Blue 266 AMPS 9/8 OK to give insulin?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Patty and Blue GA & Brat, Sep 8, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/blue-9-6-amps-523.234802/

    Hi all,
    I guess it's okay to give insulin at 266?

    Sorry I didn't get to communicate much yesterday and the weekend.
    I have an appointment this morning also so am rushing to get things done.

    Mogs, I've had two with kidney disease and gave them fluids. I'm sorry for you
    and your baby that she's so ill. How old is your beautiful girl?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I gave it too him. I'll have my daughter keep an eye on him while I'm gone.
     
  3. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ;) have a good day.
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good choice Patty.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  5. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sorry not to reply sooner, Patty (had stuff going on here). Big improvement in AMPS this morning. Starting to see what the dose can do now.

    Can your daughter test Blue? Would she be willing to learn? It'd be nice to have a backup. ;)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I second that! :)

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    She turned fourteen some time in the first fortnight of August. ('Lúnasa' is Irish for August. Found her alone on a windowsill when she was only 5-6 weeks old.)

    It's hard to tell where she's at at the moment. She's on antibiotics for a UTI at the moment and they're disagreeing with her system. I'm hoping she'll perk up a bit when the course is finished. Roll on Thursday...

    Sorry to hear that two of your little ones also had CKD. It's trickier getting a vet's support for home administration of sub-qs over here. Even if our vet was willing to let me try, I'm not sure whether Lúnasa would accept it.

    How's that beautiful Bluebird of yours doing today, Patty? And how are you?

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  8. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Hey girls,
    I'm back and Blue is at 90 now. I don't think Tara could test Blue alone. She has tremors with her MS so it makes it difficult to do things. She's a big help when I test.

    Sorry about your baby Mogs. I hope she'll feel better after the antibiotics. If you have to give fluids everyday it just makes sense to do them at home, but if it's occasionally then I see why you'd take them into the vet for that. Happy you adopted her. I love kittens. They're so fun. When I go my Teddy he was under a pound.

    I haven't given Blue dry food for 5 days now. He's always hungry but I don't know if it's from taking the dry away or not.

    When do you think I should retest? He seems okay so far.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If he drops he earns a reduction on SLGS. I would feed a little higher carb to try and avoid that and test in 30 minutes.
     
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A lot of (most?) vets over here won't even give the caregiver the choice to do fluid therapy at home.

    Forgot to mention above that the Noodler also has HCM so as things progress fluids could get trickier.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Poor baby. You have your hands full. I guess all you can do is try to balance her out and feed the right foods. It's hard when they get older and start getting ill. :bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    That'll do nicely. Maybe give him a teaspoon or so of low carb so he doesn't dip down again.

    I'm half-way through the transition to a kidney support therapeutic diet. The Noodle has a very sensitive GI tract so I'm having to go at a snail's pace with the switchover. :(

    So hard, Patty. So hard... <sigh>



    Mogs
    .
     
  14. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    We're at 188 now!

    Mogs, it seems to me there is a kidney support group I joined for information but it's been many years ago. It helped a lot as this one does. You may already have found it, but if you haven't it's worth a look. Out of my first cat family of 3, 2 of them had CRF.
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Nice bit of paddling there, Blue! :cool:

    I've received a recommendation for a CKD support group and I plan to join it very soon. Just trying to get Lúnasa's information onto my computer first. Thank you for the suggestion. It's encouraging to hear that you found them so helpful. :bighug:

    .
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Very good. Dipping but not too low. The bounce cleared and hopefully there won’t be another.
     
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yep. I forgot. Silly me.
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    That's why God sent you a superstitious eejit like me, Elise! :woot:


    .
     
  20. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    We're back in the red zone at 416. Will this always happen or will it finally settle in at some point?

    I decided to take Blue and Layla back to vet tomorrow. I cancelled last week but Layla is limping so she needs a recheck. I'm not letting her change anything on Blue. He's developed an upper respiratory problem again so I want to take care of it early on.
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He’s bouncy. Yes they need to be seen. Cats bounce until they get used to lower numbers or drop too quickly. It’s frustrating. It was for me too.
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @tiffmaxee - This is all your fault, Elise. :p

    ;) :D

    .
     
  23. Patty & Teal'c

    Patty & Teal'c Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Teal'c bounced for about 8 months. Then one day it just stopped. If he bounces now they are small like green to higher blue with a random yellow, and they never last. Not even high enough to call them a bounce really.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I take full responsibility! Max bounced for a year! I just went back and looked. It was more like 10 months. He was on insulin in November for awhile and then off for three weeks. Went back on in January for good. I started doing 3 times under 50 before the first year ended because he didn’t hold reductions. You aren’t anywhere near that. If he stops dry you could be more aggressive but you would need to test more. Having all those cats and other responsibilities is it worth it? I don’t know.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  25. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    The scale came in. I guess it's the perfect cat bed because Blue has been laying down. He's 7.9 so up a little which is good. 7155BC21-82D1-42A9-800F-EF787566763F.jpeg
     
  26. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Good to know it takes awhile to get them under control. I was worried I was doing something wrong.
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My girls used to sleep on my scale as kittens. Not any more.
     
  28. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Never when you need them too...typical catitude!

    Got the new syringes in also. Yay
     
  29. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    452 PMPS and new syringes are harder to see lines. Time for new glasses! I'll test once more before I go to sleep unless there's a problem.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Good light and sometimes two pairs of readers help.
     
  31. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    407 +2 He's been in his new bed. LOL
     
  32. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page