BigMac checking in AMPS 137, +4.5 ~ 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

CD and BigMac

Member Since 2009
Blownaway2.jpg


BigMac is doing fine and during all the turmoil of the storms earned a dose reduction. Weird timing - but whatever works!

I am not sure when I last posted, but I believe it was just before the worst storm hit. The day was a lot worse than I originally realized. There were 10+ tornados in the general area and 5 of them in the immediate area. 73 fatalities confirmed in the metropolitan area. We are fine and so far no one we know personally was injured.

The utility poles are snapped in half; electric lines further up & down the street are in trees or on the ground. Roads closed in places, debris from where-ever and we didn't even get a direct hit from the tornado.

We still do not have electricity. My battery back-up is long gone, but I managed to get a generator and we can recharge now. Going on 5 days without power. Most of this is manageable without too much difficulty. Although finding ice was very difficult for a few days. We now have one lamp and an induction burner for cooking and we powered the refrigerator in our garage. It was too late to save all the food so that was a mess. Then we were able to get one TV working, which made my DH very happy! We are expecting rain tomorrow and that means we cannot use the generator. So we will be back in the dark again. There are power crews from 18 states in the area to help restore the service, but the damage was so widespread that they have a lot to do. I don't think we are at the top of the list. That's ok. There are so many others that have greater need and have lost so much.

I'm using my cell service to connect and have already used up a month's allotment in 3 days. Our phones were knocked out too so we have been contacting family via this cell service.

I can't update the SS yet... My iPad or Google docs are cranky about it. But BigMac was 40 the other day so I was running around with a flashlight trying to find him and keep testing.
Whew!

Looking for some normalcy soon. That would be nice.
Hope everyone is having a lovely day and all kitties go OTJ. :lol:
 
I'm so glad to hear you are ok. I have some relatives in your area, and I know nobody is hurt but there isn't much information coming out otherwise. Scary stuff.
 
Hi CD, Good to hear that you and the family are OK, if power-challenged. The intensity of the storms that hit your region is unreal. Stay safe and we hope that your electricity will be on again soon. Good thing that you got a generator! I hope it doesn't rain!!
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow CD - thats horrible weather. I'm glad you and your family/friends are okay. I didn't know you couldn't run a generator in the rain.

Sending hugs.
 
Oh my gosh! Big Mac! Hang on tight!
So so glad to see you CD!
Thank u for checking in, I've been hoping to see you posting that all is ok on your end.
Stay safe and warm!
 
(((CD))) How horrible. I am so glad that you are safe. Thanks for posting an update. Sending vines for you to gte some power restored soon.
 
I too am glad that you are safe. I hope you get power back soon, and a nightmare there for so many. Update when you can. I am glad that BigMac seems to be handling it well - nice on the 40 there big guy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top