Blue AMPS 137 11/12

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m thinking a S.75. What do you think Mogs?
I've been wondering for a while whether a skinny 0.75IU might be a goldilocks dose. That or a buxom 0.5IU.

Patty needs some rest and Blue needs momentum. Tricky.

Would it be feasible to give a smaller dose tonight and then start with the skinny 0.75 in the morning without too much of an impact on Blue's progress?


Mogs
.
 
I've been wondering for a while whether a skinny 0.75IU might be a goldilocks dose. That or a buxom 0.5IU.

Patty needs some rest and Blue needs momentum. Tricky.

Would it be feasible to give a smaller dose tonight and then start with the skinny 0.75 in the morning without too much of an impact on Blue's progress?


Mogs
.

There’s no guarantee the one time lower dose will give them a reprieve. I don’t think it will mess with progress. I think the only way for a reprieve would be a token dose.
 
@tiffmaxee -

Having a terminology fail here: not 100% sure what you mean by reprieve in this context. Reprieve from intensive monitoring? Or something else? (Pardon my denseness. :oops: )


Mogs
.
 
I did not give anything at 2.5 as I wasn't sure if I needed too since he was about the same and I'd given something at +2.
He's at 75 + 4 and not sure if I need to feed more or not. I want him to be in a safe number and not head back down.

I wanted to ask about the "snot otter" too.
 
I've no idea what one of those is, Jeanne, and I'm quite happy to die wondering.



Mogs
.
LOL Mogs a Snott Otter is a cute name for a ...wait for it...Hellbender. :p
upload_2020-11-12_9-46-30.png


Its an American Salamander that frequents the rivers of eastern states. Its...slippery.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-11-12_9-46-30.png
    upload_2020-11-12_9-46-30.png
    40.8 KB · Views: 249
I did not give anything at 2.5 as I wasn't sure if I needed too since he was about the same and I'd given something at +2.
For future reference, Blue seems to be one of those kitties that metabolises his insulin fast and early in the cycle, hence the times when he hits an active cycle the numbers typically really tumble within the first few hours.

The work that you've been doing is gradually helping you to learn how to reduce the gradient of the drop so as to ease him into good numbers by about +4 so that you can then get him to surf in the middle of the cycle and hopefully reduce the chances of him bouncing back up again as the dose wears off.

If he's level or even dropping slightly by +1 then that's your signal to monitor closely and give him the small snacks to stop him nosediving/dropping too low. The earlier in the cycle it is, the more you need to work on the principle that he's extremely likely to drop further.

There was no movement between +2 and +2.5 so the earlier food interventions had worked to slow him down, but because there was no food bump to speak of and there were several hours ahead where he was likely to drop (based on his typical response pattern to date) the assumption should be that he would drop again without a snack. So give a suitable snack, check again in 30 minutes to see whether he's dropped further or stayed level. Choose the carb content of the next snack based on whether he's dropping or surfing. Rinse 'n' repeat until he levels off in the middle of the cycle. If he's close to the 50s at that stage then give little LC snacks to see if you can keep him surfing. [ETA]The earlier in the cycle and/or the closer Blue is to the 50 mark, the higher the carb level of the snack. When he starts trending up later in the cycle, ease off on the snacks, and if any are needed keep to LC (unless numbers dictate otherwise).

Make sense?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee -

Fat 0.5, might increase chance of Patty getting some rest. The full 0.75IU depot will still be in play. Depending on how it goes, Patty would have the option of going to skinny 0.75 in the morning. Thoughts?

Elise, could you give Patty some pointers about measuring of fat and skinny doses? I'll be signing out very shortly (not doing so good right now).


Mogs
.
 
Was wondering whether that 49 would trigger a bounce.

Take it handy and keep safe while you're out, Patty. Elise will be along in a while to go through dosing stuff.

Catch you on the morrow. Wishing you both a safe night - hopefully with a chance for you to catch up on zzzzz's.

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top