Blue AMPS 461 9/16

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Patty,

Our kitties sure know how to put us to shame at times, don't they!

Sorry I'm so late checking in with you two today (hypo watch last night till after 7am local time). I hope the day goes well with you. Fingers 'n' paws crossed for the new dose...

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Hypo watch for someone here? Your baby is doing okay?
New member Christina's little one, Kitty Cat, was throwing ketones at the beginning of the week (caught in time, thankfully - hadn't been eating properly, most likely due to constipation and a GI upset from the diet transition) and he went low the night before last. There was a bit of a meter test strip crisis in the middle of the run. Christina's grandma saved the day with her meter and supply of strips. Managed to get Kitty Cat to stay up in safe numbers after eating some high carb dry (all that was available at the time). He's now up in the rafters between the bounce and the carb fest.

Thank you for asking after the Noodle, Patty. She has been up and down. I'm starting to better spot times when her blood pressure is high. When she's back in the normal range it's like getting my cat back. Apparently it takes 7 days to reach a steady state level of the BP med (amlodipine), and you have to wait 14 days before adjusting the dose. At least this time round the anti-nausea meds are helping the Noodle keep the BP med down, but I think it's still upsetting her digestive system a bit (side effects are supposed to be transient - hope so!).

Hope your day is going well. I see his nibs is swinging from the chandelier again. Fingers and paws crossed that he'll come in to land a bit when the depot for the new dose gets established.

(((Patty and Blue)))


Mogs
.
 
New member Christina's little one, Kitty Cat, was throwing ketones at the beginning of the week (caught in time, thankfully - hadn't been eating properly, most likely due to constipation and a GI upset from the diet transition) and he went low the night before last. There was a bit of a meter test strip crisis in the middle of the run. Christina's grandma saved the day with her meter and supply of strips. Managed to get Kitty Cat to stay up in safe numbers after eating some high carb dry (all that was available at the time). He's now up in the rafters between the bounce and the carb fest.


That's frightening. I know when Blue goes too low I jump into action but I've neverhad to deal with keytines. How would I know if Blue had them?

Thank you for asking after the Noodle, Patty. She has been up and down. I'm starting to better spot times when her blood pressure is high. When she's back in the normal range it's like getting my cat back. Apparently it takes 7 days to reach a steady state level of the BP med (amlodipine), and you have to wait 14 days before adjusting the dose. At least this time round the anti-nausea meds are helping the Noodle keep the BP med down, but I think it's still upsetting her digestive system a bit (side effects are supposed to be transient - hope so!).


I don't even know how you'd measure BP? It used to be very difficult for my vet to get a reading on one of mine. That's been a long time ago. Is there a new device to help?
(((the Noodle)))
 
That's frightening. I know when Blue goes too low I jump into action but I've neverhad to deal with keytines. How would I know if Blue had them?

Most commonly urine is checked for ketones, but you can get blood beta ketone meters which work the same way as glucometers.

From the Forum FAQs:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/


I don't even know how you'd measure BP? It used to be very difficult for my vet to get a reading on one of mine. That's been a long time ago. Is there a new device to help?

http://www.petmap.com/petMAPgII.html


I bought mine several years ago for megawonga but, according to the Hypertension page on Tanya's Site, there are much more affordable oscillometric meters available now.

Have passed on the hug to the Noodle. She says, "Prrrrr..." I'm under instructions to send some scritches to your beautiful Bluebird.



And this is for you >>> :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Most commonly urine is checked for ketones, but you can get blood beta ketone meters which work the same way as glucometers.

From the Forum FAQs:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/




http://www.petmap.com/petMAPgII.html



I bought mine several years ago for megawonga but, according to the Hypertension page on Tanya's Site, there are much more affordable oscillometric meters available now.

Have passed on the hug to the Noodle. She says, "Prrrrr..." I'm under instructions to send some scritches to your beautiful Bluebird.




And this is for you >>> :bighug:


Mogs
.


Thanks.
Tanya's site is the one I used for my cats. It was great. They have come a long way since I was on there.
I'm glad you're able to test BP at home. Sure makes it easier. How is your baby today?

I'm still reading about the keytones so thanks for the information. I'm not really understanding yet if this is something I should worry about for Blue. I'll keep reading.

Where did you get the emoji? It's so cute.

I guess I should start a new thread just in case I have issues later....look for me. :D
 
Want emojis? Fill yer boots at this site:

http://www.sherv.net/brown.cat-emoticon-2308.html

On ketones, it doesn't do any harm to do regular spot checks but it's much more important if: numbers are on the high side; certain situations arise where the insulin dose needs to be reduced (not day-to-day dose reductions adjustments); a cat is having eating difficulties; the cat is dealing with infection, inflammation or other systemic stressor.

Some cats seem to be more prone to throwing ketones than others. Ketone development can sometimes be more of an issue for cats who are underweight.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top