Bobbie's Readings. Updated 7 / 14 reading Feedback Please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky56

Member Since 2011
This morning when I got up, Bobbie was already up(as opposed to hiding under the bed the past few days.) Acting more like herself- chasing a fly, playing with a piece of paper. We haven't seen much playfulness lately.

Ended up having to get my husband to wrap her in a towel to check her sugar, so I think she is feeling better. I was worried she was feeling bad because her sugar was high, now I am wondering if the opposite is true.

So we got a reading this morning. She is at 66 and has not eaten yet.
Shoud I feed canned or dry friskies?

I suppose i need to test after she eats? How long? And how high should she be before I decide to give her a shot? Or should I just give her one at the lower dose of 2?
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

That is a great number and a non-diabetic number. Remember, N is short duration insulin and if she is at 66 this a.m., I would feed her only canned, HOLD OFF on giving any insulin, and then see what she is tonight. If she was needing insulin, she would have been much, much higher this morning with that N insulin. Please, do not give her any. Even if she goes up some after eating, give her pancreas time to bring those numbers down without insulin. Today will tell you a lot if you do not give insulin.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

Hi Becky,

66 is a nondiabetic number especially if she hasn't eaten. Personally I would feed her the canned Friskies, of course none of my cats get dry food, so I always defer to the canned. :-D Plus if she is a diet controlled diabetic then you don't want to load her down with carbs that are in the dry food.

We usually advise newbies like yourself not to give insulin unless you get a reading of 200 or above. And from the readings you are getting your cat doesn't need insulin at all if she continues to have those lovely numbers.

If you want to test out if she has a working pancreas, you can test, feed, wait 2 hours and test again, if she comes down on her own or stays about the same, her pancreas is working just fine, and no need for insulin.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

Becky, was she diagnosed with a fructosamine test or a simple blood glucose test?
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

Just a blood glucose. He drew it from a vein in her arm both times. And he had a difficult time the second time as they were collapsing from her previous IVs.

She is eating right now. How long do y'all recommend I wait to test again?
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

She wasn't high at dx and along with stress of getting the blood and pancreatitis, once she was home and feeling better and get some insulin her numbers seem to have gone back to NON-DIABETIC numbers. Give her at least 2-3 hrs. after eating this a.m. to test and give pancreas time to work and see if her numbers go back down on their own. Please understand that she may have gone into remission and will not need insulin. With N insulin you shouldn't even think about shooting till the bg is at least 200.

She may have been showing signs at the vet but he should have run a fructosamine and checked her urine to see if there was glucose in it also.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Please Advise

ok. we'll be checking in about an hour to see where she is.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated W/ noon testing.

Ok, she ate 1/2 can classic pate at 10 am and I just checked her. No shot this morning and her sugar was 76 just now.

I plan to feed her canned mid afternoon and evening and will check this evening. Should I check before or after she eats tonight?
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated W/ noon testing.

Check her this evening before her normal shot time, before she eats, but from those numbers unless she really shoots up this evening, especially on N with is avery short acting insulin with no overlap, I would highly suspect that she won't be needing insulin as long as she is on a low carb/high protein diet.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated W/ noon testing.

Ditto everything that Mel wrote you. Sometimes removing all dry food can have a drastic change in numbers so don't question this.......be thankful it is doing it for Bobbie dancing_cat
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated W/ evening testing.

Her appetite is getting back to normal and she is beginning to act that way also!

She ate about a half can of food at 10. Just tested and she is at 110. So no shot, right?
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated W/ evening testing.

Definitely......no shot. Good job......sounds like Bobbie is heading for remission or already in it.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated 7 / 14 reading

This morning I gave her a whole can of food and she ate a little over half. I tested 1 1/2 hour later and she is at 135.

I suppose my big question now is- do I continue to feed and check a couple times a day?

As long as she is under 200 should I not give her a shot?

After a couple weeks of readings under 200. how frequently should I check her sugar to make sure she is staying in normal range?

We will be taking a 4 day trip out of town in about 3 weeks. I have a neighbor that takes care of her so she can check her sugar if she needs to while we are gone. If she is still testing normal the day we leave, will she need to be checked while we are gone? We will leave on a Thur and return the following Monday.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated 7 / 14 reading Feedback Pleas

Just test her in the a.m. and p.m. before feeding for a week and see what the numbers are. Doesn't matter if she goes up some after eating......what does matter would be numbers over 200 later in the day because that would mean pancreas isn't fully working and bringing the numbers down.

You have time before your trip to see if she will ever need any insulin but for now, no shooting if under 200 and if over, maybe try 1 unit of N but test during the day. At this point, even 1 unit might be too much. time will tell.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated 7 / 14 reading Feedback Pleas

Forgot to add........remember.......no dry food.....it'll shoot her right back up and be harder on the pancreas.
 
Re: Bobbie's Readings. Updated 7 / 14 reading Feedback Pleas

Thanks. Nope, only canned food now.

So happy here, we seem to have our old girl back. today for the first time since all this started she has been playing and she is the one that is initiating it! I was sewing this afternoon at the dining room table. She hopped right up and laid down in the middle of my fabric and played with the scraps I dangled for her. Then my daughter came in and she played with her too. Her pretty green eyes were so bright and alert.... :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top