Boomer +19 is 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Asking my husband to test at +3 then likely +5 unless +3 is lower than my comfort zone allows (when I'm at work) :smile:
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38

And here we go again.....+3 38. My husband gave him food right away and I've asked him to test again at +3.5 to make sure he came up a bit.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38

Holy, moly Boomer nailbite_smile ! You're giving your caregivers quite a start with your low numbers. Judy, this is easier said than done, but try not to worry tooooo much while you're at work. It sounds like DH has things under control at the house. Boomer likes the green lagoon. Wishing you lots of luck today and thinking of you, Judy. Anne
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38

oh I am stressed. Twice in the last few days I have left work in order to go home to either monitor Boomer or at least check on him.
Whoever said that pets lower one's blood pressure didn't have a newly diagnosed diabetic cat nailbite_smile

Waiting now for my husband to test and let me know the #s.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45

Boomer's levels came up a wee bit but we're still at least +2.5 away from nadir so I've asked my husband to test every half hour and try giving a tablespoon of food every half hour or hour.
I told him I thought that's what you would tell me to do; am I wrong or right? :?: :lol:
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45

Test every 20-30 minutes and give a bit (teaspoon) of food until Boomer is over 50. You don't have to keep feeding after he's over 60, unless he drops again.

Looks like Boomer wants another reduction!
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45

You are correct.
Since you've earned a dose reduction ( most likely) you don't have to prove anything now.... so he could give a teaspoon of medium carb to bump up the numbers if you want.
IF numbers go lower, I would give a drop of syrup.

Just remember, your dh is with Boomer monitoring the situation....
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45

Thanks Suzanne and yes another reduction is in order.
I will keep posting his results.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47

I would try getting Boomers number up above 50 now, much safer for Boomer to surf above 50. Do you have some medium carb food you can give?
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47

Thanks Suzanne & Rhiannon

Level came up a wee bit at +4 and my husband gave a tsp of one of the ff with gravy. I suggested a tsp every half hour.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47

Once above 50, you dont have to give the gravy food anymore. Test every 30 minutes until Boomer is above 50, then you can stop feeding the gravy (but still test to make sure boomer doesnt drop back down without the gravy) and we hope that Boomer will surf.

You and your husband doing a great job!
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47

Good work, Judy and DH! I remember that when I was going through this, people reminded me to breathe, probably because I was in a panic. Judy, you and your husband are an awesome team and surfing greens, preferably at a little higher numbers, is helping Boomer's pancreas heal. Anne :thumbup
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47 + 5

Levels coming up a wee bit with every teaspoon of ff with gravy.
Greg will keep doing this as I've warned him Boomer is only at +5 and his levels will be trying to drop further over the next couple of hours.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47 + 5

Wow...Boomer is on a mission! Great teamwork between you, your husband, and Boomer. Surf it, little guy...you've proven your point that you want less juice!
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 +3.5 45 +4 47 + 5

Thanks Amy. I must say that you forgot part of our team.....the members of this board! Don't know what I would do without you!!! :thumbup

The dosage I gave him this morning was 2.5 but I would say it was a "light" 2.5....somewhere between 2.25 and 2.5. So I may want to go a bit lower than 2.25 tonight....maybe a "fat" 2. And I'm of course assuming his levels come up to a reasonable amount before PM is due.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 up to 56 at +6

Is the subject line that you are seeing updated? Should say 56 at +6 right now. I am editing the first post and saving it but I want to make sure that is what you're seeing?

Breathing a little easier now. Appears my husband, Greg, has everything under control. He is continuing to test and to give a teaspoon of ff with gravy every half hour.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 up to 56 at +6

Congratulations on the dose reduction!
Good job, Greg. So, no dry today, right ;-)
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 +3 38 up to 56 at +6

haha Dyana! I think he finally realized when he saw Boomer's numbers last night. Though he did what he thought was best given the circumstances and the important thing obviously is that he did keep Boomer out of the danger zone!

I did point out to Boomer's vet what his numbers were after giving him a bit of Purina DM dry. Not sure how Purina can market that as a diabetic diet at 18% carb. No regulation I guess. Just goes to show you that it pays to do your own research.
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 down to 31 at +7.5

So I come back from lunch to find out at Boomers levels went down to 31 at +7.5. Asked my husband to give him a tsp of food and mix a drop of syrop in it and then give him some more food.

Deep breaths..... nailbite_smile
 
Re: Boomer 05/28 AMPS 158 shot 2.5 down to 31 at +7.5

I'd probably give a bit more than a drop of syrup at this point. Do you have an high carb gravy food? Your husband can squeeze out some of the gravy and add a couple drops karo to it. He's doing a good job! Definitely re-test in 20 minutes or so.

Boomer, UP! 30's are too low!
 
Re: Boomer down to 31 at +7.5 up to 77 at +8

My Dear Boomer....you gave mommy quite a scare today (again). I appreciate that you want off insulin; I want you off insulin. But giving mommy a heart attack will not help. So let's do this a little slower and make it a little less scary ok? Love Mommy. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Boomer down to 31 at +7.5 up to 77 at +8

Your DH did a great job! And you did a great job coaching! :thumbup

I'd keep testing until there are two tests above 60 or so with no food given. Then everyone gets a drink/chocolate/catnip! :lol:
 
Re: Boomer down to 31 at +7.5 up to 77 at +8

I believe my husband is still giving him a bit of food every half hour since we knew that the increase from the syrop wouldn't last long.
I will be home soon and testing him. I know it's not ideal to skip shots (I've had to do that twice in the last few days) but I really doubt his levels are going to come up enough that I'm going to be comfortable giving it to him. But I will see what we get and will post the results.

Thanks so much everyone for your help and support today!
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

My husband continued to feed him but didn't test as Boomer was spitting etc. I tested as soon as I got home at +10 and he was 25. Gave syrop in gravy ff and tested in about 15 minutes and he was up to 56.

No insulin for Boomer tonight.

Giving him as much ff with gravy that he wants.
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

Good call on the skip tonight! :shock: :shock: Boomer's depot really needs to be drained. You and DH are doing an awesome job today.

ETA: How is Boomer feeling with those lows?
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

how come there isn't a drinking smiley to put here? And I don't mean coffee lol
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

Go to the second page of smileys. You guys deserve an adult beverage after today!
drinking09 drinking24
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

Holy Moly, Boomer! You certainly like to go diving, don't you!!

Good job guys! Congrats on the dose crease.
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

Oh my goodness, Boomer wouldn't let up surfing in those extremely low numbers. My heart sank when I read your post indicating Boomer was 25 at +10. :o :shock: Greg, you're a champ - great work keeping Boomer safe. flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat

I'm glad your skipping tonight, I don't think I can take any more shock today. You know if Pixie is surfing well tonight, I may just join you in that drink drinking24. Cheers, Judy and Greg and anyone else joining us! Anne
 
Re: Boomer +10 was 25 gave syrop +10.25 he is 56

And after all this Boomer has the nerve to sit there looking po'd at me because I've shut the bedroom and basement doors so he doesn't hide on us (which he was doing earlier to Greg).
cat(2)_steam
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

down to 29 now at +12 and got him to eat a tiny bit of ff with gravy and syrop but not a lot so put syrop on finger and applied to tongue,inside of mouth.

Any ideas?
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

I honestly don't have any first hand experience with being as challenged have you have been today with Boomer's numbers, but giving the syrup directly is definitely a very good idea - you want those numbers UP! Do you have a little syringe, like you'd use for oral medications, that you could use to maybe squirt a little syrup inside his mouth? How is he behaving? If you're really having a hard time, you may actually want to consider taking him to the vet for a glucose drip.
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

Please test again in 15 minutes. You do not want his numbers any lower.
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

he is up to 94 but will monitor every half hour and give syrop when necessary
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

I'm thinking that tonight is a "skip-a-shot" night. You've been working too hard to keep Boomer's numbers propped up. Keep an eye on where he's going this evening. Hopefully, his numbers will start to level off. We'll need to think about the dose for tomorrow.
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

ohmygosh, judy. what a day you and your husband have had! :shock:

glad you skipped tonight's shot - it was absolutely the right call. we're wanting to see what he does in the next few hours and how long he holds these low numbers before suggesting anything for tomorrow morning. Boomer is being quite insistent about staying low.

as long as he stays above 50 you don't have to give more high carb/syrup. he must be stuffed, or i would suggest low carb.

we usually say that you want at least 2 tests staying above 50 AFTER you've stopped giving any carbs before you call it a night - i'd say with today's numbers to make sure it's at least 1.5 hrs - 2 hrs after the last carbs as well.

put any numbers into his spreadsheet so we can see them and we'll post something here tonight about what to do in the morning.

drinking24 :-D
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

Hi there Julie yes its been a heck of a day!
Trouble is, his numbers are only better because of the corn syrup although I did get him to eat maybe 3 tblsps. Much to Boomer's dismay I am continuing to test every 30 minutes. Amy suggested using a syringe for the syrup which was an excellent idea so I have one here and filled just in case.

And Boomer is just wandering around like nothing's wrong although he's still quite upset with me that the bedroom and basement doors are closed but I didn't want him getting into one of his hiding spots!
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

yes, that's why you have to wait long enough for the syrup to wear off before assuming he's going to stay up.

as a last resort, you should know that you can administer corn syrup (or honey) rectally using the kind of syringes that are for oral meds (no needle). He's been very persistent in the low numbers today, so always know the vet is an option if you can't keep him up. Lantus hypos can last a long time.

Has he had any symptoms at all of hypoglycemia? any staggering, stumbling, etc.? one list of symptoms is on the Low Numbers sticky. Cats can have low numbers without symptoms, too, although if they get low enough they will.

give your husband kudos for testing when he didn't feel comfortable with it at first. you guys have kept Boomer alive.
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

So should I continue to give him whatever food he will eat or should I try to hold off now so that he actually eats a decent amount at this next actual meal time?
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

Boomer Boomer Boomer!!!! Boy oh Boy, you guys had a whirlwind of a day!

I think that as long as Boomer is above 75, you should be good. Continue to check to make sure that he isn't dropping. I would agree that you should skip the shot.

Have a very uneventful evening!
 
Re: Boomer down to 29 he won't eat now so gave syrop directl

i agree with Deb - he's probably stuffed, and just in case he dips lower and you need him to be willing to eat, i think i'd hold off for right now.

Would you mind updating your subject line as you get new tests in?
 
Re: Boomer at 85 +14 now at 74 +14.5

i'd want to get at least another hour check in there (+15.5) and make sure he's holding flat before calling it a night. Not sure how soon you want to go to bed, but if he were mine, i'd like to see another test just for safety.

are you thinking ahead to morning - do you have some preferences? If he's green, for example, will you be ok shooting something?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top