Boots 11/22 PMPS 439, +5 513; 11/23 AMPS 481

Status
Not open for further replies.

spuds151

Member Since 2017
Numbers seems to be trending downward, but there's a new problem now.

An hour or so after feeding Boots last night, wife and I left the house to catch a movie. When we came back, someone had vomited up their food. We didn't see who did it, so we can't say who it was. We suspected Ash because he's done this before - eaten too much too fast, ran around and played with the others, vomited.

We tested Boots at 513 at PMPS +5. Still high, but like I said, trending downward. However I was concerned when he didn't seem interested in his post-test treat. I went to go pet him and try to offer the treat again, but he turned from me and went to hide under the bed. I thought - more like hoped - that it was because he was just being passive aggressive at being tested.

Tested him this morning at 481, but then he wouldn't eat, so I didn't give him any insulin. Now I'm concerned. I don't think he has ever missed a meal. And of course it's Thanksgiving so the vet isn't open, and I just ran out of BG test strips (I thought my order would get here on time). I'm waiting to see if he eats later today. If so, hope things are back to whatever passes for normal these days and give him insulin. If not, back to the vet first thing tomorrow.
 
I just ran out of BG test strips (I thought my order would get here on time).

That's one of the reasons so many of us use the Relion meters from WalMart....the strips are available 24/7 if your Walmart is open 24/7

These kitties of ours have a habit of running out of strips at the worst possible times....Holidays and at 2am on a Sunday morning when their blood glucose is running too low!!

If you can't stand shopping at WalMart, you can get the exact same meter as their Relion Confirm from ADW. Their Glucocard01 is the exact same meter and if you're in an emergency, you can at least get emergency strips from WalMart because they use the same strips as the Relion Confirm/Micro

The Arkray company makes the meters for WalMart and they put their "Relion" name on them

Hope Boots improves today and eats his food for you!!
 
I didn't know you could use the Relion strips for the Glucocard 01! That is very handy info to have if I ever have a delayed shipment or something.

Yep, you can!! The Arkray company makes the meter and WalMart just puts their Relion Confirm name on it...it's the exact same as the Glucocard01!!
 
Hows your boy doing?

Sending prayers that all is well.
Please try and get those ketostix (I hope you can find a pharmacy open somewhere), given that his BG is high and he is off his food we are concerned that he may have ketones developing.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If he doesn’t eat today/tonight, I would definitely get him to the vet and get his ketones checked there.

If he starts eating tonight for you and if you don’t see any downward movement of the BG, I’d increase his dose to 2.5u tomorrow. We need to work towards getting those numbers down.

Thanks for grabbing that test last night! Great job.

You can just put “NS” in the units column any time you don’t shoot.

Paws crossed he ate today.
Thanks @Marje and Gracie and everyone. He started coming out a little more by mid-afternoon and munched a little bit. We had to leave the house again, but when we came back he was ready to eat and back to (somewhat) normal. Gave him 1u because no test strips. Haven't tested ketones yet. We will be back on track tomorrow. Gonna see if the vet will be kind enough to spare some test strips as they use the AT2 as well. Got notification my test strips won't be here until Saturday. :(
 
If he doesn’t eat today/tonight, I would definitely get him to the vet and get his ketones checked there.

If he starts eating tonight for you and if you don’t see any downward movement of the BG, I’d increase his dose to 2.5u tomorrow. We need to work towards getting those numbers down.

Thanks for grabbing that test last night! Great job.

You can just put “NS” in the units column any time you don’t shoot.

Paws crossed he ate today.

BTW, today is the 23rd :joyful::) here is the link to the Nov 22 condo.
 
Thanks @Marje and Gracie and everyone. He started coming out a little more by mid-afternoon and munched a little bit. We had to leave the house again, but when we came back he was ready to eat and back to (somewhat) normal. Gave him 1u because no test strips. Haven't tested ketones yet. We will be back on track tomorrow. Gonna see if the vet will be kind enough to spare some test strips as they use the AT2 as well. Got notification my test strips won't be here until Saturday. :(
I know no one wants to go to Walmart on Black Friday but it’s not a bad idea to grab a meter and strips to hold you through. With where he is in BG, it won’t really matter to use a human meter until you can get strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top