Bounce Back and cycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Bounce Back, what is it? I was reading in how to adjust insulin when curves are preformed. Also, it says to stay with a dose for 3 cycles. What is a cycle? Is a 3 days? Or three injections which would be 1 1/2 days.
 
Oh, it's bouncing not bounce back. And it is: If the cat is in the 250+ range at preshot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility (bouncing occurs when the cat’s body perceives a drop that is below what has been occurring and releases extra glucose, resulting in an “artificial” rise in numbers) Bouncing most often involves a lower midcycle number than the cat has experienced previously. If bouncing is suspected, any increases in doses should be tiny and monitored carefully.

This info was in the Protocol ProZinc /PZI

I have been reading so much information that I am getting overload.
 
For ProZinc, you hold the dose for 3 cycles or 1.5 days. For Lantus or Levemir, you hold the dose 5-7 days for the first dose, then 3-5 days for new doses after that, barring indicators for a decrease [going below 50 mg/dL on a human meter or 68 mg/dL ona pet meter, or being consistently too low to shoot safely based on your test data and having to skip frequently).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top