Boo Radley 5/30 PMPS 362, +4 89

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Boo Radley 5/30

Yeah, he has. Are you testing for ketones? If so, I'd suggest putting that in the notes section.

How do you feel about reducing another .25u? Can you get a spot check tonight?
 
Re: Boo Radley 5/30

I sure am, it's orange highlighted date.

I can definitely reduce by 0.25 and will check at +4 and further if it looks like he is having an active cycle.

Thanks Sheila!
 
Re: Boo Radley 5/30

What about staying with 2.5U for a while longer? It's possible he could have a lower cycle soon. He's had greens on 2.5U before. Holding the dose longer may prevent him from rebounding when he does have greens because hopefully he will ease in to lower numbers and not nose-dive.
 
Jessica & Boo Radley said:
He just gave me a 89 at +4.....big swing again and looks like we may be in for an interesting night.

Maybe Sheila is right about going down to 2.25U. I wasn't expecting the green so soon, but at least he's following a pattern. What high carb food do you have on hand? It's helpful to not overload them with high carb, because then the later BG is not only a result of rebound but also the high carb food. Give a tablespoon at a time, recheck BG in 15 minutes or so. But maybe wait to see if he falls below 50.
 
There he goes! If he does drop further, try regular LC food first or moderate carb to try and ease the drop to a stop and let it climb back up instead of zoom back up. Your call, of course! You don't want to be up all night.
 
The good thing about having a bouncing cat......he's VERY good at keeping himself in the "safe zone". It's been very, very rare in our diabetic experience that Boo can't keep the number safe for himself. I used to panic and feed HC, but never anymore (I do keep on hand just in case....).

I do guide him with LC to try to have help him surf....but that's about the extent of it.

Down to 2.25 we go!

I'm working for the next 3 days and will be out of pocket, so I hope everyone has a great weekend!
 
Hi everyone, sorry to jump in,
but I am curious as to the reduction
I would have thought that it was a great cycle and I think I might hold the 2.5..
 
dmartini4 said:
Hi everyone, sorry to jump in,
but I am curious as to the reduction
I would have thought that it was a great cycle and I think I might hold the 2.5..

Even though Boo didn't go too low, it was a fast drop and he rebounds/bounces pretty badly. Levemir works better when the dose is stepped up from a not-enough dose to a just-right dose. When we see signs of a little too much insulin, which is not just lows below 50 it can be fast drops too, we recommend lowering the dose rather than hanging on and forcing more bounces.

The idea is to get the BGs to stabilize first before raising the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top