Boo's lousy numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
I've shot .5 for three cycles now (yes, I know that isn't very long). His numbers are lousy. Except for the first day, I can't get out of the 300's and 400's. I'm sad every time I test. :YMSIGH:
 
Wendy and Boo said:
I've shot .5 for three cycles now (yes, I know that isn't very long). His numbers are lousy. Except for the first day, I can't get out of the 300's and 400's. I'm sad every time I test. :YMSIGH:

Yes, I know. I wouldn't like seeing those numbers either. :(

From Tilly:

"However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."

So yes, three cycles may not be enough, but I wouldn't blame you if you wanted to jump the gun and increase the dose already. I know I would be inclined to do that.

How is he acting otherwise? Is he doing better with his constipation issue? How is his appetite?
 
Hi Pamela-

He's pooping with the assistance of Miralax. Appetite is fine. His demeanor is good as well. He purrs every time you touch him. It's hard to determine his activity level as his CHF makes him tire easily. He can't play.

He looks bad though. His coat is full of dandruff and greasy looking. I've noticed when his BG levels are above 400, he drinks excessive amounts of water...

I have to learn to be more patient :roll:
 
Since there is no discernable difference between the .5a and the 1u ( though .5 has not really been given enough time) and given that kitty feels like crap and drinking so much and IF YOU'LL BE AROUND TO MONITOR, if it were me, I'd probably be tempted to try the 1.25u

Realize you are more than doubling the dose lickity split so if it wer eme I'd be testing BG alot!

If you do decide to go with the 1.25 and you are around to monitor, I would definately hold the dose for at least 3 DAYS...at LEAST....unless kitty goes to low, then of course lower dose immediately.

Hang in there...patience...rememeber it is a marathon, not a race!

(((hugs)))
 
lol about the marathon. At the pace we're going now, the course will be closed before we get to the finish line :lol:

I promise I'll hold the dose for at least three days.

I can test more at night as during the week I'm limited to a +2 and +9 (or later) due to work. DH can check on him around +6, but he won't test. He does know the signs of hypo as they are posted on the refrigerator.

I'll post an update in a few days.

thanks again for all your help!
 
Hi Wendy,

Sorry I haven't been attentive to the board recently.

I don't see that he had enough of a decrease on the 1U to warrant going down to .5U, but we've been there, done that, so I assume you're going to 1.25U tonight? His first day on Lev was not too bad, but I wonder if the constipation caused his system to not deal well with the insulin. It's always difficult to determine dose when there are complicating factors. Anything that makes them feel lousy can negatively effect BGs.

Has he been evaluated for IBD? He's getting good food, so the constipation is odd. A good radiologist doing an ultrasound should be able to tell if there is intestinal inflammation.

Are you a member of the feline heart Yahoo Group? They have good info if you need help with the CHF.

With Levemir a +9 BG test is ideal and should give you at least an idea if the insulin is bringing him down reasonably.

Hang in there. Another few weeks and everything will be routine again.
 
The L's ( lev and lantus) are known for their symptomless hypos...many folks don't believe a cat can even hypo on Lev or lantus, actually.

PK has been 28 on Lev sometime in the last few months and was also 33ish a few times...the most I see with him is being darty...he acts really paranoid and tries to "escape" when I am not even chasing him!

Also, he devils the old lady cats when he is low...they squeal and I know he is low and to test him.

Anyway, just saying a lev cat can be at hypo numbers without showing it...then you can get some super huge number following ( like rebound ) and you have no idea where the heck that came from since you didn't "see" the hypo number by symptom or BG test.

Just an FYI....I'm sure you will do fine and your testing has been pretty comprehensive so far, so I think you'll catch it if Boo goes too low.
 
Hi, Wendy. I remember you from "before". I am sorry to hear that Boo is out of remission. I have read through the recent posts/threads and see you have gotten some good suggestions. The early days are sort of a guessing game "is 1u too little, too much?" He did respond a bit to the 1u the first day but then flattened out. I was wondering a couple of things:

1) what was his dose on PZI at the end? I ask because Beau was on .05u (I kid you not) of lev at the end so when he dropped out of remission after getting into some bread that was the dose I started back with. He had been able to bring himself down the first day and a little the next day, but not after that. He ended up needing 9 shots in 9 days, but not consistently (like shot, shot, skip, shot, skip, shot, skip, skip, shot, skip, etc.) and went back into remission (knock on wood). You gotta start somewhere and looking at his old ending dose might help in making a decision to raise or lower at this point. I think they sometimes just need the smallest of doses to support the pancreas when other things cause an imbalance.

2) has he been tested for hyperthyroid? Beau's BG was easier to manage when his hyperthyroid was diagnosed and treated.

3) has he had constipation before? Could that episode have been brewing and have caused the BG rise? The way he came out of remission, so seemingly suddenly, makes me think it was a recent change to his health, routine or diet.

4) any chance he has pancreatitis? Is he eating ok?

5) how close was he to Tabby? I was so sorry to read about her being set free a couple of weeks ago. Could he be grieving?

Since lev is supposed to take several days to build up in their system, you may just need patience right now. Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top