Boots is newly diabetic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boots_LaVigne

Member Since 2014
boots is newly diagnosed, and has been going to the vet's office 1x per week for testing. As he tested well over 500 on his initial visit, he was placed on 1 unit Novalin BID, and has now increased by 1 unit per week, to 5 units BID. On our most recent visit he tested 140. He has gained back a little weight (1.3 lbs) and i have switched him to a low carb friskies classic pate. He still has free access to Purina One UTF, which between 2 cats (one diabetic & the other non) is dispensed at about 1 cup per day.
I wanted to do in home testing, and had gotten a FreeStyle Freedom Lite meter. But this meter, when compared to the vet's, was 200 points lower. Then I got on the web site for AlphaTrak, and that info indicates that human meters should NOT be used. http://www.alphatrakmeter.com/PetDiabet ... betes.html So now I am very confused about this whole thing.
Do I need to get a new meter?
How do I know if the meter is accurate? (what am I comparing its results to?)
What is the ideal range?
Does a person change the insulin dose daily up/down based on the daily test readings?
I appreciate help on this! I have never posted in a message board forum prior to this, so please ask me if anything needs clarification :smile:
 
We have pet-specific reference numbers which may be used with human glucometers. They were established in veterinary research and refined by experiences here.

See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more info and some basice reference ranges for various meter types.

Oh, and note that it is the maker of the AlphaTrak saying you should not use human meters. I think they have a conflict of interest, don't you?
 
While you are using Novolin, this guide may be helpful.

We actually prefer ProZinc, Levemir, Lantus, and BCP PZI insulins for cats as they last about 12 hours in the cat, whereas Novolin often last only 6 to 8 hours in the cat, with 4 to 6 hours without glucose control.

We also recommend home testing with an inexpensive human glucometer, such as the WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro. With such a high dose of 5 units, home testing is essential to keep your cat safe.
 
Hi and Welcome to FDMB!

I agree with BJM, home testing with human meter is fine. Many do use the Walmart relion ones due to the strips and lancets are inexpensive compared to the Alpha Track. Again, also important as you are using Novolin N.

My Hank started out on Novolin N. It was about 3 months later that we switched him to Prozinc insulin. I wish I would've switched him sooner. The Novolin was wearing off around +6 (hours after shot) with very fast drops to begin with. The wearing off so soon was what my husband and I hated. We felt bad that he had to wait another 6 hours with high numbers till next shot. I was going with what my vet wanted to do for treatment. But then after reading and researching, I decided that Prozinc was the insulin that I wanted for Hank. My vet was fine with me switching and said that I could purchase syringes and insulin at vets office.

Just look at Hanks SS for numbers before and after starting Prozinc. I must say, I am very glad we made the switch.

If you have any other questions, we're here to help.

Kimmie
 
Google Search results - its generally a bit more from the vet.

BCP PZI is another, non-depot insulin that may be less, and the concentration can come in U-40, U-50 and U-100. It is possible for your vet to get a sample 5 mL vial for you to try, too.

While cheap is nice, giving insulin every 8 hours to get adequate glucose control is not. Nor is the risk of hypo from the sudden drops it gives.

And with good control, low carb food, and diligent home care, you might be able to get your cat off insulin.

Until you are home testing, keep the food the same. Changing to low carb canned food can reduce insulin needs by as much as 2 units, and drop the glucose level by as much as 100 mg/dL.
 
I paid $88 for the Prozinc insulin at my vet's office. It's cheaper than Lantus. Butttttt it may last me about 6 months. So when you look at it like that, $15/month for 6 months, not that expensive. Hank's doing very well on it too.

Also, believe me cause I tried, it's REALLY hard to get them regulated on the Novolin N.

Kimmie
 
Your vet has to order the BCP PZI for BCP. It is shipped to the vet. Also, when I my vet ordered it about 3 months ago it took about three weeks for it to be shipped to the vet.
 
Thank you so, so much for helping me with all of this knowledge, allowing me to benefit from your own experiences! Boots & I are back to the vet on Tuesday. I will let you know how we make out :-D
You have my sincere thanks.
Jean
 
I did an AM read post feeding using my Freestyle Freedom Lite meter today. it read 179. I shot the prescribed 5ml Novalin, but felt in my gut that it was too much. May I please have your thoughts?
 
The insulin dose needs to be adjusted based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post-shot. If the dose is too high, he could die very quickly. You need to test him about +3 hours after the shot. If he is below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer, you need to feed him high carb food, or regular food with some Karo syrup on it.

We don't know what that generally is for your cat. We really need you to get started using our grid for recording tests so we can see that.
ETA: the nadir

Do you know what symptoms of hypoglycemia look like?
Do you have Karo syrup on hand?
 
Good Lord!!! +3 amps Boots tested at 32. I have just given him some higher carb food (which he ate like a gift!). Yes I have Karo syrup on hand. I have read the info here regarding Hypoglycemia, so for an untrained person, yes I think I can recognize them.
Bad part is that I have to go to work right now, won't be able to come back for about 5 hours. nailbite_smile
Something I don't understand in your comment - We don't know what that generally is for your cat, (etc.) - don't know what what is?
He seems okay after eating a bit, but now I am worried.
 
We don't know the nadirs he tends to have.

Dose reduction earned; I would dop down at least 1 unit, to 4 units.
 
I had a debacle +5 AMPS. Had only 1 test strip, couldn't get enough blood, and got an error reading. tried fro a better blood draw & hit a geyser. Of course, when I tried to add new blood to used strip, well, that didn't work! Boots shook his head got blood drops all over the carpet. he wouldn't let me hold him any more, but his ear was still dripping, so we had a blood trail across 2 rooms.
After all that, I went out to the store & bought the Relion meter & strips. He had his evening feeding about 45 minutes ago. I am just trying to get over being squemish about testing him again. The poor little guy.
Please give me strength to help my cat!!
 
347 1 hour after pm feeding using the Relion meter for the first time. Shooting 5 units. Good new is that I got a good blood drop fast & easy.
It is such a huge range of bg over the course of the day!
179
32
now 347.
Any additional advise, please?
 
That wide range is just 1 of the reasons we don't like using Novolin or Humulin N for cats.

Did you reduce the evening shot?

Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Good SS. However, it say yo gave 4 units of N insulin with a preshot of 86 and the BG was 69 at +2. Yesterday with 5 units and preshot of 179 she was 32 at +3.
You should test at +3 and then more depending upon the BG you get.
86 is a normal BG value and giving 4 unit is dangerous.
 
Thanks Larry!
I spoke with the vet about switching to Provalin, she wants to be cautious before making a change. She recommends that i do a test at 6pm. If Boots is over 200, shoot 2 units. under 200 skip shot. Maybe with any luck, we'll be able to regulate Boots with just a modified diet (I am truly hoping).
 
Asking for help on spreadsheet sheet numbers that I have entered today 12/17. I'd like to make sure that I am being safe in skipping the morning dose and going very low dose when his bg climbed late in the afternoon.
Thanks!
Jean & Boots
 
He is having the typical reaction to NPH insulin - harsh, deep, fast drop.

Always be sure to feed him 30 minutes before you shoot, so the food has a chance to get on board and buffer that steep ride.

No shot under 200 mg/dL.
I would not give him more that 1 unit when in the low 300s and maybe only 0.5 units if between 200-300 mg/dL.
If he gets to 400 mg/dL, you might give 1.5 units.

And watch the nadir, around +3 to +4 hours after the shot, when he goes lowest. That needs to stay safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer or you must intervene with high carb food to keep him safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top