Blue AMPS 402 10/12

Status
Not open for further replies.
Another thing I thought about is Dt. Bruno ask me 3 separate times if Blue got down to 44 yesterday. I think he was shocked he would go that low on such a small dose.
 
I think many general practice vets don't see anything like the volume of data we see here, Patty, and many diabetic pet parents only loosely regulate their animals, relying on periodic curves to check dose safety. If those curves are vet-run then they are likely to be influenced by stress - less chance of seeing lower numbers (and also being prescribed higher doses).

How are you holding up?

:bighug:

.
 
Blue's without doubt a soul cat, Patty. I can relate.

(((Blue)))

I'm sure they'll look after him very, very well for you, Patty. Sounds like his main doctor has a major soft spot for your boy.

And not one single word I can say is going to stop you worrying, is it? ;)

Keeping you both in my prayers. Please keep us updated: we're worrying along with you.

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I'm worried. He's special to me. I love them all but he's always had my heart.
I know exactly what you mean when you say he's special Patty
Tyler is my diabetic and I love him dearly
His brother Perry was my heart kitty, he had kidney disease and I had to let him go
last week. So I know exactly what you mean
Patty he will be ok ,he will recover and be home with you waiting for lots of kisses
Prayers are still coming ♥♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know exactly what you mean when you say he's special Patty
Tyler is my diabetic and I love him dearly
His brother Perry was my heart kitty, he had kidney disease and I had to let him go
last week. So I know exactly what you mean
Patty he will be ok ,he will recover and be home with you waiting for lots of kisses
Prayers are still coming ♥♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm so sorry about your Perry. I'm sure you're still in pain. It's always difficult losing our babies. :bighug:
 
Blue's without doubt a soul cat, Patty. I can relate.

(((Blue)))

I'm sure they'll look after him very, very well for you, Patty. Sounds like his main doctor has a major soft spot for your boy.

And not one single word I can say is going to stop you worrying, is it? ;)

Keeping you both in my prayers. Please keep us updated: we're worrying along with you.

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.

I wish I could say I wasn't worrying but I am trying not to. I'm sure he's on an IV and pain meds by now. I'll check on him in the morning. I hope he doesn't have to stay again but I think he needs to be on this IV for two days. As long as he's better I'll feel better too.
Thanks to you and everyone for being here for me.
:bighug:
 
It is possible that an infection is raising his bg. Are the antibiotics for what you have been treating already? Poor Blue. Take it a day at a time but know he's getting the best care there is IV antibiotics are needed. I wonder if he was not on the correct ones all this time.:bighug:


Dr. Bruno doesn't want him on antibiotics by mouth. I'm not sure if it made the problem worse or not. I hope to learn more tomorrow. I have wondered why if he's taking these meds why doesn't he get better. In the middle of all this he was diagnosed with diabetes. I don't want to think the other vet made a mistake but I'm kind of leaning that way.
Thanks for helping me through yesterday along with Mogs. :bighug:
 
Give 'em a ring, Patty. The vet might not be available to give you a full update till later, but it's a very human thing to want to ask the general staff how your beautiful boy got on overnight. I'm sure they'll understand that.

I'm worrying along with you. Got a massive soft spot for your Bluebird. :nailbiting:

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.

Thanks for giving me permission. I guess that's what I needed, a little push. He's up eating and drinking and seems to be feeling a little better. This was a technician but a doctor will call me when one of them is free. I feel better now.
Still wish he were home. I miss that boy!
Thank you and I'll keep you posted. :bighug:
 
He's up eating and drinking and seems to be feeling a little better.
:cat:

Very glad to hear this, and good that you're feeling a bit better for the positive update, Patty.

Will check back later (going back to bed - cold isn't shifting and fatigue's really bad).

Fingers and paws crossed that Blue will be back home with you before long (with plenty of supportive meds so you can continue his treatment as needed at home!).

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I called to check in Bluebird and Dr. Bruno will still call me with an in-depth update. In the meantime, they are monitoring him closely as well as taking a BG reading hourly.
He's doing ”okay” is what I was told. That wasn't reassuring to me. I look forward to talking with Dr. Bruno. I'll update after I speak with him.
 
Dr. Bruno called and Blue is doing well. He's keeping him another night. He is monitoring his BG closely and he wants him to get 1 unit once a day. He wants him to stay around 200. He said he'd explain it tomorrow. He said less stress and more rest. Siamese are predisposed to pancreatitis and he feels he's had low grade for a while. He’s on fluids, antibiotics and something for pain. He's eating well. That's about it. I’m not sure why he wants Blue to have insulin only once a day but should know more tomorrow.
All I know is I miss my Blue. Hoping he'll be home tomorrow. Thanks for being here and going through this with me. :bighug:
 
No. That's why I hate leaving him. There's an animal hospital close but I’d have to pay a lot more.
It's an ER and hospital and you pay $350 just to walk in the door. They do have specialists there.
I'm sure he’ll be fine but still hard.
 
Last edited:
Glad to hear that Blue's doing well, but I can relate to how very much you're missing him, Patty. Please God, he'll be back home with you soon.

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:

(Sorry for not replying sooner - feeling really sick. :( )


Mogs
.

Mogs, I'm worried about you. This has been going on a while now. You should be getting better.
Do you have a doctor you could call?
I hate you are so sick. Don't worry about us. Just take care of yourself. :bighug:
 
Update: He gets to come home today. I pick him up at 5:15. No news yet on aftercare but Dr. Bruno will call.

I was researching the one shot of insulin. I'm not sure his reasoning for this. It doesn't sound like something that's done very much.
 
I’m glad he’s coming home! Lantus only works for 12 hours with cats. If he gets one shot a day I think he will bounce around a lot and not stay under renal threshold. I suspect that your vet thinks you can’t give the small doses we give accurately. Max was about as sensitive a cat as one can find but he never minded tests and he was tightly controlled and had chronic pancreatitis. I think 200 might make sense on a pet meter but not on a human meter. If you do this I would get a fructosamine test in a few weeks to see if he’s controlled.
 
Hi Patty!

Great news that your Bluebird will be home soon! :cat: I know how much you're missing him.

I, too, am very curious about what your vet's reasoning is on the single insulin dose per day. To me, it especially doesn't make sense with a depot insulin, and even less sense with a cat as bouncy as Blue is. If he advises dosing at 1IU once a day then, in simplified terms, it will be too much insulin for 12 hours a day and not enough for the other 12 (and it will play havoc with the depot).

Keep safe when you're out and and about, Patty. Blue's going to be so happy to be back with his mama. :)

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Those are exactly my thoughts. When he called yesterday he asked again about the 44 and thought it was a fluke. I assured him it was not because of all the numbers that came after. He asked about the meter I was using and how I was testing. I guess he doesn't have many people that do this. He is an old vet so maybe not up to date on the new approach to treatment of diabetes in cats. Also, maybe set in his ways. I will listen to see his thinking but Blue is ultimately my cat and I'm responsible for his care.
 
Dr. Bruno wants him to stay around 200
I'm also very curious as to your vet's reasoning for this too.

I suggest asking your vet whether he means 200 as measured on a veterinary meter, reason being that a BG of 200 as measured on a human meter is likely to be breaching the renal threshold. (FYI, renal threshold on veterinary meter is 250-290 according to the Merck Veterinary Manual, but range would be lower if measured on a human meter.)


Mogs
.
 
Why oh why is it so hard to find good vets? It’s the same in Los Angeles and with Covid it’s s hard to communicate let alone switching when you can’t even meet the vets face to face. If your vet is good with everything except FD, use him for other stuff and the fdmb for FD. My vet stopped giving dosing advice once I was following TR. I made him a tad nervous when he saw some of the lows and he wanted me to email the ss every couple of weeks but felt I managed Max just fine.
 
Elise, did you give Max supplements for his pancreatitis? I was just reading an article about it and it lists several supplements that are helpful.
Did he have it before diagnosed with diabetes or after?
 
You know, I feel like the young doctor was willing to work with me better. She was really open to me testing and loved the spreadsheet. Dr. Bruno is questioning what I'm doing and isn't as fast to go along with it. He might just be to set in his ways. Still dismissing the 44 reading is on my last!
 
You know, I feel like the young doctor was willing to work with me better. She was really open to me testing and loved the spreadsheet. Dr. Bruno is questioning what I'm doing and isn't as fast to go along with it. He might just be to set in his ways. Still dismissing the 44 reading is on my last!
This is important. YOU have to be able to put your faith in your vet. Sorry but Bruno sounds like a vet set in his ways no matter if its a dog or a cat. :blackeye:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top