Blood panel answers - pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.
Eating has definitely not been a problem so far. He's still scarfing his down (even though I'm adding about 1/8c water) and then trying to steal whatever the others haven't eaten yet. :roll:

Thanks for the resources... a little lunchtime reading... :-D
 
Hmm... so sounds like pancreatitis is one of those "we know this disease exists, but we dont really know why or what to do about it" kind of things. :?

It's odd that he doesn't seem to show any of the symptoms usually associated with it. Definitely no loss of appetite. No "meatloafing" - in fact I was just laughing at him the other day as he was sprawled out in the window with his back foot up on the screen - out cold. :lol: Maybe we caught it early? Hopefully that's a good thing. I'm thinking I may up his caloric intake a little until we get him better regulated. He's holding steady at 12lb (I forgot to ask the tech to get an official weight on him when they did the blood draw), but between the elevated BGs and the pancreatitis - it sounds like it might be a good idea. I do NOT want to deal with the hepatic lipidosis again.

The vet made no mention of giving fluids. Only asked if he'd been having diarrhea (he has not) and confirmed a wet food diet. It's impossible to monitor his water intake with 3 other cats, plus the dog bowl, although I have started adding water to his food (all 5 meals, about 1/8c each meal), so I know he's getting at least that much. He drinks from the faucet sometimes, but has been doing that slightly less this past week or so. He didn't do it at all when he was OTJ.

I do see "low residue" foods talked about a lot in the referenced articles. What is that? Does Wellness GF fit the bill (turkey, chicken, chicken & beef, specifically)?

On the bright side... last night's preshot was in the upper 100's (I only shot 1.5u instead of 2) and this mornings was as well (again, shot 1.5u). On the not-so-bright side, I have to work until 4:30 (an hour late), so he'll be going 10hrs on this morning's dose, instead of the usual 9. Hopefully he's not flying too high when I get home.
 
See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for methods to assess dehydration, plus a way to estimate water consumption.
 
While I forgot to bring my spreadsheet with me to update (I keep a paper copy, then put them on the computer when I'm able), Tink has been surprising me with decent numbers. Not great numbers, but decent. His preshots have been mostly in the mid-upper 200s and nadirs have been in the mid 100s. Even with a messed up schedule yesterday, he only went up to I think 303 for his 2nd preshot (on a 10hr cycle).

More (?) importantly... so far, I've not seen a bounce in a little while - which I was afraid I'd see last night after he went from 303 to 136. Hopefully he's starting to get used to more reasonable numbers.

I did give him an egg after supper last night, which he ate. Didn't seem to affect his BG much, so I might give him one/day for some extra calories. Seems like a good choice, diet wise. If I remember right, they've got some omegas in them plus of course lots of protein. Just have to remember to give it SEPARATE. I mixed one with his food/water this morning and he almost didn't eat it. Had to stick around a bit longer than planned (normally leave for work right after they eat) to make sure he finished it. I finally scooped out the last few chunks of food and he ate those, leaving a little egg in the dish. I just wanted to make sure he had some extra calories in him, as I was again forced to shoot while he was still headed down, due to the schedule getting messed up with my late workday yesterday. Couldn't shoot till 5 last night (+10), so couldn't shoot till midnight (still .5 earlier than usual), so his AMPS today was only +7 instead of our usual +7.5. He only got 1.5u at the last two shoot times. Knowing the insulin doesnt hit for the first hour or two, that food provides a moderate spike, that he's almost always going back up at +7.5 without food, and how fast he goes back up, I feel pretty confident that this is safe - though I still only do it when I really have to.

At least NOW we're back to normal schedule and I should be home reasonably on time today. Going back to 12/12 is going to be SUCH a relief!

I'll be hopefully picking up his pain meds and new insulin at lunch today. Wont start the insulin until tomorrow evening though, so I can monitor. I'll take Monday off too, so will be able to closely monitor the first 7 cycles.
 
Watch out for raw egg; it can be contaminated with salmonella or e.coli.
 
Hmm... true. This is from my own backyard flock and we've never had any problems... but still maybe not worth the risk. I'm sure he'd eat it cooked too, and it only takes a minute...

Interestingly enough... this morning was a no-shoot. BG was 113 at +6.5 (6am) and 99 at +7.5 (AMPS, 7am). BEAUTIFUL numbers... but I hope he doesnt skyrocket from skipping a dose. I'll be home around 3pm today, but was planning to switch to Lantus tonight... so not planning to shoot until 6pm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top