Blue AMPS 238 10/17

Status
Not open for further replies.
It’s nice to have something to watch. I miss basketball already.

I know. I love baseball and will miss watching. I'll probably watch the World Series this year no matter what. I normally don't if we aren't in it. I'll cheer for whoever wins NLCS.
Falcons are 0-5 so not fun to watch. Tech got beat
today 73-7 OMG I napped the second half. Georgia is playing Alabama right now but I'm not that big of a fan. Where's that vaccine???
 
I know. I love baseball and will miss watching. I'll probably watch the World Series this year no matter what. I normally don't if we aren't in it. I'll cheer for whoever wins NLCS.
Falcons are 0-5 so not fun to watch. Tech got beat
today 73-7 OMG I napped the second half. Georgia is playing Alabama right now but I'm not that big of a fan. Where's that vaccine???
Fascinating exchange. Ye might as well be speaking Swahili. :D


.
 
From Gil and Mac:
They are the seeds of the horse chestnut tree (not edible like the chestnuts that you roast from a "non-horse" chestnut tree). They are in a spiky covering which splits when they are ready to fall in the autumn.
Kids used to collect them, push a hole through them and thread a shoe lace or thick string through with a knot at the bottom . You then play conkers by taking it in turns to swing your conker from your hand at your opponent's conker until one cracks and breaks enough to fall off the string and so loses - technique shown below. If your conker had beaten 10 others it was a "tenner" and so on - it got quite competitive with eagerly watched battles especially when it was a high scoring conker .
Its probably banned in playgrounds now due to the amount of bruised knuckles that resulted from bad shots and the danger of flying bits of conker! Oh the fun we had in those days before computer games !
 
OK, people. This is the best I can do with the vet BG/dose info. (All readings taken with Alphatrak meter, and all with likelihood of being stress-influenced.)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10.12.20

AM - Dose 0.5IU administered at home.

AM Mid-cycle at vets - BG in 300s (from Patty's forum post - no BG info for 10.12.20 in PDF)

------------------------------------------------------

PM Cycle - ???? (no info)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10.13.20


HH:MM - AMPS ??? - Dose: ??? (no info)

13:43 - +??.?? - 296
------------------------------------------------------
17:00 - Special orders: Insulin 0.5 units.
----------------------------
17:00 - PMPS ??? - Dose: 0.5IU <--- Marked as administered.

[No BG readings for PM cycle]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10.14.20


07:00 - Special orders: Insulin 0.5 units.
07:00 - Special orders: if >200 give another 0.5IU. <---- I think this may be a standing instruction to give a larger dose if any preshot is over 200 (sliding scale of sorts, maybe?)
----------------------------
07:00 - AMPS - 634 - Dose: 0.5IU <---- Definitely administered (+14 after previous dose). No second note about med admin, so not clear if additional 0.5IU given (i.e. total dose 1.0IU)
09:00 - +2.00 - 400
11:30 - +4.50 - 147
12:57 - +6.00 - 128
13:57 - +7.00 - 124 <--- This is the only point where the vets have mid-cycle readings for a second consecutive 0.5IU dose (assuming they only gave 0.5IU). This may be what they consider to be too low.
14:57 - +8.00 - 132
15:57 - +9.00 - 142

----------------------------
12:00 - Special orders: if >200 give another 0.5IU <--- NO IDEA why this appears at this time on the report. No comment about med admin at this time.
------------------------------------------------------

17:00 - Special orders: Insulin 0.5IU. <---- Med admin charge code listed on report.
17:00 - Special orders: if >200 give another 0.5IU. <--- Not clear if this was given but with the 210 preshot and previous nadir I doubt whether they gave 1 full unit if no overnight monitoring.
----------------------------
17:00 - PMPS - 210 - Dose: 0.5IU??? (+10 after AM dose admin!) <---- This may be why they told you he doesn't come up high enough, confusing given their 'special order extra 0.5IU if >200'.

[No further BG readings for PM cycle]
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

15.10.20

07:00 Special orders: Insulin 0.5IU.
07:00 Special orders: if >200 give another 0.5IU.
07:00 Gave 1IU Lantus - Whiteboard note.
----------------------------
07:00 - AMPS - 438 - Dose: 1.0IU Lantus
08:50 - +1.75 - 504 <--- Not sure if this is correct. It's the last BG number on report and can't be for next morning as Blue was discharged evening of 15th.
10:00 - +3.00 - 361
11:30 - +4.50 - 324
12:15 - +5.25 - 217
14:12 - +7.25 - 117
14:45 - +7.75 - 131
15:30 - +8.50 - 164
16:30 - +9.50 - 106 <--- Is this where they're getting the 18 hrs duration from? Taking the + time of the nadir and doubling it? There are NO +18 BG readings in the report to support their claim.
17:30 - +10.50 - 121

00:15 - +17.25 - 66 <--- Reading taken at home (human meter).
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Sláinte, people!

beer.gif



Mogs
.
 
I'm treating myself to a beer after all that. My brain is well and truly frelled.


Mogs
.

LOL, you deserve it. It looks like there is a lot of detail left out. I also wondered how they came up with the 18-hour scenario.
Do you think the human meter I use has a different reading from the vet monitor? He seemed to dismiss my numbers because ”meter is not calibrated ”. Why isn't it? What would it be calibrated to?
 
Do you think the human meter I use has a different reading from the vet monitor? He seemed to dismiss my numbers because ”meter is not calibrated ”. Why isn't it? What would it be calibrated to?
The way that glucose is distributed in the blood differs between cats and humans, hence the reason why human meters give lower readings than the 'actual' BG concentration of feline blood as would be read on a lab analyser. Meters such as the Alphatrak are calibrated to account for the way glucose is distributed in cat blood and consequently give readings pretty much equivalent to lab analyser results.

Both types of meter give accurate readings to within +/- 20% of the 'true' BG level of the sample measured.

The cat BG reference range for a pet meter is c.70-150mg/dL. The cat BG reference range used for human meters is 50-120. As you note, the range limits are lower than those for the range used with pet meters, because they take into account that a given sample should read lower on a human meter than on a pet-calibrated one.

The Roomp-Rand TR study presents its dosing protocols specifically for human meters and provides the evidence base for the human meter cat BG reference range used at FDMB.

Readings on both meter types are equally valid.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Patty, when you post the BG numbers above into your spreadsheet, you'll need to flag them as Alphatrak readings, e.g.

123 AT, 456 AT, 789 AT

I suggest also put something in the remarks along the lines of "AT = Alphatrak reading taken at vets."

If you do the above, you'll need to manually colour the cells using the paint bucket.


Mogs
.
 
The way that glucose is distributed in the blood differs between cats and humans, hence the reason why human meters give lower readings than the 'actual' BG concentration of feline blood as would be read on a lab analyser. Meters such as the Alphatrak are calibrated to account for the way glucose is distributed in cat blood and consequently give readings pretty much equivalent to those which a lab analyser would read.

Both types of meter give accurate readings to within +/- 20% of the 'true' BG level of the sample measured.

The cat BG reference range for a pet meter is c.70-150mg/dL. The cat BG reference range used for human meters is 50-120. As you note, the range limits are lower than those for the range used with pet meters, because they take into account that a given sample should read lower on a human meter than on a pet-calibrated one.

The Roomp-Rand TR study presents its dosing protocols specifically for human meters and provides the evidence base for the human meter cat BG reference range used at FDMB.

Readings on both meter types are equally valid.


Mogs
.

Good to know. When he said mine wasn't
”calibrated” I was confused. The reading he got would be higher than mine? How would I indicate this on a SS? I was going to enter the numbers into my current SS but it wouldn't be apples to apples.
Probably why he asked me 6 times about the 44 reading.
 
Patty, when you post the BG numbers above into your spreadsheet, you'll need to flag them as Alphatrak readings, e.g.

123 AT, 456 AT, 789 AT

I suggest also put something in the remarks along the lines of "AT = Alphatrak reading taken at vets."

If you do the above, you'll need to manually colour the cells using the paint bucket.


Mogs
.

Oh I have never worked in a SS app so I didn't know I could do that. Thx.
 
I think I'm going to try to enter into SS tomorrow if possible. I have tennis at 1:00.
I tried to enter a couple readings earlier before uploading the document and there was a BG number in blood work that first day, so it wasn't listed separately. I believe one is the first day and it was 469 + 7
So confusing...you did a great job Mogs. Do you think I need to indicate the extra doses? Maybe in notes or along with BG number?
 
Good to know. When he said mine wasn't
”calibrated” I was confused. The reading he got would be higher than mine? How would I indicate this on a SS? I was going to enter the numbers into my current SS but it wouldn't be apples to apples.
Probably why he asked me 6 times about the 44 reading.
On his Alphatrak meter the reading for that sample would have been round about the low 60s, definitely below 70.


Mogs
.
 
Do you think I need to indicate the extra doses? Maybe in notes or along with BG number?
Maybe put the doses as best we can make them out into the main part of the spreadsheet with a question mark? Maybe put just question marks where we don't know whether any insulin was given? Then you could put notes in the Remarks column to say that insulin was given at vets and it was unclear how much was given at the various times? Best I can think of to suggest to you.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I entered some BG into SS
I think I understand but not sure when and if he gave .5 so I might put an asterisk in the box we think extra was given and indicate in notes.
I've had three cats in my lap while I've been doing this! Good times :D

How's the beer Mogs?
 
Last edited:
PTSD symptoms are bad at the moment so insomnia's worse, and also I'm having difficulty getting enough food into the Noodle thanks to the antibiotics. I have to be sparing with the appy stimulant because it increases her resting heart rate and so does the amlodipine for her blood pressure (she has hypertrophic cardiomyopathy as well as the CKD). She needs me to prompt her to eat and I can't do that when I'm in the Land of Nod, so at least there's a bit of a plus side to not being able to sleep.

Are you over the tiredness from the 'flu jab yet?

.
 
You have quite a balancing act going on at your house. I'm happy you are getting a little better and not sneezing as much.
You've felt bad for awhile. PTSD and insomnia is not a good combination. :bighug:I hope you have good drugs.

I'm much better and not as tired. That could change at anytime with Blue.

He's at 355 +2 now so I was completely wrong. He was at 256 PMPS...WTH?
 
Trampoline time after the 52 earlier?

Glad to hear the adverse effects of the jab are wearing off. :)

I hope you have good drugs.
I wish! I went through a slew of different meds for years. None of them helped, and some made things even worse. I'm very med sensitive so I can only take a small dose of my anti-anxiety med. Balancing side effects ain't the best. :(

I'm just waiting for Lúnasa to finish another bout of 'sleepy eating' and then I'm gonna head to my leaba. I wish you a peaceful and refreshing night's sleep, Patty, and I'll catch up with you later.

(((Patty and Bluebird)))

:bighug:

So glad he's back home! :cat:


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top