Boo's first day!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
Boo had a great first day. After waffling between a conservative .5 or 1 unit, I shot 1 unit. I left him at +2, DH was home at +5 and +6 (no test) and I was home at +9. DH said he wasn't interested in eating, but did drink a lot of water.

Here's the numbers so far:

AMPS 414 fed FF 1 unit
+2 403
+9 300
PMPS 252 fed FF 1 unit

I will be up tonight to get a +3 +5 and +7. If you think I need a full curve +2 +4 +6, and +8 let me know! Of course, if he surprises me with a low number, I'll feed and check BG frequently.

-Wendy
 
looks good so far!

I think your 3,5 and 7 will be helpful tonight and give you any indication if he might go too low....hope you don't have to work tomorrow! In your next opportunity you can get the even numbers.

General rule is at least a 3 day settle time on this insulin although some of us prefer 5 days or so and then do a curve to determine dose change needs, if any.

...just something to keep in mind- my Paul is a late nadir guy...his lowest number in the cycle is actually his pre shot value or +12, then he starts to go back up when I feed him ( he eats with shot twoce a day). I am pointing this out b/c I think it is wise to make sure after +9 that Boo is going up and not further down or rather, too far down, before you assume all is well.

I think most of the other lev cats here on lev are about +9ish for nadir so it is likely that Boo is, too.

Another thing to keep in mind for low numbers (under 40) on the long duration insulins is that there is what is referred to as hang time where kitty could stay at 40 or so for several hours rather than the up/down you may have seen with your other insulin.

In other words, long duration insulin = long duration hypos, however the long duration insulins are pretty gentle and hypo is rare on them.

When my Paul was at 28 with lev a few months ago he darted around the room like a paranoid druggie, but there was no frothing or other horrible symptoms of hypo. I simply fed him his regular food and he came up and then I lowered the dose, of course.

others may have different experiences.

so, if you get a really low number or one so low you are not comfortable, you may need to feed him out of it for several hours. general rule for me is 3 raising numbers in 3 hours before I relent...again, others may have a different general rule.

And a kind of newer way of treating hypos is to feed small amounts of regular food rather than shove in the high carbs and get a major spike and subsequent rebound....unless of course the numbers are seriously low and then you need to pump in the high carb and honey or syrup and such...

okay- probably have you scared out of your mind now...sorry.

others should be along in time to comment.

You are doing great! :thumbup:
 
Hi Wendy. I remember you from the PZI forum, especially from the old board. I lurked but didn't comment much but always appreciated your straight forward approach to stuff when helping others. :)

Anyway, it will be interesting to watch your progress on Levemir and hopefully Boo will be back off the juice in no time.

Nice as always to see you too Terri. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top