Blue PMPS 199 decrease .50/298 +1

Status
Not open for further replies.
HI Jeanne,
Thank you so much for alerting Nan yesterday. I'm not sure how all this works on this site but you seem to know where to get help. I see you all over the place. :bighug:

I have a few questions. Blue is at 111 now but how far down can he get. I think at 90 they decreased his dose previously. So is the level he should be between 90 and what? Green and Blue is the goal? I thought it was 70-170 so just want to make sure I'm looking at this correctly. I do think he's finally adjusting to the insulin. Thank goodness.
 
Human meters read lower than vet meters so you can’t go by the lab numbers. You want to feed him a little lc to try and prevent a reduction as he’s doing well at this dose. I would feed some mc actually. It’s early and this will be an active cycle I think.
 
Last edited:
If you haven’t printed out the yellow stickies in handling low numbers and preshots please do.
 
Last edited:
9CD2A85D-9A87-490E-A503-E0C4DE8C37CA.jpeg

Still sleeping on the baby scale.
 

Attachments

  • 9CD2A85D-9A87-490E-A503-E0C4DE8C37CA.jpeg
    9CD2A85D-9A87-490E-A503-E0C4DE8C37CA.jpeg
    70.7 KB · Views: 183
Nice numbers today again!

I think it's a great idea to switch to TR now that Blue is seeing these kinds of numbers. It gives you much more room for him to spend time in those healing greens (when he gets there).

Love the pic of him sleeping in the scale!!!!
 
That's fine. If he needs more carbs and isn't hungry later, the honey is great-- you can smear a little on his gums and it gets absorbed quickly.

Guess Blue was in a hurry to earn his first TR reduction!


It looks that way :arghh: Just when I thought he was getting adjusted...:facepalm:

I'll post as soon as I test again. I was going to mention he's eating out of control. He never ate much before being diagnosed but since, wow he's eating or wanting to constantly.
 
Great! No more snacks for now (sorry, Blue!), test again in 30mins to see if he can maintain it.

Was he acting hungry earlier, before that +6? A lot of cats will instinctively go after food when they feel themselves going low (nice safety mechanism!).
 
Great! No more snacks for now (sorry, Blue!), test again in 30mins to see if he can maintain it.

Was he acting hungry earlier, before that +6? A lot of cats will instinctively go after food when they feel themselves going low (nice safety mechanism!).

He wants to eat anytime I walk into the kitchen so yes, he whined for food when I'd walk by but this isn't unusual for him right now.

I'll post as soon as I test again.
 
I guess by feeding him MC I thought he'd start going back up. I couldn't have been more shocked to see 48 on the meter. I'll be more vigilant in future. Scared me.
You are learning. :D When the +2 is lower than the PMPS It’s usually a signal that he will possibly go lower and more tests are needed. So if his pancreas is starting to make a comeback eating at shot time will cause him to drop 2-3 hours later. Insulin does the same thing when on a good dose. If the reduction fails we will just take him back up after the likely bounce clears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top