? Blood glucose testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scottish_Bella

Member Since 2017
Im looking for advice about blood glucose testing
Is there a chart or something that would tell me if blood glucose x then do y?
I will be testing in mol/L something that I could maybe print out
I have created a spreadsheet but I'm still learning and have copied the link to the clipboard, but can't find the clipboard to share it,
I am trying to educate the family on the importance of testing so that we know what's happening with Bella and how she's feeling,
Having something that I can put on the fridge to say if level is x then inject or not would be a great help
I thought I could take this slowly and get used to injecting before I started monitoring but I realise that isn't possible
I'm using the world template spreadsheet, can someone tell me what amp is and U?
I thought U was units per dose but don't know what amp is and there is +1 - +11 then PMPS then it repeats
Hope someone can point me in the right direction
Many thanks
 
AMPS is the AM Pre-Shot.....the test you get immediately before feeding/shooting in the morning.

PMPS is the PM Pre-Shot....the test you get immediately before feeding/shooting in the evening.

U is Units....how much you give.

The + cells correspond to the number of hours since the last shot.....so if you test/feed/shoot (for example) at 6am, that's your AMPS number.....if you get another test at 9am, that's 3 hours after the last shot, so that number goes in the +3 cell....if you test again at 1pm, that's 7 hours after the last shot, so that number goes in the +7 cell.....all the way up to +11 and then it all starts over again.

You should put the link to your spreadsheet into your signature (like where you have all the other information) so that when you need advice, people can click on it to see your spreadsheet. It doesn't need to be anything fancy.....just the link is fine

If you go to the top right of your spreadsheet, find the "Share".....click there and copy the link (it will say "copy to clipboard" but it's just like copy/paste).....open your signature box and "paste" the link into your signature
 
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not feed your cat within the two-hour window right before the scheduled dose time; doing this can raise your cat’s blood significantly, giving you a higher BG number based on food. This could result in your giving insulin when you should not, or giving more insulin than you should.
From: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...prozinc-pzi-insulin-for-diabetic-cats.164995/
 
Having something that I can put on the fridge to say if level is x then inject or not would be a great help
The general advice for those new to dealing with diabetes - or those who don't have a lot of blood testing data - is to not give the shot if the pre-shot blood glucose level is below 11 mmol/L (200 mg/dL). That is just so that there is some buffer of safety while you're learning the ropes.

I have put my spreadsheet link in
Well done for adding the link. However....you've used the SS for those using pet-specific meters (usually 'Alphatrak'). So, if you're going to be using a 'human' meter you'll need the other SS. .....Sorry....... I feel bad saying that after all the effort you've gone to! :oops:

BTW, would you like to tell us your name?

Eliz
 
Hi my name is Susan, hello to all
Where can I find the other spreadsheet for human meters?
Thanks for the information so if blood glucose is below 11 mmol/L then don't inject?
That's good to know, Bella has the vet tomorrow and I'm hoping the meter will be here tomorrow
I'm going to write notes for the vet in case I forgot anything, I hope they can get blood from her easily and she doesn't get too stressed xxx
 
Hi Susan,
('Susan' is my middle name :), given to me by my Scottish Mammy...),

I think (someone please correct me if I'm wrong...) this is the link for the 'world' human meters SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1JQ136YHkxNhhku9AML_OKGHkrg3Ixe27BWAdWONlnP0/edit#gid=0

...so if blood glucose is below 11 mmol/L then don't inject?
Yes. That would be the advice here, just until you've gathered a bit of data.... ...But your vet may or may not agree....;)
.
 
I've downloaded the correct spreadsheet
Following the Test, Feed, Shoot method we shoot at 7am & 7pm when is the best time to test with these times?
And how much food should she consume before we shoot? We try to feed about an hour before in the morning and 2 hours before at night to give her time to eat,
 
Following the Test, Feed, Shoot method we shoot at 7am & 7pm when is the best time to test with these times?
And how much food should she consume before we shoot? We try to feed about an hour before in the morning and 2 hours before at night to give her time to eat,

Regarding 'Test, Feed, Shoot'....
We recommend testing before every shot.
(It's a good idea, if possible, to withhold food for a couple of hours prior to the pre-shot test. (That is just so that the pre-shot test isn't elevated by food)).
Then feed the kitty.
Then give the shot.

As to 'how much food' that partly depends on your feeding schedule (how many meals a day). But the main reason for feeding before the shot is to be sure that your kitty has some food on board for when the insulin starts to work.
If the kitty is a puker (and some are...) then it can be helpful to feed a little while before giving the shot just to make sure that the kitty is keeping the food down, prior to giving insulin.

Susan, have you seen the info on using Prozinc on the Prozinc forum? ...Will find the link for you....
 
Maybe someone more tech savvy knows how. You can link your spreadsheet in a way your vet can see it online and I'm pretty sure privacy is not a concern. Make sure you note even the smallest seemingly trivial things, it all adds up.
 
I have been reading of the Prozinc information and taking notes in the hope that it will stick in my head
I had thought that she has to eat a full wet pouch before her shot, she was eating a full pouch in about 10 minutes but in the last few days only a little of it before it was time for her shot, she eats about 3 pouches a day and approximately 30g dry food, she used to only eat 1 pouch per day and the rest dried. So hopefully she is getting there xxx
 
On the spreadsheet the BG numbers above where you put the info that are colour coded what is there significance?
Is that what they should be at the time of post shot?
Thank you all for your help it is very much appreciated :bighug:
 
Took Bella to the vet today, he did a pinprick test from her ear to test her blood glucose level it was 17 mmol/L
It was 8 hours from her last shot and he seemed happy with this, I told him I was going to test at home and he was happy with this, insulin dose is to stay the same 1 unit twice a day, we have to go back in a month.
The blood glucose monitor arrived today, I tested myself I was about 4, I tested my husband and he was about 8.
I had the lancet at number 4 and I had to squeeze a good bit to get enough blood, my husband had loads of blood at number 4. What number is the best for felines? My aim is to get enough blood to test with the least amount of pain.
I am building up the courage to test Bella, wish me luck xxx
 
Took Bella to the vet today, he did a pinprick test from her ear to test her blood glucose level it was 17 mmol/L
It was 8 hours from her last shot and he seemed happy with this, I told him I was going to test at home and he was happy with this, insulin dose is to stay the same 1 unit twice a day, we have to go back in a month.
The blood glucose monitor arrived today, I tested myself I was about 4, I tested my husband and he was about 8.
I had the lancet at number 4 and I had to squeeze a good bit to get enough blood, my husband had loads of blood at number 4. What number is the best for felines? My aim is to get enough blood to test with the least amount of pain.
I am building up the courage to test Bella, wish me luck xxx
Don't worry too much about the pain aspect. They have a lot less nerve endings on the edge of their ears then people have in their fingers. About half the time I Wind up poking all the way through and it's not a big deal at all.

Aim for the sweet spot. I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC.
 

Attachments

  • 4F09A55F-BF71-4272-BC8A-0BA40BB20A14.jpeg
    4F09A55F-BF71-4272-BC8A-0BA40BB20A14.jpeg
    20.2 KB · Views: 111
Hi Susan, 17mmol isn't that bad at all...

I'm guessing you and your husband tested using your fingers, and that can sting a bit. But please be reassured that testing a cat doesn't sting in that same way. Most of us use the outer edge of the ear, and there are very few nerve endings there. And if we reward our cats with a nice treat (low carb!) they can actually come to look forward to the tests. Honestly!

I don't know how many 'depth' settings there are on your lancet thingy, but you may want to start out at a medium/high setting.
Warm ears are very, very much easier to test than cold ones.

You can get Bella a bit used to the idea of testing by just massaging her ear for a few seconds and then giving her a little treat.

I know it probably all sounds a bit challenging, but I feel sure you are going to get the hang of this pretty quickly So, be kind to yourself, and be patient. (((Hugs)))

Below are a few notes I wrote up a while back about things that I found helpful when I first started testing. But do just shout out if you want more help. Other folks will have loads of tips and tricks too....:bighug:

Good luck!

A few things that I learned:
1. Warm ears. Ears bleed so much more easily if they've warm. If they don't feel warm to the touch then briefly massaging can stimulate blood flow. Or you can hold something warm (ie a pill bottle filled with warm water) against the inside of the ear.
2. Resistance. The lancet needs something to 'resist' otherwise it can push the ear away rather than prick through it. Some folks hold a little bit of cotton wool or folded tissue against the underside of the ear, opposite to where they're pricking. I usually use a finger tip, but sometimes get blood from myself that way too..)
3. Two ear pricks can be better than one. Two ear pricks close together can often produce enough blood for a test where one ear prick might not.
4. Massaging below the ear prick with fingers and thumb can 'milk' more blood out. I almost always do this unless the ear is especially warm.
5. Vaseline: A teensy weensy smear of vaseline on the outer edge of the ear can help the blood to 'bead up' rather than disappear into the fur. I found it so much easier to see the blood droplet because of it 'sitting on top' of the vaseline.
6. Get comfortable. I find it much easier to test if I pop Bertie up onto my desk or a counter top. I find it easier to see what I'm doing, and I'm physically more comfortable. And my desk lamp is a good source of local light. ..Some people prefer to put their kitty on their lap, or are happy to test if the kitty is sitting alongside them. Find out what works best for you.
7. Remember to breathe... The more relaxed you are about the process the more relaxed your kitty is likely to be. Take deep breaths. Approach the situation in a 'matter of fact' kind of way if you can.
8. Rewards. Always reward the kitty for every attempted test, whether successful or not.
.
 
I did it result is 13.6 mmol/L at + 3.5 hours
It was the easiest thing ever. I'm very pleased put the lancet pen to 2.5 I wasn't brave enough to do it free hand, I have shaky hands at the best of times. Bella didn't even flinch and enjoyed the treat afterwards
This feels very empowering, I feel more in control of the management of her diabetes which I didn't before.
I'm off work tomorrow so will have time to do more frequent tests, to get the best data how often should I test tomorrow so that I can start to get info? Is this called a curve?
 
If you go right through the ear it's not the end of the world. When this happens to us I don't even see blood on the outside, Noah sits still like it never happened. I've heard of people dabbing the strip on the inside of the ear which should be okay as long as the ear is clean.
 
I did it result is 13.6 mmol/L at + 3.5 hours
It was the easiest thing ever. I'm very pleased put the lancet pen to 2.5 I wasn't brave enough to do it free hand, I have shaky hands at the best of times. Bella didn't even flinch and enjoyed the treat afterwards
This feels very empowering, I feel more in control of the management of her diabetes which I didn't before.
I'm off work tomorrow so will have time to do more frequent tests, to get the best data how often should I test tomorrow so that I can start to get info? Is this called a curve?
Well done!!! A curve is a reading every 2 hours for 12 hours.
 
Hi Susan, 17mmol isn't that bad at all...

I'm guessing you and your husband tested using your fingers, and that can sting a bit. But please be reassured that testing a cat doesn't sting in that same way. Most of us use the outer edge of the ear, and there are very few nerve endings there. And if we reward our cats with a nice treat (low carb!) they can actually come to look forward to the tests. Honestly!

I don't know how many 'depth' settings there are on your lancet thingy, but you may want to start out at a medium/high setting.
Warm ears are very, very much easier to test than cold ones.

You can get Bella a bit used to the idea of testing by just massaging her ear for a few seconds and then giving her a little treat.

I know it probably all sounds a bit challenging, but I feel sure you are going to get the hang of this pretty quickly So, be kind to yourself, and be patient. (((Hugs)))

Below are a few notes I wrote up a while back about things that I found helpful when I first started testing. But do just shout out if you want more help. Other folks will have loads of tips and tricks too....:bighug:

Good luck!

A few things that I learned:
1. Warm ears. Ears bleed so much more easily if they've warm. If they don't feel warm to the touch then briefly massaging can stimulate blood flow. Or you can hold something warm (ie a pill bottle filled with warm water) against the inside of the ear.
2. Resistance. The lancet needs something to 'resist' otherwise it can push the ear away rather than prick through it. Some folks hold a little bit of cotton wool or folded tissue against the underside of the ear, opposite to where they're pricking. I usually use a finger tip, but sometimes get blood from myself that way too..)
3. Two ear pricks can be better than one. Two ear pricks close together can often produce enough blood for a test where one ear prick might not.
4. Massaging below the ear prick with fingers and thumb can 'milk' more blood out. I almost always do this unless the ear is especially warm.
5. Vaseline: A teensy weensy smear of vaseline on the outer edge of the ear can help the blood to 'bead up' rather than disappear into the fur. I found it so much easier to see the blood droplet because of it 'sitting on top' of the vaseline.
6. Get comfortable. I find it much easier to test if I pop Bertie up onto my desk or a counter top. I find it easier to see what I'm doing, and I'm physically more comfortable. And my desk lamp is a good source of local light. ..Some people prefer to put their kitty on their lap, or are happy to test if the kitty is sitting alongside them. Find out what works best for you.
7. Remember to breathe... The more relaxed you are about the process the more relaxed your kitty is likely to be. Take deep breaths. Approach the situation in a 'matter of fact' kind of way if you can.
8. Rewards. Always reward the kitty for every attempted test, whether successful or not.
.

Just one thing to add to No 8 - Rewards... do give yourself a little treat too! All this can be challenging at first. I'm delighted to see how easy you found it - well done! - but it's important to remind yourself what a good job you're doing. It gives you confidence that you're learning correctly and that's very empowering!
 
I'm feeding Sheba fine flakes in jelly, 3 pouches a day and she is eating about 30g of dry food as well.
I just did the AMPS and it was 13 mmol/L but she had eaten a full pouch. It wasn't as easy to do the blood test I used the other ear but it wasn't as warm as last night so I had to jab about 4 times to get enough blood.
 
I'm feeding Sheba fine flakes in jelly, 3 pouches a day and she is eating about 30g of dry food as well.
I just did the AMPS and it was 13 mmol/L but she had eaten a full pouch. It wasn't as easy to do the blood test I used the other ear but it wasn't as warm as last night so I had to jab about 4 times to get enough blood.
I'm glad you were determined and didn't give up. Well done.
 
I'm feeding Sheba fine flakes in jelly, 3 pouches a day and she is eating about 30g of dry food as well.
Hmmm..... If those numbers that you're seeing are 'typical' (and we don't know that yet) removing that bit of dry food might make quite a bit of difference in terms of reducing her blood glucose levels further....
However, don't reduce the carb content of the diet further at this point until you're comfortable with the testing. You may find that you need to reduce the insulin dose...
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top