BG was 115 at 11:30am - 368 at 11:30pm - What to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My little guy's BG was 115 this morning at 11:30am so I didn't give him any insulin at his normal 12pm shot time. He had a fructosamine test done yesterday and at 3:50pm today I received a call from the vet's office with the results which were 268. They said to stop giving him insulin and to call them if he went over 300 but said otherwise he seems to be producing his own insulin right now.

My husband did a BG check at 11:30p and it came back at 368 - now we're confused if we're supposed to give him insulin? I would think we should give him 1 unit but after the fructosamine test (which I'm still a little confused by) and vet's no-insulin advice we're not sure what we're supposed to do - any help would be much appreciated!!
 
Can you give him 0.5 U and test a curve?

A curve following like this:

bg pre pm shot
bg + 2 hours after shot
bg + 4 hours after shot
bg + 6 hours after shot
bg + 8 hours after shot
bg + 10 hours after shot
bg + 12 hours after shot
 
Okay. Perhaps you can try work something else out for the day time tomorrow. Of course you need to sleep. Silly me, it is morning here :-)
 
No worries, I actually work a night shift, I just have to be in bed by 6a-ish so I'll test until then and then when I get up to feed him at 11:30a I'll test again. I know it's not a true curve but hopefully we'll sort of see what's going on.

My husband gave .5 unit PZI at 12:30a and at 2:30a his BG was 307, hopefully will continue scaling down by the 4:30a check.
 
He kept running high so I called the vet and they said for right now to go back to giving 0.5 units 2x a day and to continue monitoring his BG and let them know how it's going. They also said if he's 225 or lower not to give him a shot.

At 11:30am yesterday morning he came down to 225 so I didn't give him insulin but then he shot up to 392 by 11pm last night. My husband gave him 0.5 units at 12a and I just did a check on him at 7:40am and he's down to 178 so I have no idea what's going on. He gets fed again at 11:30a so I'll see what he's at before I feed him, I'm assuming he won't be getting any insulin so I'm curious to see what he'll be at this afternoon!
 
If you can eyeball it well enough, you might try for 0.25 units of the ProZinc if he's between 175 and the 225, a bit lower than the cutoff your vet set. That way he won't go so high by the next shot. A metric ruler with millimeters marked on it may help you measure on the syringe barrel and mark a line where you want to draw up the insulin.

Come on over to the PZI forum where folks using ProZinc post a fair bit. They'll be able to share their experiences with using it and provide suggestions on what you might do.

After folks have some diligent data collection under their belts, it is possible to start shooting at levels lower than 225. Depending on the insulin, some even shoot below 150 (usually Lantus or Levemir, as these have carry over). You can start tweaking that after you know how the full 12 hours goes in a curve, or be getting mid-cycle tests wherever you can sneak them in, being sure to get 2 or more tests at +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, so you've seen the full cycle of response. Curves do assume the kitty responds similarly every time, which may not be true, but it provides some clues!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top