Sarah and Blaze
Member Since 2019
Blaze's BG was 506 this morning. I won't be able to come home on my lunch today to check his BG, no his next test won't be until this evening for PMPS. Is that okay?
What does all this mean exactly? I’m sorry, I’m still learning.That's fine. He's high enough he'll be OK. That high looks like it may be a bounce from last night. While Blaze didn't go really low last night, he did drop off a fair bit relatively quickly and may have dropped a bit more than you are aware of and that can set off a bounce.![]()

Yes that’s makes sense. So this drop is “normal” in the beginning of starting insulin, right? Until his body figures things out, he will likely do this drop for a while? So I shouldn’t freak out when he has a 500 number BG in the morning?
Yes, exactly. This is one reason why we're so cautious about increasing dose based on one or two high numbers. You really need to step back and see the pattern over several days to be able to distinguish a not-enough-insulin high number from a bouncing-from-going-low high number.
Yes it's all normal and no need to freak out. With time, most cats level out more but frankly the very quick action of Novolin makes bouncing a little more likely and often more dramatic than an insulin like Lantus. Because Novolin kicks into action so early in the cycle and often doesn't last the full 12 hours, kitty is on a bit of a roller coaster. I'd definitely check into Lantus as I think you'd find that would give Blaze a much smoother cycle.
Just be sure to check ketones especially while numbers are still high.
Okay, I will give my vet’s office a call today. I hope she writes with new prescription without giving me any flack. I want to get Blaze on the better insulin so we can get home stable.I'm not sure if the script needs to specifically be for the pens but it wouldn't hurt to have the vet specify. If the vet gives you any push back, point out that the pens are more cost effective because there won't be a pile of waste from the insulin going "stale". Insulin from Canada is definitely the way to go from a cost perspective and most US folks on the board order from Marks Marine. Don't forget the syringes with half unit markings too if you need a script for them in CA.![]()
Do I just ask for Lantus or do I need to ask for Lantus pens if I'm wanting to get the pens? The Lantus pens from Canada seem like the most cost effective choice.
I hope she writes with new prescription without giving me any flack.
One of the nice things about using Marks is that if your vet writes for the vial, all you have to do is call and tell them you want the pens instead. Since insulin is OTC in Canada, the pharmacist can legally do that.
Another nice thing is once Marks has a script on file for you, you never have to get another one. In the US you have to get a new script once a year. I was able to refill China's from Marks for 4 years without a new script.
I'm so glad I found Marks and everyone continues to use them!! I was so happy because I was to the point where I was going to have to take China off Lantus because I just couldn't afford it anymore. I'd been searching for someplace else for months but all the places that showed up on my searches were those "website pharmacies" that had lousy reviews. About 3 weeks before I would have had to switch to something cheaper, Marks popped up in my Google search. I called them and talked with the pharmacy manager for at least 2 hours. Then I asked a friend of mine that lived in Vancouver about them and if they were really a real pharmacy (they are!)
The thing that really convinced me they were legit was that they refused to even take my payment information until they had the script on file.
After my first order went through without a hitch and arrived safely, I started spreading the word!

Wow... that is a pretty big drop from this morning!
Yes, it's OK in the sense of 1) it's still a very safe number, and 2) he's likely at or past the peak action of the insulin and isn't likely to drop much more from here. That said, with dives like that, I'm really glad you are trying to switch to Lantus! He may be a naturally bouncy kitty anyway and still do some swan dives/bounces on Lantus, but it's much easier to manage safely than with Novolin.
Should also add: it's a good sign that he's getting down into the 200's on the 1U-- he's definitely responding to insulin!
I think perhaps Blaze dropped further last night after you got that 295 reading and that caused a bounce to that 500+ this AM
Last night was hard to get another test in because I needed to go to bed because of work in the morning. Is 1U possibly too much if he has big drops like that?I agree....anytime you get a big dive like that so early in the cycle (even with Novolin), I'd try to get at least 1 other test in to make sure he wasn't continuing to drop that much, that quickly.
Dropping 100 points in 2 hours is a pretty significant drop
I just did PMPS and he’s at 289Blaze started off lower last night so if he gives you a lower pre-shot again, then you can reduce the dose to avoid having to stay up to monitor. He's still in high numbers overall though and with his usual pre-shots I don't think the 1u is too high.
Not sure if I should stick with the 1U for his PM dose tonight? The last two days when I wake up and test him, he’s in 500+ but I don’t want him to get too low tonight while I’m asleep.Blaze started off lower last night so if he gives you a lower pre-shot again, then you can reduce the dose to avoid having to stay up to monitor. He's still in high numbers overall though and with his usual pre-shots I don't think the 1u is too high.
I fed him! I didn’t see these messages because my vet finally called me back. He didn’t eat a whole lot thoughI wonder if that has anything to do with the withdrawal of the dry food even if it is only a small reduction so far. If you haven't fed Blaze, hold off 20 minutes and retest him (sorry!). We call that a stall and we do it to see if BG is rising on it's own, staying steady or dropping.
I leave dry food out still during the day, I just don’t think he’s super interested in it because he likes the wet food.I wonder if that has anything to do with the withdrawal of the dry food even if it is only a small reduction so far. If you haven't fed Blaze, hold off 20 minutes and retest him (sorry!). We call that a stall and we do it to see if BG is rising on it's own, staying steady or dropping.
No dry food in it, just wet. So re test him then?So, when he ate just now, was it just the wet food, or was there any dry mixed in? If just the wet, it may not make a huge difference to the BG in 20. Either way, we can take it into account with the re-test number, just adds some uncertainty.
Yep. It's been about 20mins now.No dry food in it, just wet. So re test him then?
Did he eat enough that you normally would have given him his insulin or less? If he will eat if offered something he likes, you could try a dose of 0.25u or 0.5u but if he is eating less than normal and only wet, might be better to skip tonight.
Okay let me re-testYep. It's been about 20mins now.
Okay it took me three times of trying but it’s 314 nowSkip tonight then and we'll see where he is in the morning. If he isn't eating the dry food and BG is less than 250 in the morning - NO shot. If BG is over 250 and you can test mid cycle, then I'd try a dose of 0.25u as long as he is eating OK. Maybe the lower BG is leaving him less hungry because he's utilizing what he's eating better. This is all good.
I’m not sure if he’s eating any dry food, I have been leaving a little out all the time while we were figuring out his BG and didn’t want to take it away too quickly and drop his BG too low. But with him and the other two cats, I don’t knew who is nibbling on it during the night and when I’m at work. Should I take it away completely?Skip tonight then and we'll see where he is in the morning. If he isn't eating the dry food and BG is less than 250 in the morning - NO shot. If BG is over 250 and you can test mid cycle, then I'd try a dose of 0.25u as long as he is eating OK. Maybe the lower BG is leaving him less hungry because he's utilizing what he's eating better. This is all good.
Okay I get up at 5:00 am tomorrow so I will test then. I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to make it home on my lunch to test tomorrow though. Any advice?Well he certainly isn't zooming up. That is a pretty normal food bump. Skip tonight and see post #39 for tomorrow. I may not be around when you are ready to shoot tomorrow.
I wouldn't pick up all the dry food just yet. If he is still eating a bit of it we don't want to make a sudden change especially if you aren't available to monitor him more closely. He may have made the change himself which is fine and we can just deal with him conservatively for now. Will your other kittes be OK without the dry?
I'll check in tomorrow morning before I go out. What time do you normally shoot?
Okay sounds good, if BG is under 250 in the morning no shot. If BG is over 250, give 0.25 ONLY if I can test mid cycle?Ok. I left instructions in #39 on this thread. See if that helps.
If you test at 5, then I assume you shoot around 5:30/6:00? If so then, I'll check in around 8 my time (it's 11:10pm here now). If I'm guessing times wrong, let me know.