Bouncing all over the place! feedback please?

Tamala Poljak

Member Since 2019
hello everyone and thanks for your help, Hopefully my "signature" is complete with spreadsheet and details now? Please let me know if I need to include more info here.
I am looking for feedback on the Lantus dosing. Carter keeps going low and then high... any insight is greatly appreciated as I am still learning! Thank you!
 
Hey there and Welcome to L, B , L. It's hard to know what is happening as there is no test during the day for the last 5 days. I am guessing that you are out of the house working during the days. If you could get a +2 test in it could tell you how the cycle could play out. If the +2 is the same as the pre shot or lower then it could be an active cycle and then you would know that you would need to put down some higher carb food before you leave the house to keep Carter safe.

Also, there were 4 AM cycles in a row with no shot due to lower numbers ( eventually, you will be lowering the number you will shoot as you gather more data. Right now it looks like he's in higher numbers due to not enough insulin from all the skipped shots. Would you be able to do a curve today or tomorrow to gather his BG's every 3 hours for 12 hours? That information will help to know what the 1 unit dose is doing for him.

How about the evenings, is it possible to get some test at night ? Again the +2 to help you anticipate and then there could be more needed if Carter starts to drop.

Where do you live? You don't have to give us your address, but could you put in your signature what time zone you are in?

The idea is to get him a dose that you can safely shoot every 12 hours and doing a curve will help give that information.

Again welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! :)

ETA: I wanted to add that I saw on your comments that you gave gravy to Carter on one of the evenings that you skipped the shot due to a lower number. When you don't give insulin, you don't need to give the HC food. Just their regular LC food should bring them up.
 
Last edited:
thank you so much. Yes I will do a test every three hours tmrw and post it.

Hey there and Welcome to L, B , L. It's hard to know what is happening as there is no test during the day for the last 5 days. I am guessing that you are out of the house working during the days. If you could get a +2 test in it could tell you how the cycle could play out. If the +2 is the same as the pre shot or lower then it could be an active cycle and then you would know that you would need to put down some higher carb food before you leave the house to keep Carter safe.

Also, there were 4 AM cycles in a row with no shot due to lower numbers ( eventually, you will be lowering the number you will shoot as you gather more data. Right now it looks like he's in higher numbers due to not enough insulin from all the skipped shots. Would you be able to do a curve today or tomorrow to gather his BG's every 3 hours for 12 hours? That information will help to know what the 1 unit dose is doing for him.

How about the evenings, is it possible to get some test at night ? Again the +2 to help you anticipate and then there could be more needed if Carter starts to drop.

Where do you live? You don't have to give us your address, but could you put in your signature what time zone you are in?

The idea is to get him a dose that you can safely shoot every 12 hours and doing a curve will help give that information.

Again welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! :)

ETA: I wanted to add that I saw on your comments that you gave gravy to Carter on one of the evenings that you skipped the shot due to a lower number. When you don't give insulin, you don't need to give the HC food. Just their regular LC food should bring them up.
 
Hey there, As you can see on the spreadsheet I did test as much as I could through out the day a couple days ago... she's bouncing all over the place and I feel pretty worried about giving her insulin, especially on the days where I have to work and can't be with her. Any thoughts?
 
Is there any particular reason you can't get any tests in at night? You are missing half your possible data, even more since that darned work is interfering during the day. We determine how to change doses based on how low a dose takes the cat. Many cats go lower at night. If you could get a test just before going to bed each night, it would really help fill in the picture.

Part of the reason your kitty is bouncing all over the place is that she seems to be getting only one shot per day most of the time. She is going high after missing a dose. The Lantus depot needs time to build, at least six consecutive cycles at the same dose.
 
Back
Top