Boots' BG 568, OTJ 2 weeks.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LadyW

Member Since 2017
Boots diagnosed ~18 months ago, on Lantus 3u until past 4 months, then 2.5u. Went in for annual visit 2/9, BG 67, 1 hour after insulin. No insulin since then (per vet). Fructosamine 2/21 182. Did a spot check today, BG 568. Called emergency vet, she suggested 2.5u and contact usual vet in a.m. I'm thinking lower initial dose? And, what is the really scary number for high BG?
 
what is the really scary number for high BG?
High numbers are only scary if they are sustained. Then you risk kidney damage and DKA. Going too low is scary because it only takes once to kill.

That said, I don't understand removing insulin based on one reading. Did you do any monitoring after that? It would really help us if you could set up a spreadsheet and record all the readings you have so we can get a picture of what's been going on. Here are the instructions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. Since you are using an Alpha Trak, please use the template for Pet Meters.
 
That 67 would have earned boots a reduction on the AlphaTrak, so yes, I would start on a lower dose. Did you test again to make sure it wasn't a meter error.
 
I only started monitoring when he went so low on the 9th. The vet did a full panel (I do not have the results) and a spot check that revealed the 67. I started a curve for the first time that day. This is what I have thus far. I started the insulin again this evening on advice of the emergency vet. I will continue checking his BG until it seems to level out tonight.

upload_2017-2-26_19-36-42.png

2/26/17 730p 506
2/26/17 930p 415
 
Last edited:
High numbers are only scary if they are sustained. Then you risk kidney damage and DKA. Going too low is scary because it only takes once to kill.

That said, I don't understand removing insulin based on one reading. Did you do any monitoring after that? It would really help us if you could set up a spreadsheet and record all the readings you have so we can get a picture of what's been going on. Here are the instructions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. Since you are using an Alpha Trak, please use the template for Pet Meters.
I don't have permission to edit that sheet so I posted my own above.
 
We'll still be happy to help any way we can, but comments on dosing or reaction to insulin are harder for us to do without that data, going forward. Thanks for sharing what you have so far.

We're glad you found us. Hope we can help you and Boots!
 
Thank you. I am updating the chart I posted as I do the readings. Thankful to see it coming down.

I really would be happy to set up our spreadsheet for you and help explain how to use it

Just let me know! It only takes about 30 seconds for me to do it!!

Just click on my name and choose "Start Conversation" to send me a private message so I can get some details
 
I really would be happy to set up our spreadsheet for you and help explain how to use it

Just let me know! It only takes about 30 seconds for me to do it!!

Just click on my name and choose "Start Conversation" to send me a private message so I can get some details
Done :-)
 

You need to change the Permissions so we can see it......Just go to the top right where it says "Share" and click....a new box will pop up.....go to the bottom right of that box and click on "Advanced" and then choose "Anyone with the link can view"....Hit Done and you're done!!
 
You need to change the Permissions so we can see it......Just go to the top right where it says "Share" and click....a new box will pop up.....go to the bottom right of that box and click on "Advanced" and then choose "Anyone with the link can view"....Hit Done and you're done!!
Done again ;-)
 
Looks like you started him at 2u. I think that was a reasonable choice. It can take several days for the 'depot' to fill and then you'll be able to see what the 2u dose can do for Boots.

I'm surprised the vet took him off of insulin after 1 lower test when he was at 2.5u, especially since he's nearly 1.5 years post-diagnosis. We would've suggested you decrease the dose by 0.25u rather than stop it entirely.

Not sure how familiar you are with Lantus - you might take a look at this sticky to learn a little about how depot insulins work. I especially like the link that says "Levemir vs Lantus, what's the difference" - in describing the difference you can really understand how they work within the body.

Your spreadsheet is working fine now - thanks for using our template. It makes it much easier to help.

Ask as many questions as you have. We're happy to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top