Bit the bullet. Asked for Levemir (from Lantus)

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
After much wavering on this, as those of you who are familiar with Fred have patiently seen, I've been waffling on the switch to Levemir. I just asked my vet to prescribe it.

Fred is a massive bouncer, and my main hope is that Levemir can smooth that out a bit. That, and perhaps sit with his system better, for as Fred's Lantus dose has increased, his beautiful, loving personality has decreased. I'm sure that's also the constant yo-yo of his numbers, as well as his worsening neuropathy, in spite of the Zobaline. All in all, he feels like crap. As for me, I just can't watch him continue to struggle without trying something new. It is breaking my heart. I don't want to be living Einstein's definition of insanity.

So....any encouraging words or tips on the Lantus to Levemir switch would be greatly appreciated!

A good day to all!
 
Paws crossed for the Levemir. I've seen a number of people make comments on personality improvements on Levemir. No guarantees, but we can be hopeful. I didn't think Lantus bothered Neko much, but she occasionally walked away during the shot. On Levemir, she sometimes purred through the shot.

One thing you will have to get used to, is shooting lower preshots. What you saw yesterday where they slide down into PS, not uncommon, due to the later nadirs. The good thing is the later onset means you'll have a couple more hours where they go up before the next shot takes effect. That was very helpful for me, on the rare times Neko wasn't into her food, I had more time to get it into her.

The link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-fred-amps-449-8-155.247427/
 
After much wavering on this, as those of you who are familiar with Fred have patiently seen, I've been waffling on the switch to Levemir. I just asked my vet to prescribe it.

Fred is a massive bouncer, and my main hope is that Levemir can smooth that out a bit. That, and perhaps sit with his system better, for as Fred's Lantus dose has increased, his beautiful, loving personality has decreased. I'm sure that's also the constant yo-yo of his numbers, as well as his worsening neuropathy, in spite of the Zobaline. All in all, he feels like crap. As for me, I just can't watch him continue to struggle without trying something new. It is breaking my heart. I don't want to be living Einstein's definition of insanity.

So....any encouraging words or tips on the Lantus to Levemir switch would be greatly appreciated!

A good day to all!
Welcome to the Lev family!
 
Paws crossed for the Levemir. I've seen a number of people make comments on personality improvements on Levemir.
Thank you and I've seen the same. It's one of the factors that nudged me toward my decision

One thing you will have to get used to, is shooting lower preshots. What you saw yesterday where they slide down into PS, not uncommon, due to the later nadirs.

I think that will take some getting used to, but I think if I know that's how it's SUPPOSED to go with Lev, then I'll be more comfortable. We'll see.

I heard back from my vet. She says she wants to start him on 1.5u :-( She is very cautious, and that can be a good thing, especially when she knows she has limited experience with Lev...and none with cats. I do understand that. I'm sure the last thing she wants is for something to go wrong; she is actually very caring. But something that can go wrong is also DKA, not just a hypo. Plus, if God forbid something DOES go wrong, she'll be able to see my spreadsheet and know I went way AMA. It's really a bugaboo for me. Bottom line is, what is best for Fred? What keeps him the safest?

I did ask if she could send me where she saw the content about obese cats having a stronger reaction to Lev, and she said it was not a published paper, but rather something she came across in a vet to vet board.

Sir Puss is sliding down again today.
 
Your vet has access to your spreadsheet? Maybe you could show her a bunch of other spreadsheets of cats that have switched. Do you think that would help?

As for the obese cats thing, I don't go by hearsay, but rather formal studies or lots of cases (like we have here). Just because it might have happened for one cat, doesn't mean the same for all.
 
Good luck with the Levemir. I do hope it will smooth things out for Fred! And that he will be happier on it! I know how you desperately want to try something to help him!
 
Back
Top