Boomer no insulin for +28 and is at 112

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Boomer AMPS 61

Wow, Boomer!!!

One little tidbit...if you don't shoot, you want to say "AMBG" (AM Blood Glucose) as opposed to AMPS (AM PreShot). This way, people will know right off the bat if you gave insulin or not.
 
Re: Boomer AMBG 61

So I have a general question....for a non diabetic cat.....does the pancreas release more or less insulin depending on what the cat needs at the time (ie high carb meal maybe) keeping the BG relatively stable? Or does the BG level rise and fall depending on what the cat is eating?
 
Re: Boomer AMBG 61 +1 67 + 3 43

Boomer is down to 43 at + 3 (or should I be saying +15 since he hasn't had insulin since last night)?
His bowl is due to open within 30 minutes so I suggested to my husband that he pop it open for Boomer.
 
Re: Boomer AMBG 61 +1 67 + 3 43

You are right...it would be "+15" since Boomer hasn't had any juice. But letting him have his food a little early won't hurt.

Since Boomer hasn't had any juice today, he can't hypo. His +15 is interesting...when you see a drop a few hours after eating like this, it shows that his pancreas is kicking in. Wahoooo...you've got some good healing going on there!!
 
Re: Boomer AMBG 61 +1 67 + 3 43

Amy....I am so counting on this being a positive sign!! :)

I will change the posts to +13 and +15 so as not to confuse anyone following.
 
Re: Boomer AMBG 61 +13 67,+ 15 43, +17.5 74 +18.5 74

At 74 for an additional hour, now at +17.5!
He is following pretty closely what he did on may 25/26. On May 26 his levels went up somewhat in the afternoon...first noticed at +8.
Wonder if he'll hold his current level a bit longer then he did on the 26th. Hope he holds his current level a bit longer! But I don't have hourly readings from May 26 so I may not be able to tell.

Way to go Boomer!
Pancreas---Heal! :)
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +20 and still in the green!!!!!

Skipped Boomer's shot this morning because he was at 61 and 8 hours later....at +20, he's still in the green at 86!!
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +22 and still in the green!!!!!

Isn't that great news for Boomer - no shot and hours later, still surfing green. Great work all three of you!

Enjoy the rest of the day, Judy.

Anne
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

Well it's shot time, or it should be shot time. And he's been in the green all day with lowest being 43 and highest being 86.
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

well well well!

it's not typical for a cat to go from 2.0 to nothing, but it certainly could happen. cats go OTJ all different ways. I think it's too early to say that yet for Boomer, but given how today has gone, i wouldn't shoot the 59 tonight either. not that it's not safe, but if this is his way of saying he's done with insulin, at least for the moment, let's listen to him.

yes, a mammal with a functioning pancreas will adjust how much insulin is put out to match the carbs consumed in order to keep the blood sugar fairly flat. What we see in cats that are off insulin is that their blood sugar may drop about 2-3 hrs after eating - that's a signal to us that the pancreas is doing something in response to their food.

So - carry on! I'd test again in a couple of hours and then sleep well and see where he is tomorrow morning.

Big smile coming your way! By the way, Mr Greenie would be happy to be shown on Boomer's post icon! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

Hi Julie and Punkin!
So glad you confirmed I shouldn't shoot! Not only based on the level an hour ago but that he also did go down to 43 at one point which is a bit too low however his regular low carb food brought him back up.

I am very very proud of Boomer right now! It would be really nice if this lasts but I'm not counting on it yet....but hopefully this is a sign we are well on our way!

I'm going to test again in about an hour; then again 2 hours later prior to bedtime.

I will keep posting the numbers!
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

i've tested non-diabetic cats who were in the 40's, so that's in the normal range for at least some cats. as Amy said, a cat can't go hypo without having had insulin injected - although with long-lasting insulins we know they can last in the body for some time. If they DO have a hypo, it can be a long affair. This isn't that circumstance though.

Boomer's looking great! We'll just keep following his lead.
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

WOOT WOOT!! Cheering on little Boomer here. He's looking great!

In February we had one member, Linda/Scooter, who went from 5.5U of Levemir, to 5 the next dose then zero. :o That was the day after she removed dry food from the house that she didnt' think he was getting into. It was a VERY long day and a half. So, as Julie says, it does happen. But it does take a while for the depot to drain so that could still be influencing the numbers. Keeping our paws crossed here. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

He just popped up to 112 but....something scared him and he hid in the basement for a while. Not sure what it was; I was afraid he was hiding because he wasn't feeling well so we got him out of his hiding place and tested him. I imagine that would drive his BG up some?
And yes he is fine now. Had a nice brushing and looked out the back door at the birds and is now sleeping on the table where he gets his tests/shots.
 
Re: Boomer no insulin for +24 and still in the green!!!!!

If he starts going up (say something over 130ish), you could restart the insulin at any point. it won't onset for a couple of hours after you shoot it. When/if you do shoot, then the next shot would be due in 12 hrs, so it may completely mess up your schedule. you don't HAVE to shoot at some weird time, but if he's moving up fast you might want to head it off before he goes high.

shooting low holds the numbers flatter, as you know.

just thinking ahead.
 
Hi Julie, yes my husband and I had discussed earlier that if Boomer's levels were up at 10:00pm we could shoot then because with tomorrow being Saturday shooting at 10:00 am is no problem.
It is still at 112 so whether it's on its way up or whether it was the scare he had earlier....really curious as to what tomorrow will bring!
I usually wake up at least once per night so I've been testing him then.

Thanks everyone for all the good wishes; I've passed them on to Boomer :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top