dwildha
Member Since 2021
Tippy had her second DKA and was released from NC State on Monday. Vet said 6 u twice daily. She has a freestyle libre and her BG has not strayed from 300s she’s been as low as 250 and as high as 370. Should we give more Lantus? We cannot continue to hospitalize for ketones. If her BG doesn’t drop her ketones will continue to build up.
911! Added September 18th
Tippy is eating and acting normal. I just took a urine ketone and it looked slightly pinkish (I could barely tell it was trace) so I took a blood ketone and it is 6.0! She just got from a less severe DKA recently and last week when we posted that she was at 4.0 we called NC State and they said as long as she's acting normal, eating, and her BG (she currently has a Libre attached) is moatly under 300 they were not concerned about DKA again right now. Tonight she is at 6.00 and I am very concerned. Especially since the overnight tech at NC State explained to me that once you get ketones on the urine strip it means there's too many ketones built up and they're dumping into the urine now? I think that's how she explained it. So last week when she was at 4.0 and the urine ketones were always negative I wasn't super worried. I have been giving Tippy 6 units of Lantus since Wednesday the 15th am and pm and was about to post here and ask if I can increase the dose again or how to go about her insulin dose the correct way until we get her BG a little lower. It has been mostly in the high 200s for the last week. It was in the 300s on 5.25 to 5.5 the week before when she came home from the vet from her DKA so we increased to 6 on Wednesday and were waiting waiting 3 full days before trying to change the dose again. What can I do immediately for the ketones? She is eating well right now and I called the 24 hour pharmacy and they have 1 vial of Novalin N. Should I go get that and get her BG down a little more tonight before I get another DKA emergency? I also have a bag of sub q fluids that we can give at home, should I do that tonight? I can text or email pictures of Tippys Libre readings since they're not in the spreadsheet right now.
-Sarah
911! Added September 18th
Tippy is eating and acting normal. I just took a urine ketone and it looked slightly pinkish (I could barely tell it was trace) so I took a blood ketone and it is 6.0! She just got from a less severe DKA recently and last week when we posted that she was at 4.0 we called NC State and they said as long as she's acting normal, eating, and her BG (she currently has a Libre attached) is moatly under 300 they were not concerned about DKA again right now. Tonight she is at 6.00 and I am very concerned. Especially since the overnight tech at NC State explained to me that once you get ketones on the urine strip it means there's too many ketones built up and they're dumping into the urine now? I think that's how she explained it. So last week when she was at 4.0 and the urine ketones were always negative I wasn't super worried. I have been giving Tippy 6 units of Lantus since Wednesday the 15th am and pm and was about to post here and ask if I can increase the dose again or how to go about her insulin dose the correct way until we get her BG a little lower. It has been mostly in the high 200s for the last week. It was in the 300s on 5.25 to 5.5 the week before when she came home from the vet from her DKA so we increased to 6 on Wednesday and were waiting waiting 3 full days before trying to change the dose again. What can I do immediately for the ketones? She is eating well right now and I called the 24 hour pharmacy and they have 1 vial of Novalin N. Should I go get that and get her BG down a little more tonight before I get another DKA emergency? I also have a bag of sub q fluids that we can give at home, should I do that tonight? I can text or email pictures of Tippys Libre readings since they're not in the spreadsheet right now.
-Sarah
Last edited: