Bit of a bounce appears to be clearing

Lantus insulin can be very expensive in the US. Many members order from Mark's Marine Pharmacy. Reputable, real pharmacy in Canada. They only need a prescription. Have your vet give you a written prescription and tell your vet you will shop around for the best price.

Ordering Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir from Canadian pharmacies

Get the smaller insulin pen (3ml) for Lantus, not the 10ml vial. You will end up throwing away 1/2 the vial as it becomes less effective and not helping Teal'c anymore.

The lantus insulin pens are usually sold in a pack of 5. See if you can find a pharmacy where you live that is willing to sell you a single pen.

Sometimes people post on our Supply forum.
Craigslist sometimes. Needs to have been stored properly.
Ask friends, family, coworkers if anyone would be willing to sell you a single pen.
 
My great niece is a type 1 diabetic not sure what they use for her will ask after I get the vet to give me a prescription if he won't do it I'll check with a different vet. We have 3 clinicc here in town I'm sure one will do it for me.
My husband is real upset with how Teal'c is now. I don't totally blame the clinic but he thinks it's something that happened while we were gone. I think what we are seeing now all stems from our inability to get his numbers down and getting them to stay down. Not giving up I feel there is still hope.

I appreciate all your help before you came along I felt so lost and alone. Without you I'd probably still be shooting 1.75 and wondering why it wasn't helping. Thank you. I don't know how you find the time to help all the people you help here. You are truly am amazing person and a godsend to those of us who would still be clueless without you.
 
Have ordered the Zobaline not sure if I spelled that right. Won't be here till around 21st.

Thinking it might be a good thing that I have to wait till the weekend to see about switching insulin. Part of me is wondering if this is something that needs to clear just like the dog food incident. Heres why I'm thinking that way. I had them shoot 2.5 instead of 2.75 because we were seeing some greens and was afraid he would go too low and they wouldn't catch so theres that. Plus I left them with MC food to also protect him from going low while he was there.

Is this just hopeful thinking or is this a possibility. I also do realize with him any mistake (dog food, furshot) he never got back to where he was before not sure why that is however.

I read others post who start out with cats that sound worse off then Teal'c and turn them around in a couple weeks. Wish I could have been that lucky. Yes I'm having a pity party today can't help it. It always seems I move forward and then we go back making no progress. Is it time to have him tested for possible insulin resistance issues?

Just tested him +9 and he is at 519.
 
IAA or insulin resistant antibodies testing isn't usually suggested until your cat gets up to 6 units a cycle.
Ask your vet, because I don't remember for sure how high the insulin dose would be before testing would be warranted.

This new bottle of Prozinc is barely budging Teal's numbers.
Expiration date on bottle is??????

I would not hold the dose for him more than 3 cycles.
He needs more insulin.
Need to get him out of the pinks and reds at mid-cycle.

Pre-shots are the last numbers to go lower.
He was doing better on the 2.75 U dose, but it took him until cycle 6 to see some greens during mid-cycle.
 
Will check the expiration on the vial and yeah the new vial is doing less then the old. We are 1/2 hour from next shot and at the moment I am happily trapped with cats in the lap. I'll check exp at shot time.
20200215_162853.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200215_162853.jpg
    20200215_162853.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 333
6 units now that you mentioned it is what I have read on another post for insulin resistance test. Taken a sick day monday cause I'm disparate to get him sorted out. Increasing to 3 tonight will be up with him all night. See where we are by end of weekend.
Monday will see if I can get a script for lantis.
 
I just wanted to say hang in there, Patty. Yes, Teal'c had a setback, but FD is never a steady progression. It's always three steps forward, one step back. That doesn't mean you won't get to your destination. It's just never as fast as we hope it will be. Billy had pretty bad neuropathy at first, no jumping, litter caked in his hind feet, the whole thing. We didn't get to the Zobaline, though it is certainly a great idea. As we got Billy regulated, the neuropathy quickly disappeared. Every cat is different, but there is no reason at all to think Teal'c won't improve as well. Especially with you looking after him.
 
Thank you Juls. This guy has been difficult from the get go I can take all the moral support I can get. I don't need remission but do want at least regulation. I'm thinking remission is not in the cards for Teal'c.

We started out bad time of year the holidays got lost in the shuffle and stayed at 1.75 way too long. I was too afraid to change it. So here we are 3 months later trying to get a handle on it.

He doesn't handle set backs well like the dog food incident it was like he never cleared that. Before the furshot and couple days later I was seeing mostly yellows and a couple blues but preshot always red or black. After those incidents I couldn't even buy a yellow. Sorry to cry on your shoulder just feeling sad.

I just wanted to say hang in there, Patty. Yes, Teal'c had a setback, but FD is never a steady progression. It's always three steps forward, one step back. That doesn't mean you won't get to your destination. It's just never as fast as we hope it will be. Billy had pretty bad neuropathy at first, no jumping, litter caked in his hind feet, the whole thing. We didn't get to the Zobaline, though it is certainly a great idea. As we got Billy regulated, the neuropathy quickly disappeared. Every cat is different, but there is no reason at all to think Teal'c won't improve as well. Especially with you looking after him.
 
Lap full of kitties. No reason to move. Keeping you warm on this chilly day. They look relaxed and comfy.

Patience pants needed here.rainbow jeans.png All the colors of the rainbow.
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 228
Patty, could you take a closeup picture of your Prozinc insulin vial.
A picture of the bottom, before and after you have mixed it.

Want to check for white sediment on the bottom to double check if it looks thoroughly mixed.

The liquid should be a uniform milky white after you have mixed it.
 
Will try again to get a pic of the bottom got a close up of the bottle from the side but had a hard time getting the bottom. Always out of focus. Then the liquid started looking mixed up. My picture skills are not good Haha. Letting it settle and will try again.
 
Think I got good pictures. If they post in the order they were attached the bottom 2 are after mixing the top 2 are before.
 

Attachments

  • 20200216_151315.jpg
    20200216_151315.jpg
    23.6 KB · Views: 217
  • 20200216_151322.jpg
    20200216_151322.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 229
  • 20200216_151416.jpg
    20200216_151416.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 204
  • 20200216_151438.jpg
    20200216_151438.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 216
Think I got good pictures. If they post in the order they were attached the bottom 2 are after mixing the top 2 are before.
Good pictures Patty!

Even before I read your comments, was hoping the first 2 pictures were the "before" mixing pictures. You can see how much of the insulin has settled out of solution.
Picture 20200216_151315.jpg is the before mixing picture?
Bottom pinkie width is all settled out particles.

Picture 20200216_151322.jpg is a before mixing picture?
You can see some particles floating along the edge of the vial. Where the side of the glass intersects the top edge of the liquid, and you get that "cupping" effect of the liquid.

Picture 20200216_151338.jpg is after mixing picture?
Side view of vial, well mixed.

Picture 20200216_151316.jpg is after mixing picture?
Bottom of vial, well mixed

Asked for pictures once again, because when you posted pictures before, the insulin never looked that cloudy. It should look a bit like skimmed milk. That paler white color.

I don't see any insulin particles clinging to the bottom, outside edge of the glass vial bottom.
Don't see any insulin particles clinging anywhere on the rest of the bottom of the vial.
I don't see any large floating particles. (Might not see that in a picture)

Is he feeling better, acting more normal today? Good appetite?

Have you tested yourself with the meter lately? Checking your own BG levels is one way to check the meter.
 
You are right on which picture is which. So the mix looked good?

Appetite is excellent today however it was Friskies salmon Pate he loves fish stopped giving him dr Elsey's dry for the moment started that at pmps last night, doing all canned Friskies pate bought a box of 40 cans fish and poultry to see if the dry dr Elsey's is influencing his numbers. He did jump up in his testing chair today but meows at cat gate for us to open door for him. Won't try to jump gate, could be an age thing since he will be 14 in June, I know at my age of 63 there are very few gates I would jump as well. He is acting ok just always tired, also could be an age thing. He did play with a pop ring my husband had. Has always loved strings and dangling things.
I should test myself because we did have an incident with meter where the 4 year old lynx point stole the meter from me and started batting it like a hockey puck. Got it from her pretty quickly that happened back in December. I'll test myself and see what I get what number appx should I see?

I took a sick day tomorrow (payed time off) so I can devote some time to getting him straightened out. That gives me till next Friday to see if the dry food or increase in dose has helped and hopefully have a course of action by then. I do work from Friday through Sunday won't know beyond that till Friday.
 
That looks good. Right on the 3 unit line on the U40 syringe. Red caps, so I know they are U40.

p.s. Headed off to cat sit. For someone with a diabetic cat. May not be back here until later on Monday.
 
Am smiling right now. Finally Saw a number below 300. At around 2.25 after shot he was acting very hungry not like him. I decided to check him and he was at 281. Not a great number but for him it was nice to see. Thinking this is something he isn't use to and that's why the sudden hunger.
 
That hunger is a good sign. His body can tell it'd blood sugar is lower than normal, so it thinks it needs to eat to avoid a crash. Yes, it's still high, but it's always good to see the numbers start to come down. He'll feel better when his BGL isn't so high. Keep an eye on him, since you are easing out of the dry food entirely. The not wanting to jump thing could be from the diabetes. We though Billy was just getting a little older, but now that his sugar is down, he's jumping like he hasn't done in a long time. So, you might not count on that gate working forever.

With the lower BGL and the hunger, you might see a little bounce at the next pre-shot. Don't let it worry you if you do. Keep an eye on those mid-cycle tests to see how he's doing.
 
Finally! It's about time that Teal'c got a number back in the yellow range.
Love the new picture of him in your Avatar.

Glad to read on your SS that he is feeling better and enjoying the Friskies canned pate style foods.
Does he have a favorite flavor, or does he love them all?

I cat sit for a family with 3 cats, 2 guinea pigs, aquarium with fish.
Their diabetic cat and the other 2 love the Chicken and Tuna Friskies.
Turkey & Giblet, Liver & Chicken and Poultry Platter are 3 other favorites.

Chewy.com sometimes has good prices. Better than the supermarket or grocery store. Need to buy the minimum to get the free shipping. $49. Just did another cat litter and treats order for myself. Nothing beats having those 40# bags of litter delivered right to my door. Well, unless I'm home and can get the delivery person to place the boxes "over the threshold." Saves my back.
 
Unfortunately his favorites are fish did not like the chicken and tuna but has already eating all the salmon dinner I put out for him.

Looks like he is having the same trend today going into yellows only slightly lower at +8 233. I slept in today so if 233 @ +8 he may have gone into a high blue but no way to know since I missed it.

Going to be out of the house we dented my car on vacation so have to go see our agent and my mom lost her cat Saturday so going to see if she is doing ok. He was 16 y/o had been looking ruff of late and had skinnied up. Hopefully I'll catch some lower numbers tonight.
 
Yeah he got my car against a parking garage wall the wall won. Full coverage so it will be fixed. Take it to shop to be fixed tomorrow.

Kinda hate doing this to Teal'c but going to do another curve of sorts tonight. I'm happy to see the yellows but still would like to see blues or even greens. Thinking I may need to go to 3.25 but since he's BG is starting to react to the 3 by going lower I want to know did we get into the blues. Then base my decision on the curve tonight. I know he has been slow to react to changes in the past so am keeping that in the back of my mind. This mornings shot would have been the 4th cycle, tonight the 5th at 3 units, if I counted that right. What do you think?

Thank you picture was taken this weekend after we got home.
 
Teal'c is such a handsome boy! Nothing at all wrong with doing another curve. You could even just do a short curve, every 2 hours for around 6 hours, until you see the BGL start to climb back up. Just remember every curve is different. If you don't see those blues next curve, that does not mean he isn't making good progress. But I've got my fingers crossed for the blues!
 
Oh Juls good idea with the mini curve. Honestly he does so well with the testing. It's harder to give him a pill or even changing his flea collar both of these take 2 people to do, but poking his ear no problem lol.
 
Hugh appetite this evening. Did a +1 doing odd hours tonight for something different. Went from 428 at pmps test to 515. This is the kind of stuff that frustrates me. Hopefully this is just an increase cause of food.
 
Try to be patient. If he did hit the blues earlier, he could have some bounce, so don't let higher numbers make you think he isn't making progress. It can take 3 cycles for bounce to clear.

As Deb always says, patience pants required.
 
Thanks Juls, sometimes it's hard to be patient especially when you just want them better. This has to be the worse rollercoaster I've ever been on.
 
Yes, you will often see what we call a "food spike" in the blood glucose numbers. That happens 1 to 2 hours after feeding and after you give the insulin. That is what you saw with the +1 test.

I'd increase the insulin to 3.25U for the morning. 2/18/2020
 
Thank you for that. That is what I thought would be best as well. Thank you Deb your advice is invaluable to me. You too Juls.
 
Insomnia. Couldn't sleep. Checking the message board. Catching up on the last 8 hours of posts since I was last signed on.:bookworm:
 
I'm getting ready to lay down. Been lurking on the board most of the night. Ran out of post to read on main health and Prozinc forums.

Still thinking about Lantus. I've looked at that board and it looks uhmmm confusing lol and extremely busy. But I don't feel I'm getting very far with Prozinc. Not sure if Lantus would be any better however if I don't try I'll never know.

Omg I'm owned by the Chambers clan lol. I feed everyone at the same time to keep Teal'c out of forbidden food. The chuwennie will only eat if I'm near by and the shih tzu now has to have breakfast in bed oh my. When I say that I'm laughing. The lynx point Shefoo waits for the old guy Teal'c to get done before she eats. Got to love them.
 
Sleep well.

Laughing too at the antics at your home during feeding time.

Ask any questions you have about lantus.
Know a fair amount about most of the insulins used here.

Went back to bed around 5:30 after getting through all my watched threads. Read a few posts in lantus forum too. Didn't comment on any of them.
 
196 beautiful number but not at shot time. Stalling to see if rising don't want to not shoot and throw him off again he comes back from things slow or not at all.
 
196 is close enough to the 200 threshold for giving a shot of insulin, that I'd go ahead and give the insulin if I were you.

Simply monitor tonight.
 
Saw on your SS that you were wondering if you should give Teal'c the Zobaline or not.
It's a B vitamin, and any excess is excreted in the urine. Won't hurt, may help the neuropathy.

You have never given Teal'c a dose of insulin when his pre-shot test has been that low. Perfectly understandable that you are nervous.
 
Hoping giving the full dose will limit the high on the expected bounce. I didn't want to skip cause his rebounds from anything is not good. Yes I was wondering about the Zobaline figured it wouldn't hurt.

Sorry about my long remarks on SS they are for me a place to put my thoughts. In some ways they help me and I can look back and see where I was at any time after I started using it that way. Also it helps you I'm guessing to see my thoughts and or questions with out me writing a novel here lol.
 
Patty, I absolutely LOVE seeing more detailed remarks on the SS. No apologies for more detailed notes on the SS. Please. Do not EVER apologize for doing those notes. LOVE seeing them.

When I look at spreadsheets, I don't simply look at the BG test numbers. I look at those Remarks also. Even had a member make notes on the SS and wondered if the vacuum cleaner noise was stressing her cat out. I even remember who that was.:)

Wish more people did those notes. Whenever I review spreadsheets, I urge other members to make notes on the SS such as which food, fed when in + hour format, how much, snacks etc. Any changes you are doing. Anything you think may be helpful. Behavior notes help too.

So much help when looking backwards in time and trying to figure out what happened, looking back at the history and seeing those waves of patterns on the SS. Helps to put the BG numbers in context. It's like learning to read in a foreign language. :bookworm:
 
Back
Top