Bit of a bounce appears to be clearing

I'd only suggest raising Teal'c dose a tiny amount. From 2.5 to 2.75. That is because he is bouncing so much.

A day when you can monitor is best for dose changes.
 
Last edited:
I work in quality control for Hostess Brands. We make cupcakes donuts twinkies zingers and coffee cake.
I have tomorrow, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. I'll explain to Bobby we are raising Teal'c's dose and it is important we know what he is doing to avoid killing him. That might get his attention. I could increase tomorrow.
 
Choice is your's Patty, on when to raise the dose, with your days off that you have coming up. If it were me, I'd do the first available day off to increase.

1. Have you considered using a CGM (continuous glucose monitor)? I've seen more comments about people using that for their cats. The libre has been mentioned. The only things I know about it are it's expensive, cat's can dislodge it, lasts for about 2 weeks, fur grows back and then the monitor can't attach as well. Might be something to consider, especially with your time away coming up and Teal'c being boarded.

2. Do you remember when you did the food change from Fancy Feast and Friskies to the Dr. Elsey's?? Roughly, the timeframe. Trying to see if that food change had anything to do with the need for increasing doses with Teal'c.

3. Convince Bobby to test every night before he goes to bed, at Teal'cs PM +2 time. Gets you a bit more data. What if you get sick? Will Bobby test then or would you have to do the testing still?
 
The dry dr Elsey's was on the 23 of December and the wet was january 11 I ordered through amazon so was able to check when I received it. Humm you notice the trend of higher numbers right after the change. Never noticed that was wondering why we lost those few blues we had started to get. Assumed it was the dog food incident was why we lost gound.

Will have a talk with Bobby I know he wants what's best for Teal'c.

Yes have wanted to look into that I've read good and bad about it but would allow me a complete picture. Will get with vet on monday and see if I can get one.
 
If you decide to try the Freestyle Libre, I'd still recommend a pre-shot test before each insulin shot.
Couple of threads about people here using the Libre for their cats.
FreeStyle Libre: video, demonstration, explanations, tips – discussion!

Results of Using Libre on My Badger

Trying to figure out the "why" behind the increased numbers can be difficult.

There can be multiple reasons. Bouncing, "fur shot", skipping a dose, food change, higher carb food (dog food incident), holding the dose too long leading to insulin resistance. Having no one to guide you since we thought someone was and you fell through the cracks when we expected that someone else to be helping you and their cat got really sick. Catch-22 situation.

You lost the blue after 1/10/20. But you were getting some nice yellow ranges 1/11 to 1/15/20.
 
Second post to you today Patricia. Trying not to overwhelm you, but I'm being a bit of a detective to figure out why Teal'c is so high.

Look for any possible "sneaky" carb sources that Teal'c may be accessing. We had another member recently that had a diabetic cat and a CKD cat. CKD cat food was up high and this other member thought the diabetic cat could not reach the food, could not jump that high. She was wrong, and BG numbers dropped when she switched her cat to another diabetic friendly food for the CKD cat and started the use of a phosphorus binder for the CKD cat.
  • Any people food in reach? Chips on top of fridge, bread on the counter, crackers sitting out somewhere.
  • Butter out on the table (my cat loved butter and knocked off the lid to the butter dish and would eat half a stick before you knew it.)
  • All dog and cat food secured in a cupboard your pets can not reach? (Had a girl cat that would open the bi-fold door to the closet and sneak in and chew open the bag of dry food. Put a simple hook and eye closure on those doors.)
  • Kitchen cabinets secured? (Had a cat that would open the under sink cabinet and put his head in the bag of dry food I had there for feeding the feral cats. Put one of those stretchy elastic hair ties over the 2 knobs to secure those doors.)
  • Nothing left in the kitchen sink? (I put all my food waste in a plastic bag and put it in the freezer so it doesn't stink up the trash can. Then out with the trash when I go to the dump or put my kitchen waste in my compost bin/pile.)
  • No empty cans of food with little bits of food still stuck to them? Like dog food cans, yogurt containers, soup cans, etc. No dishes with baked goods soaking in the sink to help clean up the baked on crud. (Had a cat that would jump down into the sink and lick anything he found there. I don't leave anything in the sink for more than a few minutes anymore.)
  • Crumbs of food spilled on the kitchen floor or elsewhere? Carb sources for kitties.
  • Does your cat or dog open pull out kitchen cabinets? (I moved dry pet food to a pull out drawer. Never had a cat that could open one of those pull outs, but have heard of cats that can do that.)
I changed my habits when I fostered a diabetic cat and really had to think about what he could get into. My avatar is Wink, up on the "breakfast bar" on my kitchen island, giving me the "skeptical side eye look" and wondering when I'd feed him next. Wanted to know what I was cooking up special, just for him.:rolleyes:
 
Sorry it took me so long to get back with you. Had a terrible migraine Sunday and Monday. Better today. The bread is kept in a spot he could get to but in a plastic bread box with locking lid. I always make sure the dog food gets picked up but I sit the dog food bowls on kitchen counter usually with a little bit of food in them, I will start emptying them when they are done. Strangely I hover over them while they eat to steer Teal'c clear of their bowls. He always finishes before they are done. The chuwennie is a messy eater so always have to sweep floor after she is done. I keep the dog food in a bathroom trash can with the foot pedal also the HC cat food for just incase is in another trash can with foot pedal.
He could be finding food around the sofa where my husband eats being a man well you know. The pantry Is on the basement landing behind closed doors and food in the kitchen is kept in upper cabinets

I have caught Bobby giving him the little bit of milk at the bottom of his cereal bowl in the morning and never thought of that till now. Could that do it??? Omg honey nut crispy oats that might be part of it 12g sugar and grains.

I will talk to him about not doing that. It never dawned on me because it's not much, less then a teaspoon but bet it has residue from the cereal in it.

I have increased him to 2.75 today will test him a couple times before I lay down and then just before I go to sleep. When I get up will test again. I don't go in till 7pm this week so can test pmps and +1 before I go to work. Also bought some ketone test strips, from other post I've seen I think I should test him since he likes to be so high.

Will try to think of any other possible ways he could get contraband.
 
I have caught Bobby giving him the little bit of milk at the bottom of his cereal bowl in the morning and never thought of that till now. Could that do it??? Omg honey nut crispy oats that might be part of it 12g sugar and grains.

I will talk to him about not doing that. It never dawned on me because it's not much, less then a teaspoon but bet it has residue from the cereal in it

Definitely a good idea to ask him to stop doing that. Milk contains sugar, so that can affect the levels with or without cereal residue.
 
Can you set an alarm so you can wake up to do another test in an hour or two instead of staying up? Then you'd be able to get some sleep in too. That's what I've started doing in the evenings since I can't stay up until midnight and get up at 5:30am every day.
 
He could drop a lot more, but it's also possible it'll level off and not drop as drastically after this. You could also give him a little snack to help slow the drop.
 
Down in the BLUES again!!! with the increased dose. Exciting but scary too.
Dropping below 100 would be more of a concern. Only feed maybe a teaspoon of Teal'c regular food.
Dropping below 50 would need more intervention to slow the drop and bring the BG numbers back up again.
Teal'c usually "surfs", or stays more in steady numbers between +4 and +8.

Patty, I know how much you worry about Teal'c but you need to get some sleep too. You are running yourself ragged and will lower your resistance to a cold or the flu.

No more contraband milk and cereal dregs for Teal'c. Sometimes brainstorming can make you think of possibilities of what might be going on and change them.

How about the clothes you wear to work? Any food residue from the plant you work it? On clothes or on your shoes?

p.s. Patty, I have to go grocery shopping, my cupboards are getting bare. Can't stay on the message board to help you. Please post over in the Feline Health Welcome & Main forum if Teal'c gets really low numbers.
 
BG of 120 is ok. A bit of regular food is the correct thing to do.
The 2.75U dose may be the "right dose" for Teal'c right now.

p.s. Ok. I'm back home, fridge and kitchen cupboards restocked. Having horrible response time on my computer today. Hope I don't lose my internet connection.
 
So bit beyond the +6 but 98 just now. Really thought it would be heading back up. However my first green and my it does look pretty.
 
First green. Come on Teal'c eat your food!
Bobby needs to test in the PM cycle.
But you knew that already.
 
Really thought I was starting to have an understanding of diabetes but how much the .25 changed things is boggling to the mind. Kind of wish I had giving him medium carb food at the 90 to help bring him back up to a shot number. I do have to say I really love the looks of his numbers today
 
Some cats rise quite a bit in the last hour with Prozinc. I realize you have to go to work, but if there is any way Bobby can test at PMPS, then you might not have to skip.

You could also give a reduced dose, but I don't know what that might be. Use your best judgement.

If you have fed Teal'c within 2 hours of the pre-shot test, than that number could be food influenced and it may be better to skip the shot.
 
p.s. Just saw the 127 on Teal'c SS at PMPS. Too low to give a shot tonight. Skip the insulin and pick up with the AM cycle.
 
Ok I'll go ahead and feed cause your right don't think it will raise enough by the time I leave for work might be high in morning with a possible bounce and the skipped shot so won't freak out question should I stick with the 2.75 in the morning.
 
Good call. You are learning more about what to do in certain situations.
No freak outs necessary with a high BG.

Yes, expect a bounce in the morning from the skipped shot and the low numbers this morning.
Yes, I think you should stick with the 2.75U for the morning.

p.s. My internet connection has been flaky and non-responsive all day. Makes it tough to help you, but there should be people over in the Main Forum to help if I'm not around.
 
I had thought about the stalling post to the main health forum but pretty much already knew what was going to happen.

I'm so thankful for you and all your advice. And I'm so happy over the numbers today.

Thank you again without your help I might not have gotten this far :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We are leaving town Monday and had thought about dropping back to 2.5 for the clinic while he stays there. However, he seems to have almost flatlined since the one day of beautiful numbers. Now I'm thinking I should have them stay at the 2.75 that going back to 2.5 would be a step backwards. Not even sure why he has flatlined unless this is still him trying to get over the shock of the good numbers.
 
Want to add doing a curve this weekend before we leave but if he keeps this new trend it will still look like a straight line
 
Sorry for the multiple post in a row but also thinking about starting the new bottle of insulin this weekend to see if that makes a difference
20200207_172706.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200207_172706.jpg
    20200207_172706.jpg
    33.7 KB · Views: 330
Will the pet boarding place where Teal'c be staying be doing more BG monitoring than they did the last time?
 
I always thought the suspension insulins like Prozinc were a bit cloudier than that vial in your picture.
Do you roll gently to get the insulin back into suspension?
So the Prozinc looks evenly mixed before you withdraw with the insulin syringe?
 
I don't think you should start the new bottle of insulin.
Why?
  • If the boarding place for Teal'c is so lightly staffed, they may forget and leave the insulin out and forget to refrigerate it.
  • If they do that, your brand new bottle of Prozinc would be "toast".
  • With a fresher bottle of insulin, there is the chance the insulin could take Teal'c BG levels down too low while being boarded and mostly un-monitored.
  • Didn't sound to me like the staff was even going to test at every Pre-shot.
  • Most boarding places do not have staff there 24 hours a day.
  • So no one will be there at night to observe if Teal'c has hypo symptoms.

  • Many people lower the dose when they go on vacation, and have someone else caring for their cat. To keep the kitty safer.

"Better to high for a day, than too low for a moment."

This thread over in the Lantus forum was talking about the steps to take when going on vacation.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-a-slight-panic-attack.225238/#post-2521321

Might be worth reading.
 
No they don't test much at all. This is the clinic that the vet when I asked about hypo told me to watch for Teal'c to let out the worst cry ever and that would be how I would know he was in trouble, ah WHAT. He also didn't think changing his food from the 36g of carbs food I was feeding or home testing was necessary. Glad I didn't listen to him Teal'c is hard enough to bring BG down without adding HC food into the mix.

So will make out a note explaining how to treat Teal'c take the old vial and drop back to 2.5 units (my syringes have 1/2unit marks) to keep him safe.

When I get back I am going to start the new vial of Prozinc. I can hear the vet now he will tell me Teal'c is still running high and to increase to 3 units he will know this off the couple test they will do. Just drives me nuts that they think limited testing tells the whole story.
 
We are back have picked up the kitties from clinic. They said he had a bad day yesterday so bad they said they decided to check his BG and it was 542. He doesn't seem himself. Very tired not very active. I tried to get a ketones test with strips but wasn't quick enough with the strip.

I did check his BG and it was 458. Not totally unusual for him. Started a duplicate line for today since they gave AM shot and I will do PM. Going back to 2.75 and will be home to test tonight. When I went to test him he didn't move at all which is unusual for him, he doesn't fight me but normally he would at least move a paw up toward face. Or do something to let me know he knew what I had just done. Kind of worried about him but maybe he is just comfortable with being home ate well after I got him home. He is acting very weak. I also added a line stating I have started a new vial.
 
How is his appetite Patty? You said he ate when you got him home.
Did he eat ok when he was being boarded?

Did they only test the 1 time while he was being boarded?
 
Yeah they said he wasn't eating well when they had him.

His appetite was excellent when I got him home ate 1/2 can Friskies ocean whitefish and tuna dinner Pate in a couple mins.

Yeah they only tested the 1 time when they thought something was wrong then they said they didn't charge me for it. I was like uhmmm thanks. What I was saying in my mind I can't use here.
 
Not eating well at the boarding facility so even more important to try and get that ketone test.

I'm betting you are going to say you have to work tonight.

What I was saying in my mind I can't use here.
Something along the lines of *%&*^%@!!!!! What the !&%$$@!!!!!
 
No still off should not go back to work till Thursday so plenty of time to get Teal'c back into the routine again. Will test throughout the night with the new vial and how he is acting.
 
Good news on the no ketones! I'm glad you'll be home for a bit to get Teal'c some TLC. I'm sure he was stressed at the boarding, and him not eating enough didn't help matters. Now that he's home with you, I'm hoping he gets back on track soon. Can't believe they gave him insulin without testing first. I guess I shouldn't be surprised, what with so many vets thinking regular testing isn't necessary.
 
Ran high all night. Guessing like anything else that disrupts him it will be a few days before we see a change again. My boss scheduled me in on Monday so instead of what I thought I'd have off I now have Saturday, Sunday work Monday then have Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday off. Going to bed now very tired lol.
 
Ok, Patty.
Sounds like a plan.

Especially the part about getting some sleep because you are very tired.

It may be time to increase the dose for Teal'c again. It's your call.
It may be time to consider using a different insulin for Teal'c like Lantus.
 
I have been thinking that myself that a depot insulin might be better for him. I think the leg weakness and his sudden inability to jump (he tries but he just flops) might also be the beginning of neuropathy. He hasn't gain any weight, however he hasn't lost any December he was 13.9lbs yesterday when picked up 13.8.
Clinic closes early today so will get with them on Monday. I talked to vet about changing insulin last month when I had my melt down over Teal'c's high numbers.

In the mean time I will up his dose to 3.0 I really need these numbers to come down. Once again I can feel the tears in the back of my throat.

Also going to try to find the post about the stuff I need for neuropathy I do believe that's what I'm seeing he isn't walking on hocks yet but there is new leg weakness and he appears to knock kneed ??suddenly can't jump.
 
1. Zobaline for cats the one without xylitol in it. It contains methyl B12 and Folic acid in one pill.

2. Vitacost has only the methyl B12 and you can buy Folic acid at a pharmacy or drugstore. Less expensive option, even if you buy the folic acid separately.

Diane Tyler's Mom said this in someone else's post.
"Hi I bought the methyl B-12 online from Vitacost and the folic acid from a supermarket or pharmacy.
I buy the folic acid 400 mcg and cut then in half and crush them, because the Zobaline has 200 mcgs in it."

No idea what the shipping costs are. https://www.vitacost.com/productsearch.aspx?ss=1&t=methyl b12

3. @Diane Tyler's Mom has all the info. I've tagged her so she will stop by and give you all the info on the lower cost Vitacost option. If I forgot anything. Maybe special deals, first time customer deals, promotion code, coupons. How to save on shipping.

4. Thread that talks about feline diabetic neuropathy.
Zobaline And leg Neuropathy question-‘
 
Back
Top