Bo's blues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica + Bo

Member Since 2023
Starting a new thread. The previous thread is here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/can-somebody-advise-on-bos-numbers.283888/

Bo has been inching his way down towards green PS numbers the past few days. My concern is that he still has some pretty big drops with such a low insulin dose.

1) Yesterday AMPS was 139, and his nadir was 72, and his dose was 0.1U.
2) This morning AMPS was 126, and his assumed nadir (its normally around this time) is 77, and his dose was 1 drop!

I understand that above 50 nadir is safe, but night time numbers are an issue. Since he's getting different meals for breakfast and dinner, I don't want to assume his night time numbers will have the same curve as his daytime numbers.

He's getting 1 can DM in the morning and 1 can FF at night (I plan to transition fully to FF when the DM runs out). Generally he would snack on the DM all day, sometimes finishing it around the +10 mark. But he's had a pretty big appetite the past few days. Yesterday he finished around +6 and today its almost gone at +3.5.

I'm inclined to not dose when it appears a dose will drop him below 50. If 1 drop took him down 50 points today, then I don't think I will be comfortable giving 1 drop if his PS is 100 or less.
 
I don’t think you can do the math to try to extrapolate what the numbers will be this way. As I explained in the other thread, lower numbers mean flatter curves. I leaning towards agreeing with Suzanne’s suggestion of sticking with .1. Again, look at Bobo’s spreadsheet, I reduced his dose to 1 drop and then went back to .1 because his preshot numbers started climbing back up. You’re still getting above 100 preshots and the goal here is to get them under 100. If you don’t dose when and if that happens you’re taking a step back instead of forward towards remission. I know it’s scary and it’s hard to just trusts on this. I had to make some sacrifices there towards the end where I’d be up until his +6 sometimes to make sure I kept him in the safe greens with food. Lots of sleep deprived nights but it’s what it took to get him into remission. The upside is now I can sleep in because he no longer needs insulin :bighug:
 
So far so good today. Let’s not stress over what might happen. Let’s see what happens today and take it as it comes for tonight’s PMPS. It’s going to be okay. Your boy is not a big diver so he’s making things easier for you. A drop from 126 to 77 over a three hour period isn’t bad. How long until +6?
 
So far so good today. Let’s not stress over what might happen. Let’s see what happens today and take it as it comes for tonight’s PMPS. It’s going to be okay. Your boy is not a big diver so he’s making things easier for you. A drop from 126 to 77 over a three hour period isn’t bad. How long until +6?

I won't be home for +6 but I'm going to get +5 in about 45 minutes (2pm MST). I might try to stall and get closer to +5.5 immediately before I leave the house.


You folks are pros lol! I guess I have a lot more nerves that I need to shake off in order to get through this. I'm hoping he's nice enough to give me remission as a Christmas gift this year.
 
I won't be home for +6 but I'm going to get +5 in about 45 minutes (2pm MST). I might try to stall and get closer to +5.5 immediately before I leave the house.


You folks are pros lol! I guess I have a lot more nerves that I need to shake off in order to get through this. I'm hoping he's nice enough to give me remission as a Christmas gift this year.
Me too. You are doing very well, by the way. The nerves are all normal. We are talking about your special boy here!
 
I second that! And to be fair, I had gone through Minnie’s diabetes and every other health issue under the sun by the time I had to deal with Bobo’s. I was a bit more relaxed about it, but I still freaked out every time I got a lower than usual number at evening +2, so I’d post and get folks here to hand hold me through it, @tiffmaxee I’m looking at you lol, hence the sleep deprived nights :nailbiting:
 
Starting a new thread. The previous thread is here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/can-somebody-advise-on-bos-numbers.283888/

Bo has been inching his way down towards green PS numbers the past few days. My concern is that he still has some pretty big drops with such a low insulin dose.

1) Yesterday AMPS was 139, and his nadir was 72, and his dose was 0.1U.
2) This morning AMPS was 126, and his assumed nadir (its normally around this time) is 77, and his dose was 1 drop!

I understand that above 50 nadir is safe, but night time numbers are an issue. Since he's getting different meals for breakfast and dinner, I don't want to assume his night time numbers will have the same curve as his daytime numbers.

He's getting 1 can DM in the morning and 1 can FF at night (I plan to transition fully to FF when the DM runs out). Generally he would snack on the DM all day, sometimes finishing it around the +10 mark. But he's had a pretty big appetite the past few days. Yesterday he finished around +6 and today its almost gone at +3.5.

I'm inclined to not dose when it appears a dose will drop him below 50. If 1 drop took him down 50 points today, then I don't think I will be comfortable giving 1 drop if his PS is 100 or less.
you and I are with the same worries; Corky tends to drop at his last testing 10:00PM just when we are ready for bed, it worries me that he's BG will get much lower than last testing, like last night I needed safety, so I fed his last short meal with MC, I rather have his BG a bit higher in the morning then not sleep all night due to testing the whole night, or having his BG go into a dangerous zone. He is used to have his numbers on a yellow zone so now he is getting used to be in the blue's, that's my answer so far until I find a better solution, like right now he fed and dose at 171BG that means that by 10PM he will be in the very low 100's to me that is a scary time every time, best to you :cat::confused:
 
He had a pretty good cycle so far today. Are you happy with that? I hope tonight’s PMPS will be good.
I'm so happy! His PMPS is the best one yet! we're getting so close to green PS numbers

I see his PMPS is 110. Are you doing the drop dose tonight?
I struggled with whether or not I should. I have noticed that on nights where I skipped the shot, his AMPS the next morning is ever so slightly higher than the PMPS where I skipped the shot. I think he would benefit from some amount of insulin to keep the downward trend, but I can't measure any lower than 1 drop, and I know I wont sleep tonight if I dose him. I'm just going to cross my fingers for his numbers to stay good in the morning.

His cycles are getting flatter, but he still gets that drop right at the beginning. I'm thinking of changing his diet to 1.5 cans for FF for breakfast and dinner. So I would have a better idea of what his nighttime curve would look like. I just have 14 cans of that expensive Purina DM left, I didn't want to waste it.
 
Couldn't get an AMPS today. I must have poked him 10 times. He was starting to try run away, so I didn't want to continue torturing him for a false-elevated number. Will try again for a midday number.

It's going to be more difficult to get BG as it gets colder where I am I think. I might need to get him a heated bed so his ears aren't starting off so icy cold for every check
 
Couldn't get an AMPS today. I must have poked him 10 times. He was starting to try run away, so I didn't want to continue torturing him for a false-elevated number. Will try again for a midday number.

It's going to be more difficult to get BG as it gets colder where I am I think. I might need to get him a heated bed so his ears aren't starting off so icy cold for every check
You need to warm his ear first. I put warm/hot water in a small glass bottle that I had (used to be a small sampling of olive oil) and I held it next to Darcy’s ear for a minute before testing. I have heard some people say they use an empty pill bottle. I really only had to do this at the beginning before his ears bled more easily — but if it’s really cold in your house then you may need to continue to do it. Of course, there’s the old “rice sock” method.
 
Excellent +3 today without insulin! This is the lowest reading I've gotten without insulin.

He finished about 3/4 of his breakfast already. I'm really curious how the rest of this cycle is going to go today. This is normally his lowest point with the insulin.
 
What’s the AMPS this morning? I’m just checking in. I’m really hoping for a green!
Not quite green but pretty close.

I think I had a revelation today about his dips. I was not taking into account that his own pancreas is starting to bring his numbers down as well. So when I saw a dip like on 12/02 where he went from 126 to 77 with 1 drop of insulin. I was attributing that whole 50~ point drop to the 1 drop of insulin. Whereas looking at his numbers today, his pancreas brought him from 112 to 63, another 50~ point drop all without any insulin.

So in reality, that 1 drop of insulin on 12/02 probably barely moved his BG number at all, the majority of the 50~ point drop was probably his own body.

I will give him the rest of today to see if he continues creeping downwards on his own. But if he's not in green by tomorrow AMPS, I have found the bravery I need to continue with the 1 drop doses to try and get him spending a bit more time in green before I attempt to call it an OTJ trial.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top