Boo needs an increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
hello everyone-

Well,we started off great, but he's leveled out in the 300's (see spreadsheet). He had a horrible day yesterday-I observed him in the litterbox trying to poop several times and eventually he fell down in the box. I scooped him up and took him to the e-vet who gave him an enema, which worked, almost too well! He was pretty stopped up. Unfortunately, he gets extremely stressed going to the vet. He panted and vomited all over the carrier. Not good since he has CHF. He then became exhausted pooping, and eventually just laid down in the litterbox :sad: I took him outside and let him sleep in the grass. he did eat a little dinner last night-On top of all that, his evening Lev was a furshot.

He's feeling better today. He ate his breakfast (he grazes) and will purr every time I touch him. However, he's very tired. :-| Going to add Miralax to his food.

I was trying to do a full curve yesterday before the vet incident. however, by looking at his numbers it seems he needs an increase to 1.25. Do you all agree?

Thx!
 
I'm sorry Boo is having such a hard time. Hope you guys can get things worked out soon. I don't know if it will help or you may already be doing this, but I add 1/4 of water per can of food at meal times directly to the wet food and stir...adds water for lubrication among other things.

Did the vet say anything about Boo being dehydrated? Can you llift scruff and it snaps back or does it sort of stay crumpled? (you probably know all this)

Also- was there any sudden food changes? Is this constipation normal for Boo?

Um- as far as does- my Paul takes time to settle- up to 6 days or so, so for me to make a dose decision inside that time frame is iffy...I would be tempted to hold where you are, test ketones and curve as you can BUT most folks around are a little bit faster in doing things and would probably agree to a dose change for Boo.

As for an entire .25 u, again, I am more into microdosing and so would probably not go that much- but I think most folks around would agree the .25 is proper for Boo.

See what others say- proably have more eyes this evening.

Hang in there! (((hugs)))
 
Wendy and Boo said:
hello everyone-

Well,we started off great, but he's leveled out in the 300's (see spreadsheet). He had a horrible day yesterday-I observed him in the litterbox trying to poop several times and eventually he fell down in the box. I scooped him up and took him to the e-vet who gave him an enema, which worked, almost too well! He was pretty stopped up. Unfortunately, he gets extremely stressed going to the vet. He panted and vomited all over the carrier. Not good since he has CHF. He then became exhausted pooping, and eventually just laid down in the litterbox :sad: I took him outside and let him sleep in the grass. he did eat a little dinner last night-On top of all that, his evening Lev was a furshot.

He's feeling better today. He ate his breakfast (he grazes) and will purr every time I touch him. However, he's very tired. :-| Going to add Miralax to his food.

I was trying to do a full curve yesterday before the vet incident. however, by looking at his numbers it seems he needs an increase to 1.25. Do you all agree?

Thx!


Hi Wendy, I am sorry that Boo is not feeling well right now. I hope he snaps out of it soon. :(

Was he getting these high of numbers before starting the Levemir? I am wondering if maybe he should have started off at .5 unit (I think Ilkka mentioned this in your first post). Although everyone including me hates to go backwards in dose when maybe what he really needs is a dose increase, but it might be prudent to get that out of the way now before we go much further. I sure hate seeing these pinks and reds on his spreadsheet as I know you must too.

Maybe give it a try for a few days and then go from there. For a cat coming out of remission after three years it would seem to me that possibly he might need a smaller dose.

If his numbers get worse rather than better, then maybe increase a little faster according to the tight regulation protocol:

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

"Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl."

But wait and see what the others say. I know my inclination is always to raise the dose so this is going the opposite way for me.

I wonder what is going on with him and his constipation? I read your blog and it looks like you are feeding him raw food according to Lynette's recipe. It is odd that he would block from that.

And I am so sorry for the recent loss of your other kitty Tabby. :(

P.S. Just as a side thought, if you are following Lynette's recipe I am sure you are adding taurine to his food, along with salmon oil?
 
along the lines of feeding the raw- I did the homemade ( Dr. Lisa) recipe....sorry I have not read the blog- I am on dial up and everything takes forever to see, so going on Pamela's comment I am wondering if you are doing the home made recipe if maybe the current batch has too much bone in it?

That could stop 'em up for certain ( too much calcium) and make really hard poops. Of course, again, I am sure you know this, but just trying to help by tossing things out there.

Let us know how things are going.
 
Thank you Melissa and Pamela!

The constipation came out of nowhere... I alternate between raw (hare today +supplements ) and FF, and have always added extra water to both. I don't know what happened! Vet did give him fluids. He's not dehydrated now.

I'll try your suggestions of .5 and will keep you posted-

His numbers were in the high 400's before we started lev. His coat is full of dandruff but he doesn't seem to be drinking as much, even though he has been hanging out in the 300's

Thanks again for your help :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top