? Big drop at +2from 303 to 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Your SS reminds me of Chuck's. I looked and tried to find a pattern but as soon as I found one it was gone!
Anything different that could have cause the red? Early or late shot? Get into any extra HC food?
I can see what you mean about him not really fitting in with the protocol. ECID. I follow TR protocol and get impatient but usually as soon as I post about increasing, Chuck makes me look silly and has better numbers.
 
Have you gotten a ketone test done? You should be able to pick up ketone test strips at any pharmacy. Just need to catch some fresh urine with a spoon (probably want to have one just for Tilica ;)) and read the result in specified time frame. You could try moving it to the regular 1.5U :).
 
Your SS reminds me of Chuck's. I looked and tried to find a pattern but as soon as I found one it was gone!
Anything different that could have cause the red? Early or late shot? Get into any extra HC food?
I can see what you mean about him not really fitting in with the protocol. ECID. I follow TR protocol and get impatient but usually as soon as I post about increasing, Chuck makes me look silly and has better numbers.
Hi Steph, there is no pattern:). Yesterday I didn't anything different, the shot was at time, the food was the same. But today ar AMPS he was at 211. ECID !
 
Have you gotten a ketone test done? You should be able to pick up ketone test strips at any pharmacy. Just need to catch some fresh urine with a spoon (probably want to have one just for Tilica ;)) and read the result in specified time frame. You could try moving it to the regular 1.5U :).
Hi, I usually do the ketone test but this morning I wasn't able to catch him at bathroom. Anyway it was surprinsing his number 211. At PMPS probably I'll shoot 1.5.
 
Hi Andreea,

You have a very bouncy kitty who won't follow any rules. Is the other L insulin called Levemir available in your country? Some people have found that it makes their kitties more stable.

I agree that some kitties don't want to follow the protocol no matter how hard you try. You might want to make adjustments that work better for Tilica by doing a little experimenting: for example, finding a reasonable, but not perfect, dose and keeping it longer - maybe 1.5 u?
 
Hi Andreea,

You have a very bouncy kitty who won't follow any rules. Is the other L insulin called Levemir available in your country? Some people have found that it makes their kitties more stable.
I agree that some kitties don't want to follow the protocol no matter how hard you try. You might want to make adjustments that work better for Tilica by doing a little experimenting: for example, finding a reasonable, but not perfect, dose and keeping it longer - maybe 1.5 u?
Hi Kris, Levemir is available in my country but the vets have not any experience with this insulin and it's difficult to set the starting dose.
I kept the dose of 1.5s due to the yesterday PMPS number, the BG was decreasing and I was afraid not to have a big drop in the first hours after the shot.
 
Levemir is available in my country but the vets have not any experience with this insulin and it's difficult to set the starting dose.
I like Kris's suggestion on trying Levemir. On this forum, we set the starting dose of Levemir at 70% of the dose of the Lantus. Which would be 1.0 units for Tillica. The biggest issue is that the onset and nadir are typically a couple of hours later on Levemir, and that doesn't fit everyones's schedule. "Typical" Levemir onset is +4 and nadir +8. Neko was not typical. :rolleyes: She onset more like +5 and nadir was from +9 to +12. That part was great because I was always home and awake for +12.:)

I noticed you had a note that you gave squids at +11. Where did you give them in relation to the shot? Some kitties have a steep drop if the fluids are too close (physically and in time) to the insulin shot. I used to do squids around +11, but Neko's onset wasn't until +5. But not all kitties do drop with fluids. You might want to try them in a separate location if you aren't already. I shot scruff for fluids and on the other side and the flank for the insulin.
 
I like Kris's suggestion on trying Levemir. On this forum, we set the starting dose of Levemir at 70% of the dose of the Lantus. Which would be 1.0 units for Tillica. The biggest issue is that the onset and nadir are typically a couple of hours later on Levemir, and that doesn't fit everyones's schedule. "Typical" Levemir onset is +4 and nadir +8. Neko was not typical. :rolleyes: She onset more like +5 and nadir was from +9 to +12. That part was great because I was always home and awake for +12.:)

I noticed you had a note that you gave squids at +11. Where did you give them in ,relation to the shot? Some kitties have a steep drop if the fluids are too close (physically and in time) to the insulin shot. I used to do squids around +11, but Neko's onset wasn't until +5. But not all kitties do drop with fluids. You might want to try them in a separate location if you aren't already. I shot scruff for fluids and on the other side and the flank for the insulin.

Hi Wendy, the fluids were given at +11 in other location in relation with insulin. I shot scruff for insulin but the fluids were shot into flank. It seems like too much insulin? Tomorrow the bounce will be high, I'm sure. If I understand well Levemir is a slower insulin than Lantus and it keeps BG more constant?
Maybe at PMPS I should have reduced the dose due to to the drop from +10 to +12? Neither Tilica is typical that's why I'm very confused.
 
Some, but not all, kitties are flatter on Levemir. Neko was, it made her more predictable. It's not so much a slower insulin, but rather a little longer lasting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top