Blaze 09/16 AMPS/203, +2/261, PMPS/272, +2/142, +3/68, +4/50, +4.5/77, +5/77

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2853587/

I had a Rover person come in at around +4/+5 to give Blaze food and make sure he ate something at that time during the cycle.
But Ash did it again...he attacked her.
I had told her to not pick Blaze up at all because Ash is very protective of him and will react if anyone other than me picks up his brother.
I have cameras at home and saw that at one point she picked up Blaze to put him where the bowl was (she was trying to make sure he ate, which is really what I need Blaze to do and why I hired her) but instead of bringing the bowl to him like I told her, she picked him up.
Hell broke lose, Ash lost it and tried to attack her. So Blaze tried to protect the girl by getting Ash far from her and the two of them tumbled down the stairs. Ash sounded like a tiger.
End of the story....the girl won't be coming anymore. Ash will attack everytime now. He doesn't forget. I can't risk this. Plus, I don't want the boys to be stressed, especially Blaze.
It looks like I can't catch a break!
I will have to find an alternative solution...I will leave food myself on every floor of the house hoping that Blaze goes to eat on his own, instead of just sleeping through. Sometimes, when I am not home, they both just sleep, that's what I am worried about.
Autofeeders, not an option.
Just giving you an update, today's number is ok to shoot.
BTW, I ran out of Alphatrak strips, which are arriving on the 20th. I am labeling the spreadsheet with HM (human meter) for now until I go back to Alphatrak.
Paola
Paola
 
Wow! Can you get someone else to come in? Will Ash attack that person also?

Btw, don't put HM in the cells with the tests results. That messes up the readings in the US sheet. You can just add a row above 9/14 and say switched to human meter temporarily. I can do this for you, if you'd like.

Btw, why not make the switch to the human meter permanent? Strips are cheaper and our protocols are written for the human meter.
 
Wow! Can you get someone else to come in? Will Ash attack that person also?

Btw, don't put HM in the cells with the tests results. That messes up the readings in the US sheet. You can just add a row above 9/14 and say switched to human meter temporarily. I can do this for you, if you'd like.

Btw, why not make the switch to the human meter permanent? Strips are cheaper and our protocols are written for the human meter.

I can try and find someone else to come. Gonna try to see what I can do this weekend.
Yes please, I think you still have access to the spreadsheet.
The reason why I don't use the human meter is because I have insurance for my cats and the Alphatrack strips are covered by it, but
the human ones are not. That's my only reason.
 
I don't. Can you grant access please? No rush!
On my end it now says "editor", that should work
thank you for helping with this...I am not good with Excel stuff...or anything technological really. But they still want me to teach hybrid...:banghead:
Last year I had called my cats' insurance to ask if they covered the human strips for Blaze. They had said no. I am going to try and call again and see if anything has changed on that front
 
Blaze is going down pretty quickly during this PM cycle. I fed him twice, after the +2 reading (regular LC FF) and now after the +3 reading (I gave 1 teaspoon of 9% FF and his regular LC FF as well). I am using a human meter temporarily...with his 68 reading, does it mean he gained a dose reduction for tomorrow's AM shot?
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Do you have medium carb food on hand, Paola? Anything between 10-15% carb? Feed him a small spoon and test again in 15 minutes.
 
That's very good! I would test him again in a half an hour to make sure his upward trend continues. It's a little late in the cycle so I have high hopes that he will continue on this path. Hold off on the food and see what he throws you at 10:30. Maybe by then he will be in the mood for a snack again.
 
One more question for tomorrow's shoot. Should I still keep it at 1.25U?
I was supposed to check in after 10 cycles at 1.25U to see if I should keep the, increase it or decrease it. @Bandit's Mom asked me to check in on the forum after 10 cycles...tomorrow is the 10th cycle but tonight he hit 50. So now I am not sure...
 
With TR, you don't reduce until the cat goes below 50 if using a human meter. The reason why we would not encourage you to reduce is so that you get as much insulin in Blaze as he needs for his pancreas to heal. We never want a cat to spend too long in the 30s or 40s, but 50s are ok, and he's safe from hypoglycemia as long as you help the insulin along with some food.
 
Ok, sounds good. I will give him his usual 1.25U in the morning for the 10th cycle in a row. The +5 reading at 10:30 was still 77 but he ate a teaspoon of 9% FF. My eyes are closing...I am gonna go to sleep.
Thank you for your help tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Blaze is now a long term diabetic, so the reduction number on a human meter is 40 and not 50. So you reduce if he drops below 40 on a human meter. For cats that don't hold reductions, it is 3 drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days.

Not sure what the equivalent reduction point is for a pet meter?

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
 
With the pet meter it’s three times under 68. I don’t think anyone has said what the one time number would be when I’ve asked. If under high 50’s once I think I would reduce with AT.
.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top