Boots 11/25 AMPS 209, +2.5 354, +6 213, PMPS 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

spuds151

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Boots had another great day today. Instead of hiding under the bed sleeping for most of the day, he was out sitting on the couch...er, sleeping. But he wanted to be more social, eating regularly again, he wanted pets, he started head bumps again, etc.

Again, using the ReliOn meter because my AT2 strips were delayed an additional day. From what I understand, the ReliOn meter can test about 50pts lower than what the AT2 will test. Even if that is the case, his readings are still trending down.

Since Thursday (Thanksgiving), I have switched his diet to 1/4 of a 5.5oz can of Friskies 2x/day, giving 1u Lantus 2x/day.
 
Glad Boots is acting more himself. Were you able to check for keytones? If you can't do the pee thing, they make keytones meters, which you use just like BG meters, but from what I understand the units and the strips for them are pretty pricey.

From what I understand, the ReliOn meter can test about 50pts lower than what the AT2 will test. Even if that is the case, his readings are still trending down.

There really is no way to directly compare them, unfortunately. People have said they are closer in numbers when the numbers are low, but unfortunately, there's just no algorithm for comparing them (frustrating, been there, I know). You can compare your AT with the Relion on the same drop of blood a few times and see how your two meters diverge in different ranges, but at the end of the day, it bears no fruit because you pick one meter and stick with it and dose off those numbers, using the other for backup. Both TR protocol and SLGS methods were devised using human meters, so it's easier (and potentially safer) to follow them with a human one...and bonus, those Relion strips are soooo much more affordable than AT ones! But, of course, it's up to you and what you feel comfortable with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top