Blaze

@MrWorfMen's Mom

Gave Blaze 0.75U at 6:30pm, he was still hungry after 1 can of FF classic pate so I gave him some Friskie's pate. Not sure if that slowed his drop down so far, but at +1.75, he's at 316. I'm so tired tonight, I'm not sure what time I should test him again but I need to go to bed earlier than last night.
 
Last edited:
It might have slowed him down a bit but that's OK. Check him again at +2. If he's dropped a lot at +2 (100 points or more), give him a snack and retest. If he's only dropped a little, give him a snack, leave food for overnight in the autofeeder and hit the sack.
I am turning in early tonight. The late nights have finally caught up with me. :D
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

We're a little over +2 and Blaze's BG is 259, not too bad of a drop since the last test. I split 1 can of FF into two bowls of the timed feeder, one to be available at +3 and +4 and there is a little Friskie's still out. You think he's okay for the night?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
8/28/2018
Good morning! Blaze's AMPS is 401. We just can't get out of those red numbers for the AMPS:banghead:
Giving 0.75U in a bit.
I have a staff meeting at work today during lunch so I know for sure I won't be home to check on him. Will leave snacks in the timed feeder at +1.5 and +3.5.
Have a good day, we'll chat later when I get home and take his PMPS:)
 
Last edited:
@JanetNJ
Okay thank you! I was afraid he ate too much, if his brother and sister don’t finish their breakfast, he wants to finish theirs. He seemed hungrier than usual this morning.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom m
Okie dokie! I didn’t want to take food from him
when he moved on to finish his siblings leftovers, he has some snacks in the timed feeder too but I’m sure that’s more than enough. His siblings probably nibble on the snacks too. I should invest in a camera to see who’s eating the snackso_O

Have a good day! Talk tonight when I get PMPS. As always, thank you for your help!:cat:

Blaze says THANKS AUNT LINDA!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Blaze’s Friday vet appointment got rescheduled from Friday to tomorrow. I’m dropping him off at 7 am for them to do the blood glucose curve (I haven’t done one yet because I know we will be switching to Lantus eventually). He has to be there all day because I work till 5. Poor guy. I haven’t told the vet that I lowered his dose. She had us start at 2U but I only did that for two days, then we went to 1U, then 0.5U and now 0.75U.
 
Oh Sarah, Curves at the vets are useless and a waste of money given all the data you have collected up till now. I would just give them a copy of your spreadsheet and let them have a peak but leaving Blaze there all day will result in elevated BG (unless he is one weird kitty who likes being at the vet) and then the vet has erroneous fodder with which to berate you about changing the dose. I'd cancel if I were you.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Nan & Amber

That is what I was thinking too, it seems pointless because I’m testing at home AND he will be switching to Lantus hopefully next Friday, if I get it by then. And going to the vet totally stresses him out so I don’t think his numbers would be very accurate anyways. And on top of all that, I’m sure she would try to up his dose and push the prescription food on me again.

I called and told them I wanted to cancel if it was just for a BG curve because I’m going to switch his insulin soon anyways. The vet tech is going to ask if she needed to check anything else while he was going to be there or it it just for a BG curve and then call me back shortly. I’m canceling if it’s just for BG curveo_O

Thank you guys!!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@JanetNJ
@Nan & Amber

Blaze's BG at +2.5 is 360, not much of a drop so far. Maybe increasing him to 1U on Saturday when I'm home might be a good idea?

The vet called me because I cancelled the BG curve at the office tomorrow. She told me I need to change his diet (give him prescription food) and not give him snacks throughout the day, she thinks two meals a day is fine, she thinks Blaze should weigh 9-10 pounds (he's 12 pound right now) but when I brought him to the vet, he had lost a little over a pound and was SO SKINNY, I can't imagine him being healthy at 9-10 pounds. She also said me feeding him small snacks is preventing the insulin to work or last long, not that Novolin is known for dropping BG hard and fast and not lasting the full 12 hours :rolleyes: She thinks I'm not allowing the insulin to work but that BG #'s are okay to be in 200-300's and that even if he drops to 90's, he's okay. Ugh, so frustrating to talk to her! But she trusts me to handle his BG testing at home (she doesn't know I'm not currently giving her recommended dose of 2U twice a day).
 
Interesting interaction. I love that she thinks the snacks are preventing the insulin from working and that 2 meals a day are fine. So old school and if she had read the AAHA or ISFM info on feline diabetes best practices she would be much better informed. Sad that all us "civilians" do the reading while the pros don't. Oh and don't get me started on the prescription food. Vets get their nutritional education from the big pet food manufacturers like Hills, Purina and Royal Canin so they usually get brain washed into believing all the "prescription" diets are the "cat's meow" when nothing could be further from the truth. I was looking for an alternative protein food for my girl and one of my vets recommended a food that was about 30% carbs. I asked her about the carbs and she had no idea how to calculate them. I love my vets but I don't trust them for everything. At least however, mine are willing to learn. Hopefully yours is too!
 
Oh for crying out loud! Sarah, I hope you know that the information you have received here is not just blowing smoke up your kazoo (sorry if that offends you). I am just shaking my head at the vet and what she believes.

BG over 200 is over the renal threshold, and that's when more glucose is shed in the urine. BG of 200 to 300 is not ok! And I hope you do know that the Rx food is mostly crap and too high in carbs. Plus it's been through experience that the feeding of more frequent small meals does work better. These babies are hungry. If they would just look at the protocols and practices for diabetic humans they would see that many of them are transferable and workable.

Sorry, climbing down off the soapbox, it's been one of those days and I'm a little tired and quite possibly a cranky old woman, and there is nothing worse than a cranky old woman! Hmmmph.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

It doesn’t seem like she’s willing to learn, she gave me the name to a specialist if I wanted to see one, but I told her I wanted to try to get him regulated and stable myself first. I did a lot of head nodding and “mmhmmm’s” while on the phone with her. She said I can switch him to Lantus but she doesn’t think I should if the Novolin is working, even though I told her it kicks in too quickly and doesn’t last long enough and isn’t working well enough. She said I shouldn’t worry about his BG dropping too low either, he will be fine and that’s what the insulin is supposed to do :eek: she wants me to try feeding him two meals a day this weekend when I’m home, no snacks o_OI told her I’m starting Lantus next weekend when I can be home to monitor him, that I will continue to take his BG, will do my own BG curve when we are a week or two into Lantus and will continue to feed him the wet food he’s getting.

I appreciate her but she just doesn’t seem like she’s knowledgeable in feline diabetes so I am going to continue doing what I’m doing with the help of you guys :cat:
 
I appreciate her but she just doesn’t seem like she’s knowledgeable in feline diabetes so I am going to continue doing what I’m doing with the help of you guys :cat:
Good, because you will see results and "don't worry about going too low", NUTS to that, does she understand what a hypo is? You stick with this board and I bet you are going to see some very good progress with Blaze. Muah :kiss:
 
@Idjit's mom
AMEN LOU! You did not offend me at all so don’t you worry about that ;) I know that she just isn’t well versed in this. I didn’t take a thing that she said seriously. I know Blaze is hungry, I can’t feed him twice a day. There’s no way! Two meals with a couple small snacks is working just fine and eases my mind when I’m at work or asleep. I have no interest in the prescription food she’s trying to sell, it’s not going to happen. His FF and Friskies paté are just fine and he loves his pure bites freeze dried chicken treats.

I know 200-300 are not good numbers, if I stayed on her course, Blaze would never get better! It’s so frustrating. But I know me and Blaze can navigate through this with all your help, we are on the right path and I know with the help of you guys, we will be just fine. I just wanted to share my wonderful conversation with the vet:stop:
 
Most of us have taken exactly the same route. My girl had a high dose condition that my vet didn't think I needed to test for. Told me it was so rare I'd be wasting my money. Well I proved my point...vet was gobsmacked that I figured it out and admitted she didn't have a clue what to do about it. She did however agree to anything I recommended and needed her approval for and kept following up to see how my little monkey was doing. She emailed me for human meter ranges and asked me to call one of her other clients whose cat was hard to regulate. In short we have a mutual respect for one another and a partnership and I think that's reasonable. I don't expect my vet to be an expert in everything anymore than I expect all encompassing expertise from a human GP but I do expect a respectful relationship rather than a dictatorship. Sound like your vet is at least willing to partner to at least some degree so if she is good with other stuff she's a keeper.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
She seems willing to partner with me to an extent, I just think I need to prove to her that the things I’m doing are working/will work in regards to diet, insulin dose, BG tests, especially once he’s on Lantus. Maybe then she will be more willing to go along with it.

But, we are going to carry on with what we’re doing here:smuggrin:
 
Sorry Sarah. Just seeing this now! A snack may not be needed but I think I'd leave one out as you did, just to be on the safe side.
 
Back
Top