Blue AMPS 262 10/29 109 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/blue-amps-426-10-28.237646/

Blue is 262 this morning and I gave him his dose. Today may be the day he gets back into the green. We've all been waiting.

Terrible storms last night and we did lose power but for only a few hours. Many are still without power so I feel lucky. I forgot to take the canopies down on my decks. The winds took them down for me. My yard is a mess and I have leaves and limbs everywhere. It could have been worse for me so I feel blessed. They are still warning of potential tornadoes but I think the worst of it has gone through.

Mogs, how is your Noodle this morning? Any improvement?
 
Last edited:
Jeanne, I know! I'm thinking he'll probably go low today but who knows??? :)

I just saw someone post on FB in the Feline Diabetes Group that it took 6 months but her cat is regulated. I hope Blue won't take that long. I'm only a few months into this.
 
I’m glad you all are safe but sorry about the mess. I’m glad you didn’t need to test more last night. Max took about a year to regulate. At the time there was a relaxed TR that I guess is what I followed. You are very new at this and he had been on a steroid and had infections. Max had chronic pancreatitis that I think prevented regulation sooner but one never knows. Remission occurs a lot within the first year.
 
I’m glad you all are safe but sorry about the mess.
Ditto. :bighug:

At the time there was a relaxed TR that I guess is what I followed.
Ditto.

Mogs, how is your Noodle this morning? Any improvement?
Lúnasa is more comfortable in herself but then she hasn't eaten since about 10pm last night. She's hungry but I'm keeping her fasted at the moment. Appointment booked for 4pm (with our main vet, so that's very welcome). Still no poops. That is really, really worrying me. :(

Asked if I could give her a dose of famotidine to stop her from getting tummy acid build-up during the long fast but vet said to withhold it for now.

Sorry for stilted reply. Fretting about the Noodle and PTSD/OCD symptoms are off the charts.

Sincerely hoping your days will go much better than mine has been thus far.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I fed him some PureBites Treat Mixer that is Tuna and Salmon in water. If I need to feed additional MC or HC I can do that. He'll eat.
Let's see what the snack does first. Theoretically, it should help slow the drop.
If by chance your phone dies, you know what to do. (I'm assuming you will be going no further than your backyard, if that, today.) @tiffmaxee and @Critter Mom have taught you well.
 
Cancel that.
Looking at your spreadsheet and seeing the previous deep drops.
While the honey has not had a chance to have a full effect yet, take a test now (20 minutes after the 49 and HC).
 
I'd like to play it safe and keep him above the 50 mark. Feed a small amount of LC if you think that will do the trick. If not, MC. I'll leave it to others to discuss whether the 49 earned a reduction.
 
I missed all the excitement. Job well done today, Patty and Red.

When Blue drops hard, he typically drops early.

Suggestions for future:

- Feed a little bit more LC at PS mealtimes.

- When preshot is low 300s or less, start testing at +1 - especially for blue PS BGs. Same goes if PS BG is still high but there's a possibility that bounce might be clearing.

- If there's significant movement at +1 feed several tsps of HC. If the drop at +1 was big, check again at +1.5 and feed more HC if there's been a further significant drop at this time.

- If numbers have dipped further by +2, feed more HC.

- If rate of drop starts to slow down try switching to MC.

- Feed mid-cycle regular LC meal a bit earlier (say +4.5 or +5 latest).

- Unless numbers dictate otherwise, try to only feed LC after +4.

-Whenever numbers dictate, add honey to keep numbers in safe range (especially in the very early part of the cycle).

Thoughts, people?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Thankfully vet managed to get a blood draw: no mean feat because she usually needs to be sedated first. He's going to run a full chem panel, B12/folate assay and Spec fPL. Because some of the tests need to be sent out to IDEXX they might not get the results back till the beginning of next week. No firm diagnosis yet, but vet said OK to stop the antibiotics (only a couple of days left and it was a 30-day course) and he's prescribed bupe in the meantime. Her nibs has consequently spent the evening being all blissy beside me on the sofa. She gets really affectionate on it. Wish she was like that more of the time: nose rubs beat war wounds any day of the week. Trying to measure her BP was tricky because she kept wanting to nuzzle my hand and the meter. :rolleyes:

Just under 3 hours after the first dose of bupe the Noodle started looking for grub at her feeding station (been doing waitress service on the sofa for weeks). I've been giving her small amounts at a time but she has eaten steadily throughout the evening, and she seemed to be a lot more comfortable in herself, thank the gods. Still no poop, 54 hours and counting. That's a bit of a worry. Vet didn't say anything much about this. All the staff at the practice are now wearing plastic visors in addition to face masks. I think they're finding it difficult (very hard to communicate because the PPE makes speech very muffled).

The Noodle's mammy is banjaxed.


Mogs
.
 
I can imagine you are done for the day. At least your Noodle is feeling better. Maybe the antibiotics were causing some issues. Hate you have to wait so long for blood work. I'm sure you're worried. I know how you feel about the poop watch. My Layla has chronic constipation. I give her medicine every day if I can find her hiding place. Maybe Noodle will feel the need since she's eating.

Get some rest. I'm about to test, feed, and shoot. My life now. LOL, I've got nothing better to do with the pandemic raging.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top