? Bodie-increased dose-BS still climbing-LAB RESULTS IN-AMPS 715,+6-745

sadye claxton

Member Since 2020
Link to yesterday's converstation: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bodie-amps-719-pmps-high.248982/#post-2808903

Increased to 2.25 ( a .5u increase from 1.75u ) this am per yesterday's suggestions. His +6 is higher than AMPS! He's eating and not lethargic, purring, pooping, peeing, etc. maybe not as playful as normal. The vet got back to me about his labs we ran Friday 6/18. She said:
"It looks like Bodie’s kidney values are up a little bit and his potassium is low at 2.7 Possibly due to the increase in insulin dosage lately. If we are not already supplementing potassium we can start at 3 to 4 meq twice daily orally. I would also consider giving him some SQ every other day To twice weekly for a couple weeks to see if that helps. I don’t see any obvious reasons for his glucose to be Unregulated."
I asked if SQ fluids were needed today or we could wait until he goes in to see her tomorrow. And asked the same about potassium...get some OTC today? from her tomorrow? Waiting for her reply.
Thoughts? Suggestions? I'm so worried he's been so high for so long. Could the pen be bad? It's only about 3 weeks old, clear, refridgerated and no "floaters"
LAB RESULTS POSTED IN NEW MESSAGE BELOW
 
I’m sure has now suggested you supplement the potassium. I bought NOW brand s it’s n powder form and highly concentrated and I mixed it in my cats’ food. If not eating well I put it in a teaspoon of all protein baby food.
 
I’m sure has now suggested you supplement the potassium. I bought NOW brand s it’s n powder form and highly concentrated and I mixed it in my cats’ food. If not eating well I put it in a teaspoon of all protein baby food.
okay thanks. I see "Potassium Gluconate AND Potassium Chloride"
 
Potassium gluconate. I see they also are testing for proteinuria. Max occasionally had protein in his urine but it would be negative on subsequent labs. Has his blood pressure been checked?
It can take up to three days to see results from an increase or happen quickly. Frustrating I know. :bighug:
 
Potassium gluconate. I see they also are testing for proteinuria. Max occasionally had protein in his urine but it would be negative on subsequent labs. Has his blood pressure been checked?
It can take up to three days to see results from an increase or happen quickly. Frustrating I know. :bighug:
thank you @tiffmaxee I'll go get the Potassium now.I just hope he doesn't end up with permanent damage waiting for his high numbers to come down! Yes, he's had trace amounts of protein and red blood cells in his urine since we've had him. Vet basically said sometimes it happens without a definite reason as to why. We know he's got CKD as well. He's a tough case as we found him on the streets a year ago, neighbors called and told me a cat who had been hit by a car most likely needed my help..turns out I think it was just neuropathy from the uncontrolled diabetes as a street cat. Which actually got better!!! It's just been hard to figure him out! He goes in tomorrow and i'll ask them to check BP and give him SQ fluids. Think it's okay to wait on those until tomorrow? Does b12 help with any of this?? I feel like I need to go in knowing what to ask her to do for him at this point
 
It’s fine to wait until tomorrow. The low red blood count might be helped with B12 and BComplex but ask your vet. The HCT isn’t low so this might be a passing thing though. My vet never bases any decision on be set of labs. He would often retest in a month or more.
 
Back
Top