Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Hello,
my cat (13 years, quite overweight with 7 kg) was diagnosed with Diabetes at the end of January. We startete with Lantus at the 23th of January. My vet advised a high starting dose of 2 IE because of her high numbers. After 10 days we already increased at 2,5 IE, because the numbers stayed high. One weak after the rise her bloodsugar startetet to rise up and down from very high (> 450) to quite low (80 mg/dl) in short time.
We switched the dose back to 2 IE and than to 1,75 IE (my vet did not recommended this but I got scared) and now to 2 IE back again since one week. The up and down in high speed is gone but now the bg ist always between 300 and 500 mg/dl.
My vet recommended switching to 2,5 IE but I am scared that the up and down starts again. I found your forum and the SLGS approach.
My question: Can I start from here - 2 IE - and increase by 0,25 IE after the protocol or do I have to go back to the starting dose 0,5 IE? One one side I am concerned to loose time and on the other hand I wonder how to finde out, if she is already overdosed.
Thanks so much for you help!
my cat (13 years, quite overweight with 7 kg) was diagnosed with Diabetes at the end of January. We startete with Lantus at the 23th of January. My vet advised a high starting dose of 2 IE because of her high numbers. After 10 days we already increased at 2,5 IE, because the numbers stayed high. One weak after the rise her bloodsugar startetet to rise up and down from very high (> 450) to quite low (80 mg/dl) in short time.
We switched the dose back to 2 IE and than to 1,75 IE (my vet did not recommended this but I got scared) and now to 2 IE back again since one week. The up and down in high speed is gone but now the bg ist always between 300 and 500 mg/dl.
My vet recommended switching to 2,5 IE but I am scared that the up and down starts again. I found your forum and the SLGS approach.
My question: Can I start from here - 2 IE - and increase by 0,25 IE after the protocol or do I have to go back to the starting dose 0,5 IE? One one side I am concerned to loose time and on the other hand I wonder how to finde out, if she is already overdosed.
Thanks so much for you help!
Last edited: