Big drop from this morning - no shot tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yukon25

Member
Yesterday at Vet's office Hootie's BG was 363. This morning it was 399. Obviously he was stressed at the vet's office. He was this morning too because I kept screwing up the lancet stick part and he was getting antsy. He got a shot this a.m. at 9:00 a.m. I just tested him now (7:15) and he was 163. (I know, not 12 hrs but he needs to be on a schedule closer to 7/7 so I tested early. Plus he hasn't eaten in 2 hrs or more.)

Skipped the clicker thing and went straight for the stick, got the blood and was done in no time flat (yay!). So much less stressful for him than this morning.

I was so surprised at the 163 I did a second test strip (he's wanting down at this point) and it was 181. He's eating now. If I understand correctly, since I'm using an AlphaTrak, I do NOT give him an insulin shot since the test was under 225. Correct?
 
I would skip tonight, as he has eaten (which raises the levels) and it is early in this sugar dance. Next time, stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to be sure the number is sure rising, not falling and over your no shoot number. If it is, then shoot, but maybe a little less.

PS. Great number early in the dance!
 
Ah, so THAT'S what the stall trick is for! I read about it but I wasn't really clear on it. Now it makes sense.

Thank you!
 
Good job testing! He is likely to be higher in the AM due to the skip shot. Don't be alarmed. We will get his dose honed in so that you will be able to shoot two shots 12 hours apart. That is optimum. Like Sue said, next time stall for 20 mins without feeding and retest. It is a real learning curve. We have all been there. Keep asking questions and posting as that is how we all learned. Glad you are here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top