? Big John - newbie - 243 amps; +6 207; 284 pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it too soon to tweak his dose?
Read up on the two sets of dosing guidelines, TR (Tight Regulation) and SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) in the yellow info stickies listed at the top of the L forum's main page. They give you step by step guidelines on how to dose. Choose one or the other - you can always change later.

Handsome big guy! :)
 
Last edited:
20437.gif
 
Hello and welcome. I haven't stopped in yet and said hello to you new kitty.

Since you are feeding some dry food, the Start Low Go Slow is the dosing method you would use as TR requires all low carb wet or raw. SLGS means waiting 7 days for an increase.

Hi Wendy - thanks - Yes SLGS - that is what I thought - he was on DM wet and dry but previous owner more or less free-fed. I have 20 other cats so that is impossible without keeping him penned up. I need ideas on how to wean him from free-feeding if at all possible. He is a large cat but does not eat very much. So I am concerned that even with the SLGS method, I will not get good results for a long while. ??

Where can I add his story so I can refer to it in comments? He was on N 6U before 2/18/2018 and not home tested; always freaked out when going to vet so vet test results were probably not accurate. My first day with him, he almost hypoed at 1/2 dose.
 
Where can I add his story so I can refer to it in comments?
Usually here we add a link to our previous "daily thread" at the top of our new post. Like that people can click through and through again and go back in time.

One way you can minimize the free-feeding (but you'll need the 20 other cats to agree) is to feed him something he likes MORE than what is lying around in free-feed, at meal times designed to keep him full enough. OR you could think about getting a microchip feeder for him (or the 20 others? those feeders can take upto 36 cats I think). Or is there anywhere he doesn't have access to and the others do? For example, does he jump up everywhere? Give me more info and I'll try and think with you.
 
Usually here we add a link to our previous "daily thread" at the top of our new post. Like that people can click through and through again and go back in time.

One way you can minimize the free-feeding (but you'll need the 20 other cats to agree) is to feed him something he likes MORE than what is lying around in free-feed, at meal times designed to keep him full enough. OR you could think about getting a microchip feeder for him (or the 20 others? those feeders can take upto 36 cats I think). Or is there anywhere he doesn't have access to and the others do? For example, does he jump up everywhere? Give me more info and I'll try and think with you.

Hi Stephanie - I do have a small indoor kennel that I use for him now. He will nibble a small amount of food at feeding time and then we allow him out with the other cats to roam (indoors). I worry that he may not get enough food to offset his insulin dose. So far, that does not seem to be a problem. He is brand new to me, only 3 days, and I am trying to entice him with other foods like adding FF pates to his DM. It is just how he is. He eats maybe 1/3 to 1/2 of his portion which is even smaller than my other cats get. Just now, everyone wanted a snack so I threw some DM kibble on the floor and he ate that with the others. But he never appears hungry which is surprising for his large size. Hmmm - microchip feeder - putting that on my research list.
 
Where can I add his story so I can refer to it in comments?
There are a few ways you can add some information about Big John. One is the signature line, but as you've noticed, it's limited in space. A second way is the FDMB profile. This post tells you what can go in there, though you click on "Your Profile Page" not "About me". And thirdly, some of us have a Profile document - check out Neko's profile in my signature. Here is a post that talks about creating a kitty profile. Of course, we always love to see pictures. :)
 
There are a few ways you can add some information about Big John. One is the signature line, but as you've noticed, it's limited in space. A second way is the FDMB profile. This post tells you what can go in there, though you click on "Your Profile Page" not "About me". And thirdly, some of us have a Profile document - check out Neko's profile in my signature. Here is a post that talks about creating a kitty profile. Of course, we always love to see pictures. :)

Neko's profile is a great way to do this. Will look into that. Thx.
 
There are a few ways you can add some information about Big John. One is the signature line, but as you've noticed, it's limited in space. A second way is the FDMB profile. This post tells you what can go in there, though you click on "Your Profile Page" not "About me". And thirdly, some of us have a Profile document - check out Neko's profile in my signature. Here is a post that talks about creating a kitty profile. Of course, we always love to see pictures. :)

I did a profile and it is showing up in my signature - thanks for the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top