Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111 + 10 125 PMPS 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

jucova30

Member Since 2014
I just tested him and he is I 44 (I am freaking up) He seems very normal and aware he is asking for food, we just gave him Fancy feast gravy, what else We can do?
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44

Hi, Try not to freak out, breathe and breathe again! :YMHUG: Generally, test every 15-20 min and give 2 tsp HC until above 50. You want to keep checking until there are 2 rising numbers without any food.

For your reference, I copied this from the sticky, Handling Low Numbers, I have that printed out and hung up on my refrigerator door:


First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:

staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44

Hi,

I'm a newby on the Board like you. I've been through this a few times with Clare. You're doing great! Hang in there.
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44

Retest in 15 minutes, and keep giving small amounts of HC gravy - you don't want him to get full and the HC doesn't last very long. You can even just squeeze out the gravy for him to lick. Take a few deep breaths and remember you're in control. If you have anything really sugary - Karo, maple syrup, honey, even sugar water, have it handy just in case he drops more.
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90

Tested again 90
#s for today
AMPS 190 (.50)
+ 7 44
+7.50 90 (with help of karo)
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90

Hi. I'd test again in about a half hour to see if the karo has worn off. If you are okay, I would take off the 911. You can then put it back on if you have another emergency and that way the people watching will know you have a new problem or question. Does that sound okay?

The 90 is a nice number. If Boby stays above 50 on your next test that is safe. Post your numbers as you get them so you can get advice. You are doing great.
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90

tiffmaxee said:
Hi. I'd test again in about a half hour to see if the karo has worn off. If you are okay, I would take off the 911. You can then put it back on if you have another emergency and that way the people watching will know you have a new problem or question. Does that sound okay?

The 90 is a nice number. If Boby stays above 50 on your next test that is safe. Post your numbers as you get them so you can get advice. You are doing great.
Sure Will do it! Thank you to everybody in here!
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111

Tiger and Ruth said:
How is Boby doing?
We just finish testing and he is at 111, he ate a big bowl of his regular food, he is so hungry!
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111

Hi Judy, great job today catching that 44 Bobby gave you. With that number, he earned a dose reduction back to .25U tonight.

We like to put a link to our previous post in so that people can see what was recommended before hand. Here are the previous posts for Bobby, starting with the first post with some history on Health:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=122766
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123105
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123695
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123813
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123918

To link to a previous post, open that previous post and copy the URL address from your web browser. Then go to your current post, select the URL button above, and paste the URL address inside, so it becomes something like:
{url}put your address here[/url}
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111

Thank you so much to everybody for the replies, I know he did drop before to lowers numbers (don't have data) but he has been giving us so much hard time with the BG test, that I only was testing him before shots (not any more), I have been practicing in paper samples of his ears, I think I am getting better on it, I am not hitting the vein like before (I cried so many times)This was a very good lesson for us!
I had to leave the house for 2 hours and before leaving I tested him
+ 10 125
DH was looking at him (but he can't test him). No is almost for his PM shot, do I reduce the dose to .25?
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111 + 10 125 dose a

Judy - my reply just before yours - yes, reduce to .25U tonight! :-D
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111

Wendy&Neko said:
Hi Judy, great job today catching that 44 Bobby gave you. With that number, he earned a dose reduction back to .25U tonight.

We like to put a link to our previous post in so that people can see what was recommended before hand. Here are the previous posts for Bobby, starting with the first post with some history on Health:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=122766
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123105
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123695
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123813
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123918

To link to a previous post, open that previous post and copy the URL address from your web browser. Then go to your current post, select the URL button above, and paste the URL address inside, so it becomes something like:
{url}put your address here[/url}
Thank you Wendy! I was asking for this info and you already gave me it, Thank you a lot!
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111 + 10 125 dose a

great job catching the 44 today, judy. that does show the importance of getting mid-cycle tests - you wouldn't have wanted him to get lower.

yes, definitely reduce the dose tonight.
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111 + 10 125 PMPS 1

PMPS 109 (.25 u) Dose reduction
He appears nauseated (sticking out his tongue like liking his lips) but he is eating and hungry, by now I know he is constipated (again) He is not eating his food if I put Miralax on it, tonight we have to give with a bit of water and Miralax in a syringe. Getting ready to test the +2
 
Re: Boby AMPS 190 +7 44 + 7.50 90 + 8.25 111 + 10 125 PMPS 1

I mix the miralax in a spoonful of all meat baby food and Max eats it every time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top