Blue PMPS 197

Status
Not open for further replies.
The +2 can be an indicator of an active cycle. The emphasis is on "can be."

This is what an active cycle might look like.
From The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
We reduced and he’s not bounced for long and part of that was the hc. Max would indicate if a cycle would be active at +3. Blue won’t eat on his own so you can’t just leave food out. FD can be exhausting especially at first. That’s why I keep saying you need an earlier shot time.

I used to leave dry food out and he grazed on it. The problem is the others want to graze on it too. Maybe I'll look for another low carb dry that everycat can eat.
 
It would be easier to find a food they all can eat. It’s hard to find with different medical issues though. What can the others eat?

I think they might be ok with a low carb but the brand I bought caused diarrhea. I wasn't able to mix but maybe I can now that I'm separating them. Eventually, I could leave food out and Blue could graze again. Yakkkk it's crazy around here. They are all seniors with issues but not like Blue. Diabetes is serious.
 
Hi Elise,

Sorry you didn't sleep so well. :bighug:

Good morning. Coffee on board now. I didn’t sleep well last night so it was needed. Just a heads that I will be away starting at +3.5 for possibly 3 hours. I’ll check in when I’m able but just won’t be able to hang out.

How long till +3.5, Elise? (Brain can't handle the time zone thang. It's 17:00 BST here as I post this.) Let me know and I'll keep an eye on Patty and Blue.


Mogs
.
 
Hi guys,
Sorry about bad sleep. It definitely can impact the day. Thanks for the backup.

Blue just tested 181 and I updated the SS. I have PT at 2:00 today and it's 12:30 here now. I'm so happy Blue is feeling so good. I noticed a few things. When his numbers start to rise he seems to just lay down and not move. His pupils are very dilated. I'm not sure if this is normal or not. He has been out and about more and is tipping things over more and more when numbers are low.
Should I test again this afternoon?
 
When his numbers start to rise he seems to just lay down and not move. His pupils are very dilated. I'm not sure if this is normal or not.
Higher numbers can make a cat quite lethargic and not feel very well.

Hypos can also sometimes make a cat lethargic.

Caninsulin made Saoirse very lethargic for hours at a time. For the early part of her treatment I got outright hostility towards my desire to home test from the vets at the practice we were registered with at the time. There was no way for me to distinguish whether or not she was in low numbers and whether she might need honey to raise her numbers. I was sick with fear.

When I started home testing, my fear of hurting Saoirse's little ears was utterly eclipsed by my dread of giving her an insulin dose that might harm her. (((Saoirse))) The relief of knowing that I could test her BG levels any time I had even the slightest concern about her was overwhelming.


Mogs
.
 
How do I tag you on here?
Just stick @Critter Mom in a post.

NB: Tags have been hit 'n' miss on occasion lately so I'll be monitoring your thread for updates as well, but the tag might get to me faster if I'm looking at another thread when you first get back.

I'm going to tag you in this post - @Patty and Blue - and you should get a notification in your 'Alerts'.

Hope the PT goes well. Keep safe. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Depends on the cycle, e.g. in a 'quiet' cycle where the cat has a fairly flat series of readings in a range the cat is used to there's nothing to trigger a bounce, or the cat may dip into less familiar numbers in a more active cycle and then their numbers head north for a while in response to the body's self-protection mechanisms kicking in.

It also depends on the cat: some are fonder of their trampolines than others. Blue seems to clear his bounces quite quickly thus far (anti-jinx!). Some cats head up to the gods and stay there for the best part of 3 days!!!
icon_eek.gif


.
 
Last edited:
Depends on the cycle, e.g. a 'quiet' cycle where the cat has a fairly flat series of readings in a range the cat is used to, in which case there's nothing to trigger a bounce, or the cat may dip into less familiar numbers in a more active cycle and then their numbers head north for a while in response to the body's self-protection mechanisms kicking in.

It also depends on the cat: some are fonder of their trampolines than others. Blue seems to clear his bounces quite quickly thus far (anti-jinx!). Some cats head up to the gods and stay there for the best part of 3 days!!!
icon_eek.gif


.

So will this always happen for the rest of his life? I’m thinking you can probably see the signs eventually but do you still have to test a lot? What’s the ideal or level where they should be?
So full of questions.....
 
Cats and FD just don’t make sense. With humans and dogs too I believe, feed them the same and they stabilize. Cats aren’t like that. Carbs work to bring them up but you can feed exactly the same day and night and the cycles won’t necessarily be the same. The good thing about cats is they can go into remission.

Once you have eniugh data you can kind of predict what will happen from the +2-3 test. Blue has actually gone down at night giving you low amps numbers. He hasn’t been on a constant dose for enough days. That’s because he earned reductions. When that happens the count starts over. The fact that he earned reductions so soon is a very good sign. He also was dosed too high and at different levels. Lantus likes consistency.

It’s best to try and feed most of the food in a cycle during the first half. That might help the PMPS numbers to go down.
 
Cats and FD just don’t make sense. With humans and dogs too I believe, feed them the same and they stabilize. Cats aren’t like that. Carbs work to bring them up but you can feed exactly the same day and night and the cycles won’t necessarily be the same. The good thing about cats is they can go into remission.

Once you have eniugh data you can kind of predict what will happen from the +2-3 test. Blue has actually gone down at night giving you low amps numbers. He hasn’t been on a constant dose for enough days. That’s because he earned reductions. When that happens the count starts over. The fact that he earned reductions so soon is a very good sign. He also was dosed too high and at different levels. Lantus likes consistency.

It’s best to try and feed most of the food in a cycle during the first half. That might help the PMPS numbers to go down.

That makes a lot of sense. He was definitely prescribed to much insulin and I feel more comfortable at this level. We see vet again week after next.
Oh, and Blue wants my people food suddenly. He’s like a dog trying to climb into my plate to eat. Very strange because he has never done this. :cat:
 
No. Sorry. I know I keep saying it but shooting so late the feeding schedule is so off. If he eats dinner 2 1/2 hours before PMPS it’s messing with the cycles. It makes him high at night. It’s best for most of his food to be eaten during the first half of the cycle. That’s one reason why his preshots are high. I shot at 6:00. I think most give it at 6 or 7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top