BIG THANK YOUS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
I just want to THANK everyone, again for all of your help and support!
Bubbles has been responding very well to her diet change, BG testing and insulin. I have been getting very good numbers with somewhat aggressive shooting of her numbers. And today, we stayed GREEN. She is 25 hours without insulin. I am keeping my fingers crossed. And Bubbles is rolling around in catnip, right now. One month ago, I was ready to say good-bye to her. All of you have answered my questions and given me great advice. I hope we're on a roll! She's fifteen, but she is feisty!
Thank you!!
arlene
P.S. She is covered in catnip and enjoying herself! :-D
 

Attachments

  • Resized-ZX9QU.jpg
    Resized-ZX9QU.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 928
That's GREAT!! Good for you and Bubbles!!

We're always thrilled when someone comes here thinking the only choice they have is to euthanize and find out that diabetes does not EVER have to be a death sentence!


GO BUBBLES!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Thank you, Everyone!
We are playing Ping-Pong, as you can see by Bubbles' SS. I am trying to shoot the smallest 0.25u I can, when I have to...hope I am doing the right thing. :smile:
 
Arlene, Bubbles should either be not needing insulin, or needing it, not sometimes yes, sometimes no.

I think you might have jumped the gun a little going totally off the juice. Getting a cat into a STRONG remission is always best, since it's much harder to get them back into remission a 2nd time.

We always suggest that before you go from .25 to nothing, you go for a .1 unit dose and make sure the numbers are still good at that tiny amount, before doing an OTJ trial. Bubbles IS doing really well, but I'm concerned that you're having to give any insulin at all.

Here is what .1 unit looks like:
01unit-1.jpg


There's also even a smaller dose...called "some" that's literally a drop:
someinsulin-1.jpg


Hopefully someone with more Pro Zinc experience will take a look. We all want the best for Bubbles!
 
Hi Chris and China. I am down to "chasing " numbers with Bubbles. I understood from others on PZI that I could either try to lower the dose to drops or "chase" the dose. There have been at least 8 times in the past 10 days where her AMPS or PMPS was too low to shoot. I do not consider her OTJ, just updating with the PZI Forum with what her numbers are. I use U-40 syringes and eyeball the 0.25u. I have considered asking my vet if there is a diluent I can use so I can lower her dose more precisely. I haven't gotten in touch with him yet. So, I keep checking her BG, and am not giving insulin when she is below 120. Believe me, I am not jumping the gun and calling her OTJ, just happy her she has responded well to the insulin and diet change. I have a few more ml of the PZI U-40, my new bottle of PZI is U-100, so I will be better able to give less, more precisely. Do you think it's better to be giving 0.1u twice a day? But then what do I do when her AMPS or PMPS is below 120? Thanks so much for your help!
arlene
 
I'm not familiar enough with Pro Zinc...I know Carl has been helping you so I'll defer to him. He knows much more than I do about that insulin.

You're one of the very lucky ones though! Bubbles is doing so great! Just think...not only a month ago you were giving 2 units twice/day and considering if you'd be able to do it and with a diet change Bubble really has run down the dose ladder!! WOO HOO!!! I really am thrilled for you!!!

She's also a VERY pretty kitty!! I just love her coloring..it's so striking and beautiful!!
 
Yes, Chris! I can't tell you what a difference all of you have made for me and Bubbles! I had my whole family say good-bye to her before I took her to the vet on Sept 2nd. She is fifteen, so I don't expect her to be a kitten, but in one month she has gotten her "personality" back and looks so much better. Carl and BJM have been Very helpful, as have all of you. She ate dry food for 15 years...sheesh...that stuff should be taken off the market! So, I think the diet change, the fact that she has no other medical issues, and that I was able to get her numbers down fairly quickly with no hypos (there's always someone home to keep an eye on her-family of 6) have all contributed to getting her close to OTJ. I did a lot of reading, and it seems the sooner you get the numbers in the normal range, the better the chances for remission. I know I was aggressive with shooting below 200, but there was always someone around to watch her, or I wouldn't have done it. And I cannot tell you how against checking BG's I was...I had a really, Really tough time that first week. She bit me and my husband...drew blood...but all of your advice and videos Helped me SO much. So, I will keep checking her, and enjoying her, and cross my fingers for OTJ...and I cannot thank all of you enough!
 
Hi Arlene,
I think I'd stick with what you're doing as long as you still have the U40. You could try using the conversion charts, and the U100 syringes to shoot less a little more accurately.

If you draw up the U40 PZI into a U100 syringe, and go to the ".5u" half unit mark, that would be ".2u" of PZI.
If you eyeball .25u on the U100 syringe, that would be like .1u of PZI.

Just my opinion, but if you get to lower than .1u of PZI, you might as well just show Bubbles the vial and maybe let her sniff it.
 
Hi Carl
So I think I will keep doing what I am doing, cause I can't shoot below 120, anyway?
And I LOVE your comment..."Just let her sniff the bottle!" Has me LOL!!!
arlene
 
that stuff should be taken off the market!

I couldn't agree with you more! I too was convinced I was doing the best for my cats by feeding a very high quality dry....now I know they'd all have been better off eating just about anything else, as long as it didn't "crunch"

The veterinary community and the advertisers really have one heck of a racket going don't they?
 
It is really sad. Everything I have read tells me CATS DON'T NEED CARBS. So, in reality, we are giving our cats their best shot at GETTING diabetes when we feed them these dry foods. UGH!!! My previous cats ( I've had 3 others ) ate canned, but Bubbles seemed to like dry better, so that's what I gave her. I've always had dogs at the same time ( my husband says I am NOT allowed to visit animal shelters-LOL) and when I gave Bubbles canned, she would never finish it, the dogs would. So, we switched to dry. She seemed to like it better. My other cats lived to 16 yrs old and all 3 succumbed to renal failure. Diabetes was never an issue. Makes you wonder why dry food, packed with carbs would be touted as healthy for your kitty??!! I am wondering if we should have tried the diet change for a few weeks before we started insulin?
 
Everything I have read tells me CATS DON'T NEED CARBS. So, in reality, we are giving our cats their best shot at GETTING diabetes when we feed them these dry foods.

It isn't just the dry, but a lot of the canned too. It's the way it is marketed. Even Fancy Feast for instance. Look at the flavors that aren't low-carb "classics".
"Elegant Medley's" entices us with "Primavera", "Florentine", "Tuscany". There's SALAD in them! When was the last time you saw a cat wandering into your garden and feasting on Spinach or Greens? Go to their site and look at the food on a fancy platter. It looks good enough for US to eat. They market the stuff to humans and people sit there thinking "yeah, that chicken florentine I had last weekend was to die for!. Bet Fluffy would like some of that. Oh look, Fancy Feast sells it!"

Or the breakfast "Mornings" flavors..."Soufle with garden greens, wild salmon, and eggs". Hell, I'D eat it!

And who doesn't love gravy? That's why they call it "Gravy Lovers".

They market pet food like people are going to eat it. If it's sounding good for you, it HAS TO BE good for Fluffy. I'm surprised they don't sell it with "avocado" in it, but somebody probably does?

Guacamole Gravy and Egg Feast (w/ cheese and bacon bits in Olive Oil). Sounds yummy to me. And an excellent source of Omega 3's!
 
Hahhahaha! You're killing me, Carl...but so true! I bought the FF Tuscany before I got on this forum cause I thought it looked good enough for me to eat! When I stopped using that as Bubbles "snack," her numbers went GREEN! JEEZ !
 
ALTHO, I DO HAVE TO MENTION, MY SIAMESE, WILLIE ( A RESCUE FOUND UNDER A BUSH IN EASTNEW YORK) LOVED LETTUCE! LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top