Black at Nadir - Question

Kathy4Skipper

Member Since 2021
Skipper's AM+6 number was 566. Is this a crazy bounce or did I give a fur shot this morning? I overslept this morning so no AM pre-preshot values. AM+9=538. (Sorry, but I can't test at night.)

For future advice, if he is black at nadir, can I give him just a drop of insulin? It seems cruel to make him sit in the blacks for 10-12 hours.
 
Skipper's AM+6 number was 566. Is this a crazy bounce or did I give a fur shot this morning? I overslept this morning so no AM pre-preshot values. AM+9=538. (Sorry, but I can't test at night.)

For future advice, if he is black at nadir, can I give him just a drop of insulin? It seems cruel to make him sit in the blacks for 10-12 hours.
He might be running high or it might have been a fur shot. I think you need to raise that dose back up.
 
Well, Skipper's AMPS=265 so I gave his regular 1.75u instead of raising the dose. I'll see what he does over the next few cycles and then raise it. I don't know how to read him yet. He must have gone pretty low last night since his PM+10 was 216.
 
I have a side question while I'm waiting to see how he does at 1.75u... :bookworm:

I like to test at PM+10... this is my first morning opportunity to test him... to make sure he's not too low since I can't test at night. If his number is fine at +10, is it really necessary to test at PMPS? It's an extra jab and seems to be a waste of a test strip. For example, his PM+10 was 305 this morning.
 
Back
Top