? BLANCHE 284@AMPS, 1U, 115@+2 what to do with the dose? UPDATE: So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 (she ate), 73@+3.50, 76@+5, 89@+6.

Hello everyone!

I almost cry from joy when I saw a yellow one at AMPS and now a 115@+2! at the minimum dosage!
I thought to increase the dose to 1.5U at today's PPMS but now I'm not so sure...
Dare I to hope that this is a sign of a possible remission?
Any thought will be more than welcome.

Did I say that I'm so happy? 😌😊:bighug:
I’m so happy for your first yellow!!! 😊 That’s wonderful to see!

Just keep in mind that it’s a huge drop, about 170 points in only 2 hours... Υou should monitor him closely today to make sure he doesn’t go too low!
 
I’m so happy for your first yellow!!! 😊 That’s wonderful to see!

Just keep in mind that it’s a huge drop, about 170 points in only 2 hours... Υou should monitor him closely today to make sure he doesn’t go too low!
Now I'm anxious! The +2 isn't an indication for the hole 12h cycle? It can drop more? I have absolutely to leave for at least five hours if nothing else to buy more strips! That was my last one!
And when you say "closely"you mean every test every hour?

From joy to freaking out in 5min flat, at least we never get bored at this house! :cat:
 
Try not to panic! 😊 The +2 test is often used as an indication of how the cycle might go.

As a general rule (until you have more data, since ECID):
• If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, it’s usually a fairly normal cycle with some gentle downward movement.
• If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, the cycle may be more active and needs a bit more attention.
• If the +2 is higher than the preshot, it’s usually a quieter cycle.

In your case, though, the drop from 284 to 115 is steep, so it would be good to keep an eye on him today if you can. Just be aware that he might continue to drop and it’s better to monitor when possible. I would definitely test again in about an hour to make sure the steep drop has slowed down. When Maggie drops like this, what I usually do is give a little food to help smooth the curve.
 
Since Blanche dropped under 90 today (59 and 73), when following SLGS **you need to decrease the dose at your next shot today, by .25 units (down to 0.75 units!)
Only shoot if she’s high enough, if she’s too low, stall, don’t feed and ask for help!!
*She needs less insulin.

You will also need to monitor closely because the larger 1 unit dose is still in effect and can still have extra momentum tonight and into tomorrow.
Please make sure you have enough test strips, higher carb food and honey on hand in case she drops too low and you need to raise her BG!
Does anyone else think .25 units is enough to decrease or have other ideas?
@Bandit's Mom @Mary & Jude
Congratulations on the decrease today!
Please post for any questions today!! 😻
 
So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 She ate Naturea Chicken dry I don't know how much I gave her a full plate to eat as she like and then I gave her an Hydra Care ProPlan (all the three drunk from) the 30m later 73@+3.50
So are we safe? Or continue to freaking? 😅
 
Since Blanche dropped under 90 today (59 and 73), when following SLGS **you need to decrease the dose at your next shot today, by .25 units (down to 0.75 units!)
Only shoot if she’s high enough, if she’s too low, stall, don’t feed and ask for help!!
*She needs less insulin.

You will also need to monitor closely because the larger 1 unit dose is still in effect and can still have extra momentum tonight and into tomorrow.
Please make sure you have enough test strips, higher carb food and honey on hand in case she drops too low and you need to raise her BG!
Does anyone else think .25 units is enough to decrease or have other ideas?
@Bandit's Mom @Mary & Jude
Congratulations on the decrease today!
Please post for any questions today!! 😻
Thank you so much Stacy! I just bought a 50 strips package and I'm no longer concerned for Blanche's protests to being pocked so often, I will test her no matter what! <3
When you say"high enough" you mean yellow numbers?
 
So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 She ate Naturea Chicken dry I don't know how much I gave her a full plate to eat as she like and then I gave her an Hydra Care ProPlan (all the three drunk from) the 30m later 73@+3.50
So are we safe? Or continue to freaking? 😅
You want her above 50 at the absolute lowest. With SLGS, if the drop under 90 it’s an immediate.25 unit reduction at the next shot, and they need to be high enough, or you’d skip the shot or give a reduced dose.

Let me get the link to what to do.
I’ll be right back.
 
Try not to panic! 😊 The +2 test is often used as an indication of how the cycle might go.

As a general rule (until you have more data, since ECID):
• If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, it’s usually a fairly normal cycle with some gentle downward movement.
• If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, the cycle may be more active and needs a bit more attention.
• If the +2 is higher than the preshot, it’s usually a quieter cycle.

In your case, though, the drop from 284 to 115 is steep, so it would be good to keep an eye on him today if you can. Just be aware that he might continue to drop and it’s better to monitor when possible. I would definitely test again in about an hour to make sure the steep drop has slowed down. When Maggie drops like this, what I usually do is give a little food to help smooth the curve.
Hellen, I cannot really express my gratitude! Thank you, thank you, thank you! 💖❤️💓
 
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number: (SLGS)

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
 
So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 She ate Naturea Chicken dry I don't know how much I gave her a full plate to eat as she like and then I gave her an Hydra Care ProPlan (all the three drunk from) the 30m later 73@+3.50
So are we safe? Or continue to freaking? 😅
I don’t know what carb level the food you are feeding is.

You’ll want to always have on hand medium carb food and high carb food in case you need to steer her numbers higher.

I’ll get a link about these foods for you.
Please read this below about what to do if her BG is lower and concerning:

Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 prefix to the first post in your thread. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.
It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range.

ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out. A good example of why this is important is in this post from an experienced member (now Moderator) who was struggling to get her kitty's numbers to rise.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
More information here about using canned wet food to bring up her BG:

Any time she is in the 40s (she’s not gone this low that we know of, just an fyi) use high carb food and not low carb food.
Then test in 15 minutes. If not rising, then give more High Carb with a drop of karo syrup (or honey) added and test in another 15 minutes.
When they’re in the 40s we can’t mess around with low or even medium carb food.

This guideline applies also if she drops under 90.
Feed and retest in 20 minutes until she begins to bump up her BG.

You can try low carb or medium carbs. Some cats are sensitive to carbs and this will bring up the BG.
You want to steer her numbers above 90.

If low or medium carbs don’t bring up her BG, use high carbs, or you can add a few drops of honey to increase the carbs to lower carb foods.

Keep the amounts small that you feed— a teaspoon of HC each time you feed.
We need to keep her hungry when managing low numbers.
(If you fill her up and she refuses to eat and her numbers are too low, it becomes more difficult to manage the situation).

0-10% low carbs
11-15% medium carbs
16-24+ High carbs

(Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers is a good one to use)
 
Does anyone else think .25 units is enough to decrease or have other ideas?
@Bandit's Mom @Mary & Jude
Agree. A drop below 90 earns a reduction by 0.25U when following SLGS. The new dose would be 0.75U

Apologies in advance - I haven't read back to previous condos - and I presume you must have answered this question before - but I presume you are aware that Royal Canin diabetic food (both wet and dry) is too high in carbs. If you are able to slowly transition to her to a low carb diet, you could see her in much better numbers.

Is she still on Prednisolone? For the asthma? Is that being tapered off?
 
Agree. A drop below 90 earns a reduction by 0.25U when following SLGS. The new dose would be 0.75U

Apologies in advance - I haven't read back to previous condos - and I presume you must have answered this question before - but I presume you are aware that Royal Canin diabetic food (both wet and dry) is too high in carbs. If you are able to slowly transition to her to a low carb diet, you could see her in much better numbers.

Is she still on Prednisolone? For the asthma? Is that being tapered off?
Hello Bandit's Mom!

Yes, I know now that RC diabetic is not the best option, I plan a transition but I have multiple factors to considerate (two others cats with liver condition). I will plan it.
With the vet decide this week to reduce the intake of prednisolone, from ¼ every 3days to ¼ every 4 days. I dare say that her asthma start to rise his ugly head because she is start coughing more. But we will see... 76@+5. Rising but slowly...
 
Hello Bandit's Mom!

Yes, I know now that RC diabetic is not the best option, I plan a transition but I have multiple factors to considerate (two others cats with liver condition). I will plan it.
With the vet decide this week to reduce the intake of prednisolone, from ¼ every 3days to ¼ every 4 days. I dare say that her asthma start to rise his ugly head because she is start coughing more. But we will see... 76@+5. Rising but slowly...
Great job testing, glad she’s rising, (she could drop again, since you’re near mid cycle)
Hope she rises above 90 soon.
And you will definitely reduce at the pm shot as long as she’s high enough to shoot.
 
Great job testing, glad she’s rising, (she could drop again, since you’re near mid cycle)
Hope she rises above 90 soon.
And you will definitely reduce at the pm shot as long as she’s high enough to shoot.
Thanks again Stacy! Should I continue to test every hour or can let her rest a bit and test every 2?

By the way, she says hi and lot of HUGE thanks to all of you! ❤️
Screenshot 2026-03-13 at 14.42.28.png
 
Thanks again Stacy! Should I continue to test every hour or can let her rest a bit and test every 2?

By the way, she says hi and lot of HUGE thanks to all of you! ❤️ View attachment 77326
She could drop down again for a possible nadir, so I’d keep a close watch now, hourly.
Once you see her going up, I would think over 90, you could back off until later in the cycle, maybe get a +10 or +11 to see if she’s rising as you get closer to Pmps.

@Bandit's Mom
What do you think?
 
She could drop down again for a possible nadir, so I’d keep a close watch now, hourly.
Once you see her going up, I would think over 90, you could back off until later in the cycle, maybe get a +10 or +11 to see if she’s rising as you get closer to Pmps.

@Bandit's Mom
What do you think?
89@+6

So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 (she ate), 73@+3.50, 76@+5, 89@+6.
Is it ok to take a +7 and then a +9 and +11 before PPMS?
 
89@+6

So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 (she ate), 73@+3.50, 76@+5, 89@+6.
Is it ok to take a +7 and then a +9 and +11 before PPMS?
And you can continue to give a teaspoon of low carb LC food to keep her coasting along each hour.

**Just no food 2 hours before it’s feed time at Pmps, since you want to know her test will be not influenced by any carbs at Pmps. We want her to be high enough to feed and give insulin and want to know her true numbers without carbs in the picture.

Again, if for any reason she’s under 90 at Pmps, you may want to stall (as in the above instructions) and post for help).
You’ll want to see if she rises on her own and is high enough to shoot.
(Don’t go past 2 hours though). Just skip if it gets that long and she’s not rising.
@Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee
Anything we’ve missed here?
 
Congratulations on earning a reduction already! This stuff can seem a little complicated at first, but you're doing great. And thank you for sharing that photo - Blanche is a beauty! ❤️

You're getting plenty of excellent advice above. Don't be afraid to ask questions if it's too much to process all at once, though!
 
Update:

217@+8.40 (I thought give her a 2h time to rest and I missed the +8 slot :banghead: )
I think she is doing well (minus that she hate to interrupt her sleep :) )

@Staci & Ivy I search, the Naturea dry chicken is 40% carbs. (I am appalled! 75% protein, free range chicken, grain free and has more carbs than nutella! )
I will test again at +10? or earlier?
 
Update:

217@+8.40 (I thought give her a 2h time to rest and I missed the +8 slot :banghead: )
I think she is doing well (minus that she hate to interrupt her sleep :) )

@Staci & Ivy I search, the Naturea dry chicken is 40% carbs. (I am appalled! 75% protein, free range chicken, grain free and has more carbs than nutella! )
I will test again at +10? or earlier?
No I’d give her a break now that she’s bounced up.
Not surprised she bounced from being so low.
Maybe wait until +11 to see where she’s headed and post for help if she drops again.
You’re both doing great!

I’m going grocery shopping so I may be offline for a few hours with my errands.
But post for help.
I’ll try to check back 💓
 
Congratulations on handling the scare!! Very well done!

I wanted to mention two things:

1. What so many have mentioned to you earlier as you were navigating those lower numbers can be boiled down to a couple of important aspects:
When you see a significant drop at +1/+2/+3 ( >20%) from the preshot number, you might assume she'll be having what we call an "active" cycle (bg could drop low during the cycle). When that happens, you should begin giving her small amounts of either medium or high carb food (1-2 tsps--you don't want to overfeed because you want her to remain hungry in case her bg continues dropping) and testing every 20-30 minutes to see how her numbers are doing. If she continues dropping, feed again and test again in 20-30 mins. If the numbers are flat or go up, you can probably extend the testing time to an hour, but test at least 1-2 hours after giving the food because her bg could drop again at that time, once the food has waned from her system. This is a common strategy many of us follow here called feeding the curve. Here is a discussion that explains it: 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***. The key to remember is this: when she drops lower than she should, food is the tool to bump up her bg. So, what many of us do is we try to always grab a +1/+2/+3 test (depending on kitty's nadir) to get a feel for what the cycle might be like.

2. The other thing I want to mention is this: if she is currently being fed HC food, be very, very careful when/if you transition her because she is already shown (today) that she is quite responsive to the insulin. With the HC food out of the picture, her bg could drop significantly (Jude went into remission when I removed his HC food), so as you do the transition (if you do) be vigilant to test frequently to insure she remains safe.
 
Congratulations on handling the scare!! Very well done!

I wanted to mention two things:

1. What so many have mentioned to you earlier as you were navigating those lower numbers can be boiled down to a couple of important aspects:
When you see a significant drop at +1/+2/+3 ( >20%) from the preshot number, you might assume she'll be having what we call an "active" cycle (bg could drop low during the cycle). When that happens, you should begin giving her small amounts of either medium or high carb food (1-2 tsps--you don't want to overfeed because you want her to remain hungry in case her bg continues dropping) and testing every 20-30 minutes to see how her numbers are doing. If she continues dropping, feed again and test again in 20-30 mins. If the numbers are flat or go up, you can probably extend the testing time to an hour, but test at least 1-2 hours after giving the food because her bg could drop again at that time, once the food has waned from her system. This is a common strategy many of us follow here called feeding the curve. Here is a discussion that explains it: 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***. The key to remember is this: when she drops lower than she should, food is the tool to bump up her bg. So, what many of us do is we try to always grab a +1/+2/+3 test (depending on kitty's nadir) to get a feel for what the cycle might be like.

2. The other thing I want to mention is this: if she is currently being fed HC food, be very, very careful when/if you transition her because she is already shown (today) that she is quite responsive to the insulin. With the HC food out of the picture, her bg could drop significantly (Jude went into remission when I removed his HC food), so as you do the transition (if you do) be vigilant to test frequently to insure she remains safe.
Thank you Mary!
I will try to schedule the transmission just about Easter holiday in order to be able to stay at home.
Off to PMPS! :nailbiting:
 
Congratulations on handling the scare!! Very well done!

I wanted to mention two things:

1. What so many have mentioned to you earlier as you were navigating those lower numbers can be boiled down to a couple of important aspects:
When you see a significant drop at +1/+2/+3 ( >20%) from the preshot number, you might assume she'll be having what we call an "active" cycle (bg could drop low during the cycle). When that happens, you should begin giving her small amounts of either medium or high carb food (1-2 tsps--you don't want to overfeed because you want her to remain hungry in case her bg continues dropping) and testing every 20-30 minutes to see how her numbers are doing. If she continues dropping, feed again and test again in 20-30 mins. If the numbers are flat or go up, you can probably extend the testing time to an hour, but test at least 1-2 hours after giving the food because her bg could drop again at that time, once the food has waned from her system. This is a common strategy many of us follow here called feeding the curve. Here is a discussion that explains it: 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***. The key to remember is this: when she drops lower than she should, food is the tool to bump up her bg. So, what many of us do is we try to always grab a +1/+2/+3 test (depending on kitty's nadir) to get a feel for what the cycle might be like.

2. The other thing I want to mention is this: if she is currently being fed HC food, be very, very careful when/if you transition her because she is already shown (today) that she is quite responsive to the insulin. With the HC food out of the picture, her bg could drop significantly (Jude went into remission when I removed his HC food), so as you do the transition (if you do) be vigilant to test frequently to insure she remains safe.
Excellent advice by Mary!!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
 
PPMS 402!

On for a reduction of 0.25 it is!

(I cant believe I'm the same person who two days ago couldn't draw a single drop for 55m! )

Thanks again all of you! ❤️ :bighug:💖
Great job, we are very proud of you and Blanche!
Don’t worry about that high bounce. Her body isn’t used to lower BG, it’s very normal and hopefully it will lessen over time.

A very high pre shot isn’t a reason to ignore the reduction you’ve earned. You did exactly correctly by reducing tonight.
We don’t want her to have too much insulin, that’s way too dangerous.
Hope you both keep well 🥰
 
Now that all is calm and well (until the next test :) ) I want to thank you all again and one more time not only for your advice and your expertise but also and especially for your kindness and your support, for being there for Blanche and me.
If I manage to master the 0.25 marking at the syringe as I mastered :cat: the ear poke all will be well.
Tonight the PMS delayed for 45m because I couldn't spot the exact invisible line between 0.75 and 1.0. (I wouldn't find it without @hellen_maggie 🥰 )
I hope it will be not a problem for Blanche. I will try to move back by 15m three days on the row.
Can I fix the dose for the next shot at the previous one and keep the syringe on the fridge? It will be helpful to have the shot ready et not waste time and also to prepare the next one calmly and without the clock ticking.

Did I thank you all? 🥰
 
Now that all is calm and well (until the next test :) ) I want to thank you all again and one more time not only for your advice and your expertise but also and especially for your kindness and your support, for being there for Blanche and me.
If I manage to master the 0.25 marking at the syringe as I mastered :cat: the ear poke all will be well.
Tonight the PMS delayed for 45m because I couldn't spot the exact invisible line between 0.75 and 1.0. (I wouldn't find it without @hellen_maggie 🥰 )
I hope it will be not a problem for Blanche. I will try to move back by 15m three days on the row.
Can I fix the dose for the next shot at the previous one and keep the syringe on the fridge? It will be helpful to have the shot ready et not waste time and also to prepare the next one calmly and without the clock ticking.

Did I thank you all? 🥰
You can get a digital calipers if you’d like and that’s very helpful for precise dosing.
(I use one and love the consistency).
We do have a post to give guidance on this forum to explain how to use them.

It’s not advised to pre measure out the dose and leave in the refrigerator ahead of time.
(You could do it shortly before it’s time to give the shot, but not hours ahead. I’ve read the lubricant in the syringe can affect the insulin, so it’s not advised)

You could make up a “sample syringe” with colored food dye or colored soda or pop at the correct dose and use that against the new syringe you are measuring.

So glad things are calmer tonight!
Have a nice calm night! 😻
 
You can get a digital calipers if you’d like and that’s very helpful for precise dosing.
(I use one and love the consistency).
We do have a post to give guidance on this forum to explain how to use them.

It’s not advised to pre measure out the dose and leave in the refrigerator ahead of time.
(You could do it shortly before it’s time to give the shot, but not hours ahead. I’ve read the lubricant in the syringe can affect the insulin, so it’s not advised)

You could make up a “sample syringe” with colored food dye or colored soda or pop at the correct dose and use that against the new syringe you are measuring.

So glad things are calmer tonight!
Have a nice calm night! 😻
DIGITAL CALIPERS??? What is that thing and where I can found it! It will be a life - saver! When you have the time, please do share the tip! :)
Good night and thank you again! :bighug: :bighug::bighug:
 
This site contains affiliate links for which Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB may be compensated.
Back
Top