Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Morning.
    Blue is eating and I shot at 9:00 so inching up time. I'll get a +3 unless I need to test earlier.
    I'm going to check on the freeze dried chicken treats to see carbs. That's the only suspect in
    Blue's increase, unless there is a FF classic that's higher than another.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Patty! :)

    I see your boy has been swinging from the chandelier again. ;)

    The treats should be fine carb-wise if they're just freeze dried meat.

    +3 should be fine for the next test unless you spot anything odd in Blue's behaviour.

    Glad you're managing to nudge up your schedule a bit.


    Mogs
    .
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Freeze dried chicken doesn’t contain carbs. Which brand? A +3 is fine. The ff flavors do have various carb levels. It’s hard but try not to get down when his bg is up. It takes time. Look at the whole cat. He’s been feeling better. He’s more than a number. His numbers will come down. If after a week he’s still getting high numbers we will increase his dose. That’s how long it takes to check what this dose is doing. If he stops eating dry food we could move faster but you have your other cats to consider and it can mean a lot more testing. At this point I think you should follow the protocol. :bighug: BTW you aren’t getting hi readings!:) Lantus is dosed on how low it’s taking him, not on how high he is at shot time.
     
  4. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes, I get emotional with each number, but Blue is feeling better. The freeze dried chicken is Instinct. I'm ordering a different brand on Chewy but wanted something I knew Blue would eat because he's not a big eater. My other cats are having more issues with the FF and did better on the American Journey. I'll place another order today.
    Yes, I'm at 9:00 now! It's easy to get off schedule...:arghh:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ve used Pure Bites freeze dried. I even at one point was buying human cans of freeze dried by the pound! It was cheaper but couldn’t use it up fast enough.
     
  6. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Checked on the Instinct raw boost mixers that I gave Blue and evidently it has fruit an veg in it and carbs are 24%. No wonder his BG went up.
    I'll look for the Pure bites.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. You need 100% meat. That explains a lot, lol. Now we see what the .75 plus low carbs can do.
     
  8. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I had no idea. They say freeze-dried chicken. I reordered American Journey minced and pate. Both are Lc. I also ordered Purebites.
    He is feeling better so I can tell his BG is probably lower. He’s snuggling with me and kissing my face.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Ha ha! Contraband. :smuggrin:

    .
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ah, have a part Siamese that kisses my face too. Makes all this worthwhile. She has skin allergies. I bought some dry food as possible treats on line. Dr. Elsey’s. One said chicken. The other said salmon. The salmon had chicken in the ingredients. I gave it to a friend. My two are spoiled and weren’t the least bit interested in the dry anyhow.
     
  11. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    There's one thing worse than a black or a red: a low green ... :eek: :nailbiting:

    They'll be a good addition to Blue's hypo toolkit. It's a good idea to put a wee label showing the carb value on all the toolkit foods and treats - easier to just glance at the label and grab something with the right carb profile when you're anxious and in a hurry.



    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    What a great idea. I'll label today.

    The FF I think might be what brought the diarrhea
    back because I didn't give them any of Blue's high protein dry food. Such a juggling act.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Siamese are the sweetest cats. One of my cats from my first cat family was part Siamese and when I had a chance to adopt Blue and Layla I jumped on it. A local rescue had them and their mother died so they are bottle babies.
     
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'd love a meezer.

    .
     
  15. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Looks like you have to read ingredients carefully when you have sick babies.
     
  16. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    You can't go wrong! Blue follows me everywhere. If you want a cat like that for sure get a meezer.
     
    Maddie Mouse and Critter Mom like this.
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You're getting the hang of this alright, my girl! :cat:


    .
     
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I lurve velcro cats! :cat:

    The Noodle isn't quite in Blue's league, but she normally follows me upstairs to the bathroom. She wasn't so well over the last few weeks and she stopped doing that. I missed it so much. :( The last couple of days she has started doing it again some of the time. I hope it's a sign she's feeling better.

    Lúnasa has always been quite a sing-y cat, which I really like, but you should hear her when it comes to litter box activities. All her life she has been of the firm opinion that the whole world needs to be immediately informed every time she poops. :rolleyes:


    Mogs
    .
     
  19. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Haha that's funny. I do have Teddy who runs a marathon after a good poop. Cars are funny.

    I grew up with a dog. My dad always said he was allergic to cats. He just didn't like them. Payback was when he came to visit and a cat would invariably sit on him.

    Are your cats older?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  20. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That handsome devil to my left was part MEEZER what a cat! I could write a book about his adventures. :rolleyes:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  21. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He is handsome. Forever in our hearts
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Similar story with a few of my cats. Why do they do that? :confused:

    There's only Lúnasa now. She had her fourteenth birthday some time in the first fortnight of August.

    And some people say cats have no sense of humour! :smuggrin:

    .
     
  23. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    For info, Lúnasa and The Noodle are one and the same cat (the latter monicker being one of her cherished names).


    .
     
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    CUZ IT FEEEELS SOOOOO GOOOD
     
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    How long till your +3 test, Patty?

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    How do you know???? [​IMG]

    On second thoughts, perhaps don't answer that.

    :D

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    99D2920A-232F-4716-A2E7-77408064E5DA.jpeg 5E4AB6BE-725F-4DA2-AC50-75C4A35485A0.jpeg These are my two siblings. The more talkative one does not look like a Siamese but clearly has some in her.
     
  28. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I just tested and it's 414... Strange but he seems ok whereas previously he's been very lethargic
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    They are so beautiful. Do they follow you around?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think you need another test for another three hours or more. It just might be a bounce day. We call that a save some strips day. You have time to do whatever you want.
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh yes. Mocha, the Siamese looking has learned at a very young age to open doors. I have to supervise if I let them in my kitchen and living room because Chai, her sister, will eat all kinds of things. She likes cotton, plants , etc. so I lock the door. She ponds on it if I’m in that part of my condo and they know I’m home. . They both follow me around at different times.
     
  32. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yep you can tell a meezer when they talk to ya!
     
  33. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    So cute. I guess they get along? Are they littermates or sisters from another mother? Siamese are so smart!
     
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Perfect name for her, Elise.

    They're both beautiful. (((Mocha and Chai)))

    .
     
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    They are litter mates. They were found on the streets together just about 8 weeks old at the time.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  36. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Didn't even register...it’s precious. Love the names.
     
  37. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'll be back later. Nice to get to know you guys and furkids.
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I can’t take responsibility for the names. They came to me with them. Failed fosters. By the time I decided to keep them couldn’t think of better names. I’m going to get moving as well. See you all later.
     
  39. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    It's lovely to get to know you guys too, Patty. :)

    Hope all is OK. I've not been able to access the forum for the past while. Don't know whether it was a UK outage or whether it affected all members.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Same on this side of the puddle.
     
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    They changed servers. Maybe you tried while that was happening? It’s secure now.
     
  42. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Could well be, Elise.

    (Outages always give me the wibbles, in case anyone might be in an emergency situation at the time. :nailbiting: )


    .
     
  43. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    It happened to me briefly yesterday.

    Sorry to hijack the thread.
     
  44. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I haven't had any problems but have been offline since 12 and it's now 3.
    I just tested again and it's down a little to 367. I hate to give him food with it being this high and not close to shot time.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  45. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    He needs his grub, Patty. Try not to worry. It's just one cycle. :bighug:

    .
     
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Also lc should not have much of an effect.
     
  47. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Thanks...he didn't eat very much anyway. He really seems pretty good today. He is napping now but that's normal. I guess I should test another time before the PMPS?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think you can hold off until PMPS. That’s at 9:30 your time, right?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  49. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes, I found another can of the American Journey so that was good. I

    t's storming here so I'm going to sign off until the thunder and lightning stops.
     
  50. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020

    Actually I'm at 9 as of this morning. I can wait if you think.
     
  51. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No the earlier the better. You shot at 9 this morning, correct?
     
  52. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'm back on my phone. My laptop needed charged and didn't want to be hit by lightning.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  53. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok good. I’ll check in at PMPS. Stay safe.
     
  55. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I won't be around tonight, Patty (need to take sleep meds.) I'm glad that Elise will be looking in on you two.

    Fingers and paws crossed that the storm will pass quickly and without incident. Keep safe, and I'll catch up with you on the morrow. Please give some scritches to your boy for me.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  56. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Thank you. Have a good night.
     
  57. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    They are! I love how talkative they are too! Our boy Marlin (GA) used to talk every time he saw us and I swear he mastered how to say 'hello' LOL. I'm sure he was part siamese :cat:
    IMG_20170927_191942_848.jpg
     
  58. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh, he’s gorgeous.
     
  59. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    338 He's been consistently high today.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  60. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What comes up will come down. I would still get a +2 or +3.
     
  61. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Stick with the .75 a while longer?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  62. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Definitely. With SLGS you hold for a week.
     
  63. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Okay, Just gave him his shot. I don't know what I'd do without this site and you guys to guide me. I would have probably killed him by now or spent a bunch of money at ER.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  64. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    These are my two...Blue and Layla. They remind me of your sibs. 5BDA65E6-8D7C-4682-B278-DED99E4AFF71.jpeg
     
  65. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh so cute. Yes they do ! Members here before me used to talk about the 5 p’s to remind everyone that our cats are more than numbers. I know purring and preening are two but can’t recall the rest. Oh yes playing. What are the other two? Any ideas?
     
  66. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I haven't heard that before.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  67. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Probably posing and I don't know pooping? LOL that probably is not it.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s going to drive me crazy until someone comes up with it or I remember.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  69. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Now you have me thinking about it. Think someone here has heard of it previously?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  70. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Purring, playing, preening, peeing and pooing.
     
  71. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I cheated and googled. It took me to FD site in 2012...purring, playing, preening, peeing and pooping. It's normal cat habits that people here wanted to see in their cats and looked for I guess. Sorry, inquiring minds. :)

    I'm setting my alarm and will test +3. If he's down should I test again?
     
  72. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Thanks. I wanted it for you. Blue scored 5/5.
     
  73. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Now I'm having trouble with the site. It doesn't post and then it keeps posting the same post. yak

    He really is doing so much better even with the higher scores today. Thank you again.
     
  74. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There’s something wrong. Double posting etc.
     
  75. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  76. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Copy and paste your text. Then hit "Post Reply." Wait a minute or so, then refresh your browser and look for your post.
    If the post is not there, refresh again. If still no post, paste your text and try again. Such fun.
    There's been something amuck lately.
     
  77. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'll say. Now how did I get italic. hahaha I'm doing great. Thanks for the tip.
     
  78. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I just lost a post. I'm going to lay down and set alarm in case I do go to sleep. I'll post Blue's BG at 12 my time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  79. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Love the cat floof in your picture. Adorable.
     
  80. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Thank you. I miss getting my hands on that belly.
     
  81. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  82. Maddie Mouse

    Maddie Mouse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Or a Bur-meezer :D Maddie spends most of the day glued to my leg while I sit on the bed working on my laptop (the only way I get any peace!)

    My very first kitty was a Siamese, and I'd like to get one again - but not while Maddie is still around. She's deeply - and needlessly - jealous of our civvie cat Tilly (a Somali), who is very much a daddy's girl and only sees me as a source of breakfast.
     
  83. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  84. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh no, I messed up again. I was supposed to wait 20 minutes and retest right? I freaked and gave him food to try to bring it up. OMG
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  85. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Beautiful photo, Patty. Blue grew up to be very handsome! :cat:

    Here's a song for your girl...



    Prefer this to the original. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  86. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Get outta my head Mogs!!!!:p:D:smuggrin::bighug:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  87. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    :p

    There are worse places I could be, Jeanne. :woot: ;)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  88. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    LOL trUDAT!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page