BOUNCE!! 4/24 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 66 +2 75 +6 109 +11 563!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
HI,

I wasn't able to get on the board at all this morning. I didn't know what to do. I gave Rocky his (f)1.75.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117714

I'm not sure if he went lower than 39 or for how long he was at this BG. I just got home, ran to the bathroom to check his BG. I then fed him (1)TSP of the MC w/ 1/4 tsp of Karo syrup. I don't think I have any HC.

His BG is back up to 72 at AMPS +9.50 not sure if it is going to hold.. will retest in 15 minutes.

He IS acting strange but no shivering or shaking. He is just very quiet and was a bit sleepy-like. I had to stick the food right under his nose to get him to it eat.

His shot is in 3 hours.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

what do you mean by "he is acting strange?"

hopefully he's past the crisis, but if he did have a symptomatic hypo, he may be extra sensitive to insulin. hopefully the board will be up when you go to give his next shot, but if not, err on the side of conservative. make sure you reduce after that 30's.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

I'm glad you left food out for him today, that probably helped. I imagine it was all gone when you got home? If he's in the 70's, you can test in 1/2 hour.

With a BG in the 30's, a .25U reduction is strongly recommended.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

Ok I'll drop his dose to tonight. Since he was on a (f)1.75u do you think I can safetly decrease his dose to (f)1.50u?

What I mean by acting strange is that he usually greets me when I come into the room. He didn't. He was in sitting in the bunn position with his legs curled underneath him. He didn't even say 'hi' to me like he always does. After I tested him I quickly ran to get the food. He is always very excited to get more food and gets up to go to the place mat where I set it. He just looked at me. I then moved the food in front of him and he showed no interest at all in it. I then moved his blankets and put the food directly under his nose. He did eat it all.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

ok, well at least that doesn't sound like the really bad hypo symptoms from the Shooting/Handling Low Numbers sticky. The other one not mentioned here is the temporary blindness that a cat experienced here not long ago.

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

He might very well have felt funny and different from his BGs being so low.

Yes, probably reducing the full 0.25u is ok.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

Let's see what he is at preshot. If he's pretty low, you might want to think about a one time BCS dose lower than (f)1.5U. And see how he's acting. If he did have a symptomatic hypo, lower is better for safety.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72

Wendy has a good point - i'd err on the side of caution. you can get back on track another time, this isn't the time to be aggressive to try to hold him in greens.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59

I want to stick to the 1.50u, if we can.. :roll: but his BG came up and then went down. He just won't get up to walk to the food and that is kind of weird for him. I had to put it right in front of his nose again. He typically flies (jumps) out of his bed about a foot.

However... it was complete MAYHEM rounding up the 5 cats to be spayed/neutered today. I think every cat in the house was afraid because I was rushing around so fast. Had a very hard time getting one little stinker into the carrier. Now that we're all back home everyone is groggy and upset to be put in cages, so of course, they are climbing the cages and make all sorts of noise. The room is right next to Rocky. He may be afraid of me too. :?
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59

Wow - Rocky definitely earned that reduction today. :shock: What a scary number to come home to. I'm really glad he's okay.

I'm not a dose advisor, as you know, so take my experience FWIW. I did do a BCS with Jersey once. (Of course, she didn't go as low as Rocky did today, so increased insulin sensitivity after a hypo wasn't a determining factor for us when we did the BCS.) We didn't have any trouble getting back on track the next cycle.

I hope Rocky surfs safely tonight regardless of what dose you decide to give!
Shelly
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59

I would see where he is and even think about a skip if he doesn't come back up quite a bit.

If he does come up, I would think about shooting less than 1.5u....maybe even just 1u since we don't know how low he went.
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59 +10.5 70

We've got one hour and a half until shot time. A lot can happen between now and then. He is finally talking to me again and looking more awake. :lol: Maybe I just woke him from a very deep and restful sleep when I got home. He had not been poked for HOURS.. :-D

If I shoot just 1.0u, can we jump the dose right back up to 1.50u in the next cycle, or do we need to climb our way back there? :roll:
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +1.80 66 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59

Tina & Rocky said:
He just won't get up to walk to the food and that is kind of weird for him. I had to put it right in front of his nose again.

personally, if it were my cat and he had a day like Rocky had today and was still acting as you describe above - I would not take any chances.

It's important to know when to put away the BOS and go for the BCS :cool:
 
Re: hypo? 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59 +10.5 70

If you shoot 1u, then we see how he does before we decide, ok? If he goes up, it would probably be fine to shoot 1.5u tomorrow but we need to see what he does tonight and how he acts.
 
Re: 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59 +10.5 70 +11 62

Rocky is acting better right now!! Finally!!! He yawned and talked to me when I walked into the room. He then jumped up, came running to eat the food. Yah! I know that I feel so much better now!!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/24 Rocky 84 +1 74 +9 39 +9.5 72 +10 59 +11 62 +11 65

Glad he's better. Looks like he is getting a second dip.

I'd be careful with the dose. You've had a long day and he could have gone lower.
 
Re: Shot 1.0u 4/24 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 66 +2 75

Wow, Tina, How scary. I don't blame you for wanting to stick to the full dose, but I'd be afraid to push him down more. I'm glad you shot only 1.0 units. It's been a rough day for both of you, sounds like. I hope he surfs safely for you tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top