Blue 9/6 AMPS 523

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning! I am quite new here but I do know that I was told and I have read that cats with uncontrolled diabetes can not absorb nutrients from what they are eating very well so they can eat a lot and often don't gain (or even lose) weight. My cat was the same. He was eating volumes and dropping weight before we knew what was wrong. Once his diabetes started getting under control, this changed and he's a relatively picky eater now (I have to have different wet foods in the house to entice him sometimes if he doesn't eat his raw food.) He has gained 2 lbs now and is up to 7.6 lbs over the past month and a half. Getting him off of dry food played a big role in getting his BG under control, along with a switch to Lantus from Caninsulin.
I hope this is helpful; others with a lot more experience and expertise will hopefully respond to you. You will get this sorted out; it takes time and patience and the support here is awesome! Best of luck to both of you!
 
When the bg is high this happens. Let him eat enough to keep his weight at a healthy number. Do you have a digital baby scale? It’s a really good investment. Amazon has both the Salter and the Health-o- Meter. Very similar. I have the Salter and my friend has the other one.

I don't but can get one. Glad to know Blue isn't the only cat to have had this happen.
 
Good morning! I am quite new here but I do know that I was told and I have read that cats with uncontrolled diabetes can not absorb nutrients from what they are eating very well so they can eat a lot and often don't gain (or even lose) weight. My cat was the same. He was eating volumes and dropping weight before we knew what was wrong. Once his diabetes started getting under control, this changed and he's a relatively picky eater now (I have to have different wet foods in the house to entice him sometimes if he doesn't eat his raw food.) He has gained 2 lbs now and is up to 7.6 lbs over the past month and a half. Getting him off of dry food played a big role in getting his BG under control, along with a switch to Lantus from Caninsulin.
I hope this is helpful; others with a lot more experience and expertise will hopefully respond to you. You will get this sorted out; it takes time and patience and the support here is awesome! Best of luck to both of you!

My Blue has never been a big eater. He's 15 and weighs 7 lb. He has always just licked the gravy and never eaten much. Good to know this is normal. I will try to control portions. I haven't given him dry food in three days to see if we could do it. That could be part of why he's eating so much more.
Thank you for the information. Makes me feel better knowing we aren't alone.
 
Hope everything is ok now Mogs:bighug:
Things are better now, Jeanne, thank you for asking. :) Lúnasa's IRIS stage 3 and she has elevated blood pressure. I started her on a blood pressure med two evenings ago. It lowered her BP a bit too well after the second dose and in addition it made her urinate more so she became dehydrated (and gave me a real fright). Managed to get her rehydrated at home, and her BP is in a better range now.

Hope you're doing OK today.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
HI guys,
I'm not sure who you are talking about but glad the blood pressure is down. Hopefully all is well. :bighug:

All is well here. Just high and I know that's normal with the change in dosage so I'm ok. I'll check again before I go to sleep for the night and update SS.

Thinking of you Mogs and pray all will be okay.
 
Thank you for the much-appreciated prayers, Patty. Lúnasa is my civvie:

Lúnasa 14th Birthday Scratchy Pole.jpg



Mogs
.
 

Attachments

  • Lúnasa 14th Birthday Scratchy Pole.jpg
    Lúnasa 14th Birthday Scratchy Pole.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 364
Is everything OK with you. Patty?


Mogs
.

Yes. All is well. I'm just planning activities for the holiday. My mom is bored and she can't see her other sons, daughters, grandkids and greats. One of my brothers is staying here with her and I also have my daughter...not to mention many fur babies.

So just a little busy but still testing Blue. He's high but hopefully will start improving soon. His sister is limping badly today so suspect arthritis pain. Maybe another vet visit this week.

What is wrong with your beautiful baby?
 
Yep Palm Springs... Saturday it was 121 yesterday it was 119 today? 115 :rolleyes:

Oh and in case youre thinking , ah you can just jump in the pool? Think again the pool water is 95 degrees.

OMG that's terrible. I guess you don't need a pool heater like in Georgia. Getting ready to go to pool now...sorry for you.
I lived in the Mojave for about a year before moving to San Diego. It's a dry heat...uggggg really hot. I feel for you.
 
OMG that's terrible. I guess you don't need a pool heater like in Georgia. Getting ready to go to pool now...sorry for you.
I lived in the Mojave for about a year before moving to San Diego. It's a dry heat...uggggg really hot. I feel for you.
227? Yaaaay!

Not to worry we've lived in this desert since 1980 we is desert rats. ;)
It WOULD be nice if the pool wasnt so hot though Its like swimming in a bowl of hot soup.:eek:
 
Things are better now, Jeanne, thank you for asking. :) Lúnasa's IRIS stage 3 and she has elevated blood pressure. I started her on a blood pressure med two evenings ago. It lowered her BP a bit too well after the second dose and in addition it made her urinate more so she became dehydrated (and gave me a real fright). Managed to get her rehydrated at home, and her BP is in a better range now.

Hope you're doing OK today.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs what a beautiful kitty Lunasa is, I feel for you, my civvie also has kidney disease. Will be going for his blood work again this Friday after starting the Epogen injections, will be the first time checking his blood pressure.
Wishing all the best to Lunasa ♥:bighug:
 
Hi Mogs what a beautiful kitty Lunasa is, I feel for you, my civvie also has kidney disease. Will be going for his blood work again this Friday after starting the Epogen injections, will be the first time checking his blood pressure.
Wishing all the best to Lunasa ♥:bighug:
Thank you for the good wishes for my little one, Diane, and I wish the same for your civvie. What's his name? I think Lúnasa may not be far behind him with the anaemia meds: her haematocrit has been 21% for the last 2 sets of blood work. She sleeps much more than she used to. :( Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) is off for another round of bloods and a cysto/C&S on 21 September following a month long course of antibiotics for a UTI. I am praying that the infection has cleared because the Kesium is disagreeing with her.

It'd be great if you could post a thread about how your little fella gets on at the vet. I'd very much appreciate hearing about how the Epogen is working for him, and I'm sure there are other members who'd also be interested.

On blood pressure monitoring, I invested in a veterinary oscillometric meter so I could monitor Saoirse at home (stage II, not a snowball's chance of getting a reliable reading at the vets for her - not exactly her favourite place on the planet). It cost mucho denarii but it was worth it. It has really come into its own with my Noodler (and how!).

If you fancy getting a BP meter yourself, there are new oscillometric ones on the market that are aimed at caregivers and they're w-a-y cheaper. I saw info about them on Tanya's Site (hypertension page IIRC). There have been good reports about them from members of the Tanya's Site support group.

Fingers 'n' paws crossed for good results on Friday. :)

:bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I’m glad your civvie is getting his BP checked. Should have been done before starting
epogen. If allowed to go in the room make sure you get 5 readings. @Diane Tyler's Mom
Thank you Elise, I was on Tanya's kidney site and found that out after I started the Epogen, so far he has had 3 doses , then I questioned my vet about and E Mailed her he article from Tanya's site and she said yes we should check
I will tell her to getv5 readings. Can you tell me why you should get 5 readings?
How often should it be checked?
Maybe I should buy one myself I also read you should get a B-12 shot , is that true? @tiffmaxee
Thank you :bighug::cat:
 
Thank you for the good wishes for my little one, Diane, and I wish the same for your civvie. What's his name? I think Lúnasa may not be far behind him with the anaemia meds: her haematocrit has been 21% for the last 2 sets of blood work. She sleeps much more than she used to. :( Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) is off for another round of bloods and a cysto/C&S on 21 September following a month long course of antibiotics for a UTI. I am praying that the infection has cleared because the Kesium is disagreeing with her.

It'd be great if you could post a thread about how your little fella gets on at the vet. I'd very much appreciate hearing about how the Epogen is working for him, and I'm sure there are other members who'd also be interested.

On blood pressure monitoring, I invested in a veterinary oscillometric meter so I could monitor Saoirse at home (stage II, not a snowball's chance of getting a reliable reading at the vets for her - not exactly her favourite place on the planet). It cost mucho denarii but it was worth it. It has really come into its own with my Noodler (and how!).

If you fancy getting a BP meter yourself, there are new oscillometric ones on the market that are aimed at caregivers and they're w-a-y cheaper. I saw info about them on Tanya's Site (hypertension page IIRC). There have been good reports about them from members of the Tanya's Site support group.

Fingers 'n' paws crossed for good results on Friday. :)

:bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs his name is Perry.
I have his labs posted on Tyler's spreadsheet if you want to take a look.
I have to add his blood work from 8-18-20 yet
I will do that tomorrow, I had to ask the members here how to add this one on the SS so it would the most current one that is listed first.
You will see some of his numbers have improved.
The one I will add for 8-18-20 he was not on the Epogen yet
As soon as he goes this Friday I will post the labs
I will also get a blood pressure monitor so I can do them at home
I will give an update on Perry on Tyler's thread
Talk to you soon :bighug::cat:
@Critter Mom
 
Can you tell me why you should get 5 readings?
A cat might startle a little when the cuff is placed and the first couple of readings are taken but then should settle down. You take a series of readings to account for this. Outlier readings from the series taken are then discarded and the rest are used to assess the cat's blood pressure.

Thanks for pointing me to Perry's labs. I will take a look and keep an eye out for your updates. I hope the Epogen will do much to help him :)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
A cat might startle a little when the first couple of readings are but then should settle down. You take a series of readings to account for this. Outlier readings from the series taken are then discarded and the rest are used to assess the cat's blood pressure.

Thanks for pointing me to Perry's labs. I will take a look and keep an eye out for your updates. I hope the Epogen will do much to help him :)


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs thank you for explaining that to me.
I so wish I can go in there with him on Friday, but not yet
My vet said hopefully soon.
Thanks again and scritches to Lunasa :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Thank you for the good wishes for my little one, Diane, and I wish the same for your civvie. What's his name? I think Lúnasa may not be far behind him with the anaemia meds: her haematocrit has been 21% for the last 2 sets of blood work. She sleeps much more than she used to. :( Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) is off for another round of bloods and a cysto/C&S on 21 September following a month long course of antibiotics for a UTI. I am praying that the infection has cleared because the Kesium is disagreeing with her.

It'd be great if you could post a thread about how your little fella gets on at the vet. I'd very much appreciate hearing about how the Epogen is working for him, and I'm sure there are other members who'd also be interested.

On blood pressure monitoring, I invested in a veterinary oscillometric meter so I could monitor Saoirse at home (stage II, not a snowball's chance of getting a reliable reading at the vets for her - not exactly her favourite place on the planet). It cost mucho denarii but it was worth it. It has really come into its own with my Noodler (and how!).

If you fancy getting a BP meter yourself, there are new oscillometric ones on the market that are aimed at caregivers and they're w-a-y cheaper. I saw info about them on Tanya's Site (hypertension page IIRC). There have been good reports about them from members of the Tanya's Site support group.

Fingers 'n' paws crossed for good results on Friday. :)

:bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs you wanted to know about Perry and the Epogen
Perry went yesterday 9-11-20 and my vet only tested his PCV
The anemia improved from 6 weeks ago ( 5 shots so far of the Epogen)
It was 16% percent , it went up to 20 % so I happy about that
His blood pressure was good. She did it five times
BP 121, 100, 121, 141, 110
He also put on a half an ounce
So have to take him back after giving six more Epogen shots
Will keep you posted
@Critter Mom
 
I’m glad your civvie is getting his BP checked. Should have been done before starting
epogen. If allowed to go in the room make sure you get 5 readings. @Diane Tyler's Mom
Hi Elise

Perry went yesterday 9-11-20 and my vet only tested his PCV
The anemia improved from 6 weeks ago ( 5 shots so far of the Epogen)
It was 16% percent , it went up to 20 % so I happy about that
His blood pressure was good. She did it five times
BP 121, 100, 121, 141, 110
He also put on a half an ounce
So have to take him back after giving six more Epogen shots
@tiffmaxee
 
Good news. You don’t want more than that big a rise in Pcv per week. You also don’t want him going too high into the normal range. It’s been too long since I dealt with this to recall it all but if you want to join another group send me a pm for info.
 
Good news. You don’t want more than that big a rise in Pcv per week. You also don’t want him going too high into the normal range. It’s been too long since I dealt with this to recall it all but if you want to join another group send me a pm for info.
Hi Elise, I belong to Tanya's kidney forum, they have been very helpful
Thank you, between Tyler with the diabetes and Perry with the kidney disease I could just go crazy sometimes
@tiffmaxee
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom -

Hi Diane,

Thank you so much for the update. I'm really glad that the Epogen is helping Perry's anaemia. His blood pressure readings are very good indeed (and may they stay that way!).

To update you on what's happening here, I've managed to give Lúnasa some amlodipine over the last 2 days without her feeling really poorly or bringing it straight back up again. I am hoping that now she's getting ondansetron it will help her to tolerate the amlodipine better. Lúnasa's BP at worst hits the 200 mark, and has often been in the 170s and 180s so I'm really hoping the amlodipine will address this. From the literature it takes about a week in humans to reach steady state. I assume that it will be similar for cats.

Sending some socially distanced scritches and hugs for Perry and your good self respectively. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom -

Hi Diane,

Thank you so much for the update. I'm really glad that the Epogen is helping Perry's anaemia. His blood pressure readings are very good indeed (and may they stay that way!).

To update you on what's happening here, I've managed to give Lúnasa some amlodipine over the last 2 days without her feeling really poorly or bringing it straight back up again. I am hoping that now she's getting ondansetron it will help her to tolerate the amlodipine better. Lúnasa's BP at worst hits the 200 mark, and has often been in the 170s and 180s so I'm really hoping the amlodipine will address this. From the literature it takes about a week in humans to reach steady state. I assume that it will be similar for cats.

Sending some socially distanced scritches and hugs for Perry and your good self respectively. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs, I really hope that the amlodipine helps Lunasa , feel free to keep me updated about her , you can either PM me or just put it on Tyler's threads and tag me.
So good to talk to you and scritches for Lunasa , I hope you have a good day :bighug::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top