Binie - switching to SLGS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Hello,

my cat (13 years, quite overweight with 7 kg) was diagnosed with Diabetes at the end of January. We startete with Lantus at the 23th of January. My vet advised a high starting dose of 2 IE because of her high numbers. After 10 days we already increased at 2,5 IE, because the numbers stayed high. One weak after the rise her bloodsugar startetet to rise up and down from very high (> 450) to quite low (80 mg/dl) in short time.

We switched the dose back to 2 IE and than to 1,75 IE (my vet did not recommended this but I got scared) and now to 2 IE back again since one week. The up and down in high speed is gone but now the bg ist always between 300 and 500 mg/dl.

My vet recommended switching to 2,5 IE but I am scared that the up and down starts again. I found your forum and the SLGS approach.

My question: Can I start from here - 2 IE - and increase by 0,25 IE after the protocol or do I have to go back to the starting dose 0,5 IE? One one side I am concerned to loose time and on the other hand I wonder how to finde out, if she is already overdosed.

Thanks so much for you help!
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB!

You do not need to start over with your dose. However, we are very numbers oriented and strongly recommend that you are home testing your cat's blood glucose if you're not already doing so. It's the best way to make sure your kitty is in safe numbers and it's the only way for us to be able to help you if you have questions about dosing. We have links to information on home testing if you need help.

The information we need in order to be helpful is in this post we refer to as helping us to help you. The post outlines information to put in your signature so we don't keep asking you the same questions. It will also be helpful if you include what country you're in since it seems like you may be from outside of the US. We also ask that you set up a spreadsheet so you can keep track of your cat's progress and so we can follow along.

My best guess as to what you're seeing is what we refer to as a "bounce." When a cat's blood glucose (BG) numbers drop into a range that's lower than what the cat is used to, the cat's pancreas and liver overreact by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counter-regulatory hormones. These cause the BG to rapidly rise and it can take several cycles for the numbers to come back down. As your cat becomes more accustomed to lower numbers, the bounces begin to flatten out.

One other important factor with managing your cat's diabetes is a low carbohydrate diet. That may also be a consideration for you.
 
Thank you for the reply and the warm welcome! Good to know, I don't have to start over again with the dose. I get a little worried, because it takes so long. I am already hometesting with the free style libre and also with a Accu check. Unfortunately she is not very patient getting tested.

I also changed the food to low carb. She is a dry food fan but I switched to one very low in carbohydrates and try to encourage her to eat more wet food.

I try my best with the spreadsheet. And yes, I am from outside the US, I'm from Germany.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top