damned if I do, damned if I don't. Plus, she grazes during the day, so I don't know how accurate the tests are. All I can say is, she seems much better since she started the Lantus. Sorry if I'm not the scientific type. I'm an artist and go by instinct.
It was 5 carbs according to the Pierson chart. I also gave her maybe 2 oz cooked chicken livers. The chart said that you should give liver once a week. My civvies liked it, too, and, after adding some spices, I'm going to have some for dinner.
What food with liver do you feed Gracie?
Let me adapt Patricia's comments above so they are specific to Lantus. Prozinc acts a bit differently since it is not a depot type of insulin. However, the overall principle Patricia outlines is correct.
Insulin allows glucose, which is what all food ultimately breaks down to, to get into the cells. Glucose is what provides fuel to our bodies and brain. If glucose is floating around in the blood stream, it's not doing the cells any good. In fact, this is why our kitties lose weight despite being ravenously hungry when they are not regulated -- nutrition (i.e., glucose) isn't getting into the cells.
With Lantus, when you give a shot, it takes approximately 2 hours for the insulin to work. The point at which the insulin begins to work is called "onset." If you feed at the same time you shoot, numbers are likely to rise and as insulin onset begins, the numbers are roughly the same as your pre-shot test value. This is what tells you when your cat's onset begins. With Lantus, the lowest point in the cycle (i.e., nadir) is in the neighborhood 6 hours after the shot. Both onset and nadir can and do change. The number of hours I've noted is a generalization -- some cats have early or late onset and nadir. My cat's onset was at around +1 or +2 and her nadir was usually not much later than +4.
Why is this important? One of the big differences between Prozinc and Lantus is what you base your dosing on. With Prozinc, the dose is based on the pre-shot numbers. You can adjust your dose at each cycle. With Lantus, the dose is based on the nadir value. You do not tinker with the dose unless a reduction is indicated and the point at which you reduce is based on whether you are using Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow as your dosing strategy.
Grazing during the day isn't a problem. Given that Lantus is having its greatest impact on BG until nadir, having food available isn't a bad thing in the least. However, you want to make sure that food is removed 2 hours prior to shot time. Otherwise, your pre-shot values may be influenced by food and you won't know if it's safe to shoot.
Let me provide a real life example of why testing/spot checks are important. Gabby was quite capable of starting out with numbers in the 400s, dropping into the 40s, and bouncing back into the 400s by her next shot time. If I hadn't been checking her numbers, I would have never known that she dropped into dose reduction territory. So, instead of reducing her dose due a nadir in the 40s, based on those high numbers at either end of the cycle, I would have increased her dose. Those spot checks give you a ton of information about what is happening throughout the cycle. Without that information, especially since Lantus dosing is based on nadir, you have no idea how to make a decision on your cat's dose.